Skip to content

The Prime Minister’s Literary Award for Fiction 2015 Shortlist

Congratulations to the shortlisted authors for the 2015 Prime Minister’s Award for Fiction – Elizabeth Harrower, Joan London, Sonya Hartnett, Peter Carey, Rohan Wilson.

The Prime Minister’s Literary Awards aims to recognise “exceptional literary achievement by Australian writers in fiction, non‐fiction, young adult fiction, children’s fiction, poetry and Australian history.”

“This is a first‐rate selection of literary and historical works, representing the depth and diversity of contemporary Australian creativity,” said Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull.

“The shortlists were selected on the recommendations of three expert judging panels, who commended the 30 shortlisted books on their exploration of the Australian experience, artistic endeavour, and scholarly insight.”

Minister for the Arts, Mitch Fifield, said, “I encourage all book‐loving Australians to celebrate the exceptional talent of Australia’s literary sector by reading a book or two from the 2015 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards shortlists.”

The winning author will receive $80,000  and each of the four shortlisted entries receives $5,000.

Last year’s joint winners of the prize for fiction were Steven Carroll with A World of Other People and Richard Flanagan with The Narrow Road to the Deep North.


Click on the images below to find out more about these titles.

Stay up to date with all the latest book news by subscribing to our emails or liking our Facebook Page


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *