Skip to content

The Joy Luck Club

by Amy Tan

“The Joy Luck Club was formed of four Chinese women recently moved to San Francisco who meet to eat dim sum, play mah-jong and to share stories. Forty years on they and their daughters tell wise and witty tales of hope, loss, family and history. Spanning pre-Revolutionary China to 1980s San Francisco, the women talk as secrets are spilled, mothers boast and despair and daughters struggle with tangled truths.”

About Amy Tan

Amy Tan is the author of The Joy Luck Club, The Kitchen God's Wife, The Hundred Secret Senses, and two children's books, The Moon Lady and The Chinese Siamese Cat. Her latest triumph is The Bonesetter's Daughter. She was a co-producer and co-screenwriter of the film version of The Joy Luck Club, and her essays and stories have appeared in numerous magazines and anthologies. Her work has been translated into more than twenty-five different languages. Amy Tan has a master's degree in linguistics, and has worked as a language specialist concerned with children with developmental disabilities. She lives with her husband in San Francisco and New York.

Other books by Amy Tan


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *