Weekend Read: The House at Bishopsgate by Katie Hickman

Weekend Read: The House at Bishopsgate by Katie Hickman

the-house-at-bishopsgateFor anyone who loves to spend the weekend being whisked back in time to an entirely unfamiliar world of intrigue – steeped in history, romance, and conspiracy – this is the weekend read for you.

The house of the title is on the outskirts of early 17th Century London; the reign of Elizabeth I is over, James I is on the throne and London is expanding by the day. Merchant Paul Pindar has returned from the Middle East with his wife Celia, a sea captain’s daughter whose past is shrouded in mystery. Before she and her beloved Paul were to marry, Celia was captured on a voyage and spent years in captivity at a Turkish harem. Though Celia was eventually rescued and returned to Paul, nothing can be the same between them and there are unspoken events that cloud their marriage. On leaving Syria, they each cling to the belief that soon all will be well in England.

But life in England is not what Celia expected. She misses the rich life of Aleppo, the warmth and the chatter of the women on the rooftops, even the easier dress code of loose-fitting clothing and sitting on soft floor cushions. In London by contrast, the current fashions are stuffy and over the top, and Celia is regularly visited by women supposedly of high rank, who mutter behind their fans about the strangely clad Celia, her previous life in a Turkish palace the talk of fashionable London.

Not helping matters is the widow Frances Sydenham who joined them on the journey home and who has insinuated herself into life at Bishopsgate, making herself indispensable to both Celia and Paul, but clearly with other plans. Celia longs for her own true companion from her previous days, the straight-talking, former nun Annetta, who almost died of the Plague and is reported to be returning too. Meanwhile Paul’s younger brother, the bullying Ralph, is plotting over their ageing father’s lands in Wiltshire and, having heard that Paul has returned with a stunning and legendary – but cursed – diamond, Ralph, along with many a merchant in London, is left to scheme.

The House at Bishopsgate is a delightfully absorbing read, replete with rich historical detail so that we’re immersed in more than one world – from the rooftops of Aleppo with its richly perfumed air, to a wretched winter in Wiltshire, to the bustling, stinking streets of Jacobean London. The tension builds steadily and the characters are so vividly drawn that we are entirely with the heroine Celia as her awful past catches up with her and her strange marriage is threatened by forces not fully in her control.

katie hickamn credit Neil Bennett-minAs well as the quest for vengeance and justice in this novel, there’s romance and poignancy in the rebirth of Celia and Paul’s almost-dead marriage and between the outsider John Carew and his lost love, Celia’s nun friend Annetta. It examines a world where double standards for women abound, and women can be burned for witchcraft. A deeply satisfying novel, The House at Bishopsgate celebrates the true values of life and is one that you’ll be happy to neglect all your weekend social plans for. While it’s the third of a compelling historical fiction trilogy that started with The Aviary Gate and The Pindar Diamond, The House at Bishopsgate is definitely a standalone read, though it will make you want to go back and read the others too.

Katie Hickman is the author of six previous books, including two bestselling history books, Courtesans and Daughters of Britannia. She has written two travel books: Travels with a Circus, shortlisted for the 1993 Thomas Cook Travel Book Award, and Dreams of the Peaceful Dragon, about a journey on horseback through the Himalayan kingdom of Bhutan. She was shortlisted for the Sunday Times Young British Writer of the Year award for her novel The Quetzal Summer.

Purchase a copy of The House at Bishopsgate.

Related Articles

Fairy-tale Inheritance: One Enchanted Evening by Charlotte Smith

News

21 November 2017

Fairy-tale Inheritance: One Enchanted Evening by Charlotte Smith

    Weddings and Wills: Come Rain or Shine by Tricia Stringer

    News

    14 November 2017

    Weddings and Wills: Come Rain or Shine by Tricia Stringer

      Brilliant Dark Mystery: Little Secrets by Anna Snoekstra

      News

      7 November 2017

      Brilliant Dark Mystery: Little Secrets by Anna Snoekstra

        Best Thriller Writer Alive: John Grisham's The Rooster Bar

        News

        24 October 2017

        Best Thriller Writer Alive: John Grisham's The Rooster Bar

          Q&A with Mary-Anne O'Connor, author of War Flower

          News

          17 October 2017

          Q&A with Mary-Anne O'Connor, author of War Flower

            Read the Prologue from Hugh Riminton's Minefields

            News

            5 October 2017

            Read the Prologue from Hugh Riminton's Minefields

              Start reading Manhattan Beach by Jennifer Egan

              News

              3 October 2017

              Start reading Manhattan Beach by Jennifer Egan

                Weekend Read: Manhattan Beach by Jennifer Egan

                News

                3 October 2017

                Weekend Read: Manhattan Beach by Jennifer Egan

                  For the Weekend: Minefields by Hugh Riminton

                  News

                  26 September 2017

                  For the Weekend: Minefields by Hugh Riminton

                    Start Reading You Be Mother by Meg Mason

                    News

                    19 September 2017

                    Start Reading You Be Mother by Meg Mason

                      Publisher details

                      The House at Bishopsgate
                      Author
                      Katie Hickman
                      Publisher
                      Bloomsbury
                      Genre
                      Historical Fiction
                      Released
                      01 February, 2017
                      ISBN
                      9781408882214

                      Synopsis

                      From the Sunday Times bestselling author comes a haunting, magical story set in 17th century London, perfect for fans of Jessie Burton and Ellif Shafak 1611. Celia Lamprey looks out across the rooftops of Aleppo for the last time. After ten years living in the Orient, she and her husband, Paul Pindar, are setting sail for England - taking with them the legendary diamond, the Sultan's Blue, despite the curse that surrounds it. They arrive to find a country much changed; Bishopsgate, once surrounded by fields, is now a muddy thoroughfare choked with carriages - from which carpenters, gardeners and footmen descend, summoned to restore Pindar's great house to its former splendour. But all is not as it seems. Celia is frail, and the marriage childless.Between the couple lies a great, unspoken darkness. Now, as they await the arrival of Celia's friend Annetta from Venice, another woman, the alluring widow Frances Sydenham, becomes increasingly indispensable to the running of the household - and the happiness of its inhabitants. But who is this strange woman, and what are her real motives? Vividly evoking Jacobean society, The House at Bishopsgate is a sumptuous, richly woven story of marital secrets and sexual jealousy, from a master of historical fiction.
                      Katie Hickman
                      About the author

                      Katie Hickman

                      Katie Hickman is the author of six previous books, including two bestselling history books, Courtesans and Daughters of Britannia. She has written two travel books: Travels with a Circus, about her experiences travelling with a Mexican circus, which was shortlisted for the 1993 Thomas Cook Travel Book Award, and Dreams of the Peaceful Dragon, about a journey on horseback through the forbidden Himalayan kingdom of Bhutan. She was shortlisted for the Sunday Times Young British Writer of the Year award for her novel The Quetzal Summer. Katie Hickman lives in London with her two children and her husband, the philosopher A.C. Grayling.

                      Books by Katie Hickman

                      COMMENTS

                      Leave a Reply

                      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *