Romantic, Clever and Thought-provoking: Review of Nailed It! by Mel Campbell and Anthony Morris

Romantic, Clever and Thought-provoking: Review of Nailed It! by Mel Campbell and Anthony Morris

A sparkling, witty and heartfelt story about relationships, love, and one woman’s life-changing journey into the world of reality television.

Rose is feeling frustrated. She finished her carpentry apprenticeship six months ago, and although she was thrilled to land a job with Old Steve, a veteran carpenter with an artisanal, old-fashioned approach, the work hasn’t been quite what she hoped for.  For the first three months, Old Steve only let her make nails, and now she’s crafting her own hammer by hand. She hasn’t been able to take charge of her skills, and the idea of actually making a cabinet or a dresser seems like a far-off dream.

So when Rose is offered a reality television show audition, she jumps at the chance. Mansions in the Sky is a top-rating program where contestants transform run-down or unfinished houses into glorious mansions, and Rose is hired as an on-camera tradie, someone to help the contestants with the more technical aspects of their renovations. Rose is thrilled—it seems like her luck is changing, and she’ll finally be able to put her carpentry skills to use.

But her glamorous new gig has its downsides. Her artistic parents are disappointed by her decision—they prefer art-house cinema to mainstream television–and Rose’s mother scoffs at Mansions as a “soap opera for dumb people.” The Mansions producers are overbearing and demanding, and Rose finds it hard to make friends on set. The only person who’s nice to her is one of the Mansions contestants, Dave.

In fact, Dave and Rose connect from day one. Dave is genuinely interested in learning about what Rose does, and he’s big-hearted and gorgeous. Unfortunately, he’s also married, and his wife is his partner on the show. Off-camera, however, Dave and Michelle don’t seem to get along at all, while the chemistry between Rose and Dave is undeniable. But Rose is wary—that is, until Dave reveals a secret that changes everything. Then their relationship blossoms, but can true love survive reality TV? As Mansions heats up, the future seems less and less certain…

The new novel from Melbourne-based writing duo Mel Campbell and Anthony Morris, Nailed It! is a sparkling, witty and heartfelt story about relationships, love, and one woman’s life-changing journey into the world of reality television. The book takes a sharp yet loving look at the ridiculousness and the rigmarole of reality TV, and it’s fascinating to follow along as Rose discovers how the Mansions in the Sky producers rig the show to create drama, and manufacture rivalry and competition between contestants who are very friendly off-camera.

Nailed It! features lots of witty dialogue and a deftly written plot that makes some important points about fitting in, standing out and the power of being your true self. Its characters are perfectly drawn, too. Rose is a charming, complex and endlessly relatable protagonist who you’ll connect with instantly, and Dave is loveable and kind. Their natural, easy connection is a refreshing counterpoint to the bizarre fakery around them, and you’ll find yourself cheering them on, hoping against hope that they find their happy ending.

A romantic, clever and thought-provoking story with plenty of humour and heart, Nailed It! is a perfect rom-com read for fans of Marian Keyes and Sophie Kinsella. We can’t recommend it enough.

 

About the authors:

Mel Campbell is a Melbourne-based freelance journalist, critic, copywriter and editor. Mel researches and writes about film and television, clothing and costume, books and ideas, media and consumer culture, and the wonderful, underrated banalities of everyday life. Her first book was Out of Shape: Debunking the Myths About Fashion and Fit (Affirm Press, 2013). She writes on film, TV and media at Junkee, The Big Issue, Crikey, Metro, The Guardian and more. She is currently a co-host of fortnightly culture podcast The Rereaders, a columnist on writing at Overland magazine, a lecturer in Monash University’s Masters of Communications and Media Studies program, and a commentator in live discussions on radio and online. She tweets at @incrediblemelk.

Anthony Morris is a Melbourne-based freelance journalist and critic. He’s been writing about and reviewing film for over 20 years. Anthony is currently the Film Editor at Forte magazine, and the Small Screen Editor at The Big Issue. He also writes regularly for Empire magazine, SBS Online, Broadsheet and Junkee, and in the past his work has appeared in venues as varied as Kill Your Darlings, The Lifted Brow, Eureka Street and Network Video News. His short fiction has appeared in Interzone, Aurealis and Eidolon.

Buy a copy of Nailed It! here.

Related Articles

Wonderful! The Perfect Read this Long Weekend: Read a Review of The Last Voyage of Mrs Henry Parker by Joanna Nell

News

1 October 2019

Wonderful! The Perfect Read this Long Weekend: Read a Review of The Last Voyage of Mrs Henry Parker by Joanna Nell

    Impossible to Put Down: Read a Review of Cold Storage by David Koepp

    News

    30 September 2019

    Impossible to Put Down: Read a Review of Cold Storage by David Koepp

      This is Storytelling at its Very Best: Review of The Secret Commonwealth by Philip Pullman

      News

      30 September 2019

      This is Storytelling at its Very Best: Review of The Secret Commonwealth by Philip Pullman

        An Absolute Pleasure to Read: Here's a Review of The Model Wife by Tricia Stringer

        News

        30 September 2019

        An Absolute Pleasure to Read: Here's a Review of The Model Wife by Tricia Stringer

          A Tragic, Remarkable and Absolutely Mesmerising Australian Tale: Read a Review of The Devil's Grip by Neal Drinnan

          News

          24 September 2019

          A Tragic, Remarkable and Absolutely Mesmerising Australian Tale: Read a Review of The Devil's Grip by Neal Drinnan

            Thrilling, Brilliant Storytelling, Unputdownable… Christian White has Another Hit on his Hands: Read a Review of The Wife and the Widow

            News

            24 September 2019

            Thrilling, Brilliant Storytelling, Unputdownable… Christian White has Another Hit on his Hands: Read a Review of The Wife and the Widow

              Timely, Original and Affecting: A Review of After the Flood by Kassandra Montag

              News

              24 September 2019

              Timely, Original and Affecting: A Review of After the Flood by Kassandra Montag

                A Delight to Read. Simply Perfect:  A Review of Postscript by Cecelia Ahern

                News

                24 September 2019

                A Delight to Read. Simply Perfect: A Review of Postscript by Cecelia Ahern

                  Exquisite. An Astounding Achievement: Read a Review of Sleep by Catherine Cole

                  News

                  18 September 2019

                  Exquisite. An Astounding Achievement: Read a Review of Sleep by Catherine Cole

                    The Perfect Page-Turner: Read a Review of The Lying Room by Nicci French

                    News

                    17 September 2019

                    The Perfect Page-Turner: Read a Review of The Lying Room by Nicci French

                      Publisher details

                      Nailed It!
                      Authors
                      Anthony Morris, Mel Campbell
                      Publisher
                      Echo Publishing
                      Genre
                      Fiction
                      Released
                      01 July, 2019

                      Synopsis

                      It's reality TV, but is it real love?Talented tradie Rose lands a job on reality TV show, Mansions in the Sky, where she aids contestants in turning shells of houses into glorious mansions. Despite this glamorous gig, she struggles to make friends, and her artistic parents are disappointed with her practical career choices. The only person making time for her is one of the attractive, but married, contestants. But will their stolen moments off-camera put them in danger?
                      Anthony Morris
                      About the author

                      Anthony Morris

                      Anthony Morris is a freelance film writer and editor. Since 2005 he has been DVD editor at The Big Issue, a magazine he first began writing for in 1997. He has been the film editor for Forte magazine since 1992, and is currently a regular contributor to media outlets including Empire, Junkee, Broadsheet, SBS Online and the Wheeler Centre.

                      Books by Anthony Morris

                      Mel Campbell
                      About the author

                      Mel Campbell

                      Mel Campbell is a Melbourne-based freelance journalist, critic, copywriter and editor. Mel co-founded the award-winning poster-journal Is Not Magazine and online pop-culture digest The Enthusiast. Her first book was Out of Shape: Debunking Myths about Fashion and Fit (Affirm Press, 2013. She is currently a columnist on writing at Overland magazine, a co-host of The Rereaders fortnightly literary and culture podcast, and a frequent contributor on film, TV and in print.

                      Books by Mel Campbell

                      COMMENTS

                      Leave a Reply

                      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *