A Gripping Domestic Thriller: Review of The Ex by Nicola Moriarty

A Gripping Domestic Thriller: Review of The Ex by Nicola Moriarty

Girl meets boy. They fall in love. There’s just one problem…

The Ex by Nicola Moriarty is an unputdownable thriller that will have you choosing ‘one more chapter’ over sleep in a bid to find out how it ends.

Georgia Fitzpatrick is back on track after a difficult few years. She’s also on Tinder and arranges to meet someone for a drink. Her Tinder date is a no-show, but she does meet Luke at the bar: handsome, charming… the real deal. She’s swept off her feet by the travelling salesman. They quickly fall for each other. Luke is The One. After everything she’s been through, Georgia knows she deserves someone like him, to make her feel loved. Safe.

But there’s one problem… Luke still lives with his ex-girlfriend Cadence. He assures Georgia that it’s just until their lease is up, as he can’t really afford to pay for two rentals right now. It’s a temporary arrangement. But Cadence is having trouble moving on emotionally. She texts Luke all the time. Once he tells her about Georgia, Cadence starts leaving aggressive notes on Georgia’s car. Georgia believes Cadence is stalking her. Then her apartment is broken into and ransacked. Georgia starts to feel afraid – just how dangerous is Cadence?

Georgia decides to confront Cadence … and while it’s difficult to share anything about the storyline from here, without giving it away, this is when things get truly interesting.

Moriarty has set the novel around the Hills District of Sydney. It’s well-heeled suburbia, almost excruciatingly normal. But that’s the point. They are normal people… you, me, your neighbour, your friend. The location sets the tone for The Ex… These things, the things that happen in this book, aren’t meant to happen to people who live there.

Georgia, a nurse, is incredibly likeable and you want the best for her. She is surrounded by well-crafted minor characters, such as her friend Amber, and her family. The reader is as charmed by Luke as Georgia is. Although it’s clear he has baggage, you want them to work it out.

Moriarty is a masterful plotter. She has written a fast-paced thriller with a few twists and turns that you might suspect, and others that you won’t see coming at all. Even the ones you suspect are deftly done, because suspecting something in advance adds to the tension. I wanted to scream at the characters, to warn them.

From the bestselling author of The Fifth Letter, this is a twisty, pacy, gripping new novel that explores the baggage we carry from our past relationships and asks how well can you ever really know someone?

Fun, fast, and highly entertaining… It’s put me off dating for a long while.

Buy a copy of The Ex here

About the author:

Nicola Moriarty lives in Sydney’s northwest with her husband and two small (but remarkably strong-willed) daughters. She is the younger sister of bestselling authors Liane Moriarty and Jaclyn Moriarty. In between various career changes, becoming a mum and studying at Macquarie University, she began to write. Now, she can’t seem to stop.

Home Grown Thrillers Event

A unique crime writer roadshow is heading to a number of venues over the next week, starting with the The Vanguard in Newtown on July 30. Join authors Wendy James, Nicola Moriarty, Sarah Barrie and Anna Snoekstra as they discuss their thrilling crime novels.

Related Articles

Wonderful! The Perfect Read this Long Weekend: Read a Review of The Last Voyage of Mrs Henry Parker by Joanna Nell

News

1 October 2019

Wonderful! The Perfect Read this Long Weekend: Read a Review of The Last Voyage of Mrs Henry Parker by Joanna Nell

    Impossible to Put Down: Read a Review of Cold Storage by David Koepp

    News

    30 September 2019

    Impossible to Put Down: Read a Review of Cold Storage by David Koepp

      This is Storytelling at its Very Best: Review of The Secret Commonwealth by Philip Pullman

      News

      30 September 2019

      This is Storytelling at its Very Best: Review of The Secret Commonwealth by Philip Pullman

        An Absolute Pleasure to Read: Here's a Review of The Model Wife by Tricia Stringer

        News

        30 September 2019

        An Absolute Pleasure to Read: Here's a Review of The Model Wife by Tricia Stringer

          A Tragic, Remarkable and Absolutely Mesmerising Australian Tale: Read a Review of The Devil's Grip by Neal Drinnan

          News

          24 September 2019

          A Tragic, Remarkable and Absolutely Mesmerising Australian Tale: Read a Review of The Devil's Grip by Neal Drinnan

            Thrilling, Brilliant Storytelling, Unputdownable… Christian White has Another Hit on his Hands: Read a Review of The Wife and the Widow

            News

            24 September 2019

            Thrilling, Brilliant Storytelling, Unputdownable… Christian White has Another Hit on his Hands: Read a Review of The Wife and the Widow

              Timely, Original and Affecting: A Review of After the Flood by Kassandra Montag

              News

              24 September 2019

              Timely, Original and Affecting: A Review of After the Flood by Kassandra Montag

                A Delight to Read. Simply Perfect:  A Review of Postscript by Cecelia Ahern

                News

                24 September 2019

                A Delight to Read. Simply Perfect: A Review of Postscript by Cecelia Ahern

                  Exquisite. An Astounding Achievement: Read a Review of Sleep by Catherine Cole

                  News

                  18 September 2019

                  Exquisite. An Astounding Achievement: Read a Review of Sleep by Catherine Cole

                    The Perfect Page-Turner: Read a Review of The Lying Room by Nicci French

                    News

                    17 September 2019

                    The Perfect Page-Turner: Read a Review of The Lying Room by Nicci French

                      Publisher details

                      The Ex
                      Author
                      Alafair Burke
                      Publisher
                      Allen & Unwin
                      Genres
                      Fiction, Thriller
                      Released
                      24 February, 2016

                      Synopsis

                      In this breakout standalone thriller in the tradition of Gillian Flynn, William Landay and Paula Hawkins, a lawyer agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been accused of murder-but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated.Widower Jack Harris has resisted the dating scene since the shooting of his wife by a fifteen-year-old boy three years ago. An early morning run along the Hudson River changes that when he spots a woman who eerily but thrillingly echoes his past. Eager to help Jack find love again, his best friend posts a Missed Moment item online and days later, a woman responds Olivia Randall is one of New York City's best criminal defense lawyers. When she gets the phone call informing her that her former fiancee, Jack Harris, has been arrested for a triple homicide there is no doubt in her mind as to his innocence. The only question is who would go to such great lengths to frame him - and why?For Olivia, representing Jack is a way to make up for past regrets, and the hurt she caused him, but as the evidence against him mounts, she is forced to confront her doubts. The man she knew could not have done this. But what if she never really knew him?
                      Nicola Moriarty
                      About the author

                      Nicola Moriarty

                      Nicola Moriarty lives in Sydney's northwest with her husband and two small (but remarkably strong-willed) daughters. She is the younger sister of bestselling authors Liane Moriarty and Jaclyn Moriarty. In between various career changes, becoming a mum and studying at Macquarie University, she began to write. Now, she can't seem to stop.

                      Books by Nicola Moriarty

                      COMMENTS

                      Leave a Reply

                      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

                      1. Michelle Ramsey says:

                        My husband left me last year after 25 years of marriage (he turned 50). It has been the most difficult year of my life, but full of lessons about myself and what life and marriage are all about. I am passionate about marriage and i didn’t give up on my husband. I resides in USA, I entered online in search of advice on how i can amend my marriage while i was at work. I saw so many positive reviews and nice feed back about how a Doctor called [email protected] hotmail. com has been wonderful with his work. I gave a shot to make contact with him via his Email and he assured me that my marriage will be peaceful and i believed in his words. 16 hours after he finished work, my husband came back home pleading and now, we are living peacefully again. Get in contact with him if you need any help.

                      2. Clare-tregilgas says:

                        I was going crazy when my husband left me and my two kids for another woman last month, But when i met a friend that introduced me to Robinson Buckler, I narrated my problem to Robinson Buckler about how my ex Husband left me and my two kids and also how i needed to get a job in a very big company.He only said to me that i have come to the right place were i will be getting my heart desire without any delay. He told me what i need to do, After it was done, 24 hours later, My Ex Husband called me on the phone and was saying sorry for living me and the kids and one week after I was called for interview in a very big company here in IRELAND were i needed to work as the managing director..I am so happy and overwhelmed that i have to tell this to the entire world to contact Write this name [email protected] yahoo. com and get all your problem solve..No problem is too big for him to solve..

                        Clare-tregilgas
                        IRELAND