Skip to content

The 2014 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards

The team at Better Reading would like to congratulate the winners of the 2014 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards. Cheryl attended the awards last night and had the privilege of sitting next to Bob Graham, winner of the children’s fiction award.

The winners are:

Fiction—joint winners

A World of Other People, Steven Carroll (Harper Collins)
The Narrow Road to the Deep North, Richard Flanagan (Vintage Australia)


Drag Down to Unlock or Place an Emergency Call, Melinda Smith (Pitt Street Poetry)

Non-fiction—joint winners

Moving Among Strangers, Gabrielle Carey (University of Queensland Press)
Madeleine: A Life of Madeleine St John, Helen Trinca (The Text Publishing Company)

Prize for Australian history—joint winners

Broken Nation: Australians in the Great War, Joan Beaumont (Allen & Unwin)
Australia’s Secret War: How unionists sabotaged our troops in World War II, Hal G.P. Colebatch (Quadrant Books)

Young adult fiction

The Incredible Here and Now, Felicity Castagna (Giramondo Publishing Company)

Children’s fiction

Silver Buttons, Bob Graham (Walker Books UK)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *