Skip to content

The Way West

by A. B. Guthrie, Jr.

An enormously entertaining classic, The Way West brings to life the adventure of the western passage and the pioneer spirit. This celebrated novel charts a frontiersman’s return to the untamed West in 1846. Dick Summers, as pilot of a wagon train, guides a group of settlers on the difficult journey from Missouri to Oregon.

In sensitive but unsentimental prose, Guthrie illuminates the harsh trials and resounding triumphs of pioneer life.

With The Way West, he pays homage to the grandeur of the western wilderness, its stark and beautiful scenery, and its extraordinary people.

Winner of the 1950 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction.


About A. B. Guthrie, Jr.

A. B. Guthrie, Jr. (1901–1991), was the author of numerous books, including six Big Sky novels, as well as the Academy Award–winning screenplay for the classic film Shane. He received the 1950 Pulitzer Prize for his novel The Way West. Guthrie was honored for his contribution to literature and his portrayal of the American West.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *