Dark, Gripping, Perfectly Paced: Review of Those People by Louise Candlish

Dark, Gripping, Perfectly Paced: Review of Those People by Louise Candlish

Lowland Way is a suburban paradise. Located in a respectable suburb eight miles out of central London, it’s a leafy, quiet street with beautiful homes, friendly neighbours and lovely parks nearby. Naomi Morgan, local powerhouse and mother of two, even introduced a special initiative to get the local children outdoors more. Each weekend, Lowland Way is closed off to cars, and kids play freely in the street like their parents did when they were young.

But then a new couple moves in to Lowland Way. Although the other residents do their best to welcome Darren and Jodie to the street – Naomi and her husband, Ralph, bring biscotti, and Sissy, the local B&B owner, visits with a bouquet of hand-picked crocuses – their kind gestures fall flat. Darren and Jodie are ungrateful and rude, and things only get worse from there.

First, the couple knocks down a historic dividing wall that the Lowland Way residents fought to save just a few years before. Then they begin noisy home renovations, and soon their front garden is filled with bulging bin bags and junk. They play loud music at all hours of the day and night, upsetting their neighbours, the Kendalls, who can’t get their baby to sleep with all the noise. And that’s not to mention the fact that Darren seems to be running an illegal used-car business in the back garden.

As the other residents of Lowland Way find their quiet, respectable lives turned upside down by their new neighbours, tempers flare and tensions escalate, and soon threats of violence are being exchanged. Then, early one Saturday morning, things take a much darker turn, and residents wake to the news of a horrific death on the street. Everyone seems shaken and everyone claims innocence, but the police quickly establish that the death was no accident – and suddenly, everyone is a suspect…

The latest novel from Louise Candlish, Those People is a dark, gripping and perfectly paced page-turner. Candlish has made her mark with bestsellers including The Second Husband and Our House, and this new novel reaffirms her status as one of the top writers on the domestic thriller scene. Cleverly told through flashbacks and police interviews, Those People is a slow-burning, utterly absorbing read, and as each character becomes a suspect in the Lowland Way murder, motivations and alibis are questioned and cast into doubt, and the tension builds and builds right until the gasp-out-loud twist at the end.

In last year’s Our House, Candlish played compellingly with the notion of a ‘perfect life’ – how hard it can be to achieve, and how easily it can all come crashing down – and she further explores this idea in Those People. With their manicured flowerbeds, well-behaved children and stable jobs, the residents of Lowland Way pride themselves on having it all, but their lives unravel completely when their new neighbours move in. Candlish takes us on a fascinating deep dive into the human psyche, too, exploring what drives respectable people to do bad things.

A suspenseful, compulsively readable thriller with great characters and an unexpected twist in the tail, Those People takes a sharp look at middle-class prejudice and deftly explores the darker side of suburbia. A perfect winter read for fans of Liane Moriarty, B.A. Paris and Shari Lapena.

About the author:

Louise Candlish is the bestselling author of twelve novels. Her thriller Our House was a number one bestseller in paperback, ebook and audiobook and is shortlisted for a 2019 British Book Award – Crime & Thriller Book of the Year. It has been optioned for TV by Death in Paradise producers Red Planet Pictures, and was picked as a Book of the Year 2018 by the Washington Post, Publishers Weekly, Real Simple, the Guardian, the Daily Mail, the Sunday Express, Red and Heat. Louise lives in London with her family.

Buy a copy of Those People here

Related Articles

An Exquisite Exploration into Memory, Imagination and the Books that Shape us: Read a Review of Storytime by Jane Sullivan

News

12 August 2019

An Exquisite Exploration into Memory, Imagination and the Books that Shape us: Read a Review of Storytime by Jane Sullivan

    One of the Best Thrillers of the Year: Read a Review of State of Fear by Tim Ayliffe

    News

    6 August 2019

    One of the Best Thrillers of the Year: Read a Review of State of Fear by Tim Ayliffe

      An Excellent Tribute to a Fascinating Australian Figure: Read a Review of Major Thomas by Greg Growden

      News

      6 August 2019

      An Excellent Tribute to a Fascinating Australian Figure: Read a Review of Major Thomas by Greg Growden

        It is Heartbreaking, and Beautiful: Review of Confession with Blue Horses by Sophie Hardach

        News

        23 July 2019

        It is Heartbreaking, and Beautiful: Review of Confession with Blue Horses by Sophie Hardach

          Australian to the Core: Review of Taking Tom Murray Home by Tim Slee

          News

          23 July 2019

          Australian to the Core: Review of Taking Tom Murray Home by Tim Slee

            Wonderful. A Real Treat: Review of The Shelly Bay Ladies Swimming Circle by Sophie Green

            News

            23 July 2019

            Wonderful. A Real Treat: Review of The Shelly Bay Ladies Swimming Circle by Sophie Green

              A Highly Entertaining Debut: Read a Review of The One by Kaneana May

              News

              23 July 2019

              A Highly Entertaining Debut: Read a Review of The One by Kaneana May

                A Nail-biting Thriller: Read a Review of Karin Slaughter's The Last Widow

                News

                15 July 2019

                A Nail-biting Thriller: Read a Review of Karin Slaughter's The Last Widow

                  Romantic, Clever and Thought-provoking: Review of Nailed It! by Mel Campbell and Anthony Morris

                  News

                  15 July 2019

                  Romantic, Clever and Thought-provoking: Review of Nailed It! by Mel Campbell and Anthony Morris

                    Topical, Gripping, Perfectly Paced: Review of The Rip by Mark Brandi

                    News

                    10 July 2019

                    Topical, Gripping, Perfectly Paced: Review of The Rip by Mark Brandi

                      Synopsis

                      MEET THE NEIGHBOURS YOU'LL LOVE TO HATEUntil Darren and Jodie move in, Lowland Way is a suburban paradise. Beautiful homes. Friendly neighbours. Kids playing out in the street. But Darren and Jodie don't follow the rules and soon disputes over loud music and parking rights escalate to threats of violence.Then, early one Sunday, a horrific crime shocks the street. As the police go house-to-house, the residents close ranks and everyone's story is the same: They did it.But there's a problem. The police don't agree. And the door they're knocking on next is yours. 
                      Louise Candlish
                      About the author

                      Louise Candlish

                      Louise Candlish is the bestselling author of twelve novels. Her thriller Our House was a number one bestseller in paperback, ebook and audiobook and is shortlisted for a 2019 British Book Award - Crime & Thriller Book of the Year. It has been optioned for TV by Death in Paradise producers Red Planet Pictures, and was picked as a Book of the Year 2018 by the Washington Post, Publishers Weekly, Real Simple, the Guardian, the Daily Mail, the Sunday Express, Red and Heat. Louise lives in London with her family.

                      Books by Louise Candlish

                      COMMENTS

                      Leave a Reply

                      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *