Handmaid’s Tale Big News

Handmaid’s Tale Big News

More than 30 years after the release of The Handmaid’s Tale, best-selling author Margaret Atwood has announced that she will be writing a sequel.

Scheduled for publication on the 10th of September 2019, the follow-up novel is called The Testament, and will be set 15 years after the conclusion of The Handmaid’s Tale.

Atwood announced the news on her Twitter, telling readers that the novel will be narrated by three female characters. It’s exciting news for devoted Atwood fans who have long wished to further explore the feminist dystopia that Atwood famously created in The Handmaid’s Tale.

“Dear Readers: Everything you’ve ever asked me about Gilead and its inner workings is
the inspiration for this book. Well, almost everything!” Atwood said, adding that “The other inspiration is the world we’ve been living in.”

The Handmaid’s Tale, set in a fictional re-imagining of New England where the US government has been overthrown and replaced by a totalitarian state known as ‘Gilead’, tells the story of women deprived of their basic rights and reproductive freedoms.

Having been recently adapted into a critically acclaimed television series, The Handmaid’s Tale remains to this day one of the world’s most important dystopian novels. With the television series now preparing for its third season, Atwood has made it clear that the follow-up novel will be written separately to the series, as a direct carry-on from the first novel.

We personally can’t wait to read The Testament – can you?


Offred is a Handmaid in the Republic of Gilead. She may leave the home of the Commander and his wife once a day to walk to food markets whose signs are now pictures instead of words because women are no longer allowed to read. She must lie on her back once a month and pray that the Commander makes her pregnant, because in an age of declining births, Offred and the other Handmaids are only valued if their ovaries are viable.Offred can remember the days before, when she lived and made love with her husband Luke; when she played with and protected her daughter; when she had a job, money of her own, and access to knowledge. But all of that is gone now.Unexpected, horrifying, and altogether convincing, The Handmaid's Tale is at once a scathing satire, a dire warning, and a literary tour de force.#57 Australia's Top 100 2016
Margaret Atwood
About the author

Margaret Atwood

Margaret Atwood is Canada's most eminent novelist, poet and critic. Her books include The Edible Woman, Surfacing, Lady Oracle, Life Before Man, Bodily Harm, The Handmaid's Tale (winner of both the Arthur C. Clarke Award for Science Fiction and the Governor-General's Award, shortlisted for the Booker Prize and made in a major film). Cat's Eye (also shortlisted for the Booker Prize) The Robber Bride and Alias Grace. Finally, The Blind Assassin won the Booker Prize in 2000.

Books by Margaret Atwood


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  1. Danielle Raquidel says:

    Hardly a fiction with the new move in
    Ohio women are losing the control of their own reproductive rights. Backlash all over again


    The TV series carries on way past the end of the book, how come?