A Compulsive Page-Turner: Read our Review of Greenwich Park by Katherine Faulkner

A Compulsive Page-Turner: Read our Review of Greenwich Park by Katherine Faulkner

Helen has it all… Daniel is the perfect husband. Rory is the perfect brother. Serena is the perfect sister-in-law. And Rachel? Rachel is the perfect nightmare.

When Helen, finally pregnant after years of tragedy, attends her first antenatal class, she is expecting her loving architect husband to arrive soon after, along with her confident, charming brother Rory and his pregnant wife, the effortlessly beautiful Serena. What she is not expecting is Rachel.

Extroverted, brash, unsettling single mother-to-be Rachel, who just wants to be Helen’s friend. Who just wants to get to know Helen and her friends and her family. Who just wants to know everything about them. Every little secret…

From award-winning journalist Katherine Faulkner, Greenwich Park is a compulsive, page-turning thriller about family, secrets, lies and the toxicity of perfection – a must-read for fans of Louise Candlish, Lisa Jewell and Shari Lapena.

Wow, what a read. Right from the get-go, I could tell that this novel wouldn’t be easy to put down once started – and I wasn’t wrong! I was up all night, frantically tearing through the pages, as I raced towards that explosive and shocking end.

The novel shifts perspectives between Helen, her brother Rory’s wife Serena and her younger brother Charlie’s girlfriend Kate. But the bulk of the novel belongs to Helen as she meets and becomes inexplicably drawn to Rachel. Rachel is a fascinating character. Right from the start, you can tell there’s something off about her, but it’s not obvious what – maybe it’s the fact that she drinks and smokes while pregnant, or that she’s extremely interested in Helen and her family, or that Helen keeps bumping into her wherever she goes. Whatever it is, you’re never quite clear what Rachel’s game is, which keeps you guessing from start to end.

Faulkner also deploys an interesting time format, splitting the novel into parts, each labelling the number of weeks into Helen’s pregnancy. This creates an impending sense of dread, further adding to the already tense and suspenseful atmosphere.

Masterfully plotted and utterly addictive, Greenwich Park is a dark, compelling look at motherhood, friendships, privilege and the secrets we keep to protect ourselves. It’s a knockout debut from Katherine Faulkner, and I’m expecting big things from this author going forward. If you enjoy gripping, pacey psychological thrillers, add Greenwich Park to your TBR list – it’s your next reading obsession.

Reviews

Dark, Twisty and Binge-Worthy: Read an Extract of Greenwich Park by Katherine Faulkner

Review | Extract

7 April 2021

Dark, Twisty and Binge-Worthy: Read an Extract of Greenwich Park by Katherine Faulkner

    Publisher details

    Greenwich Park
    Author
    Katherine Faulkner
    Publisher
    Bloomsbury
    Genre
    Thriller
    Released
    30 March, 2021

    Synopsis

    Helen has it all... Daniel is the perfect husband. Rory is the perfect brother. Serena is the perfect sister-in-law. And Rachel? Rachel is the perfect nightmare. When Helen, finally pregnant after years of tragedy, attends her first antenatal class, she is expecting her loving architect husband to arrive soon after, along with her confident, charming brother Rory and his pregnant wife, the effortlessly beautiful Serena. What she is not expecting is Rachel. Extroverted, brash, unsettling single mother-to-be Rachel, who just wants to be Helen's friend. Who just wants to get know Helen and her friends and her family. Who just wants to know everything about them. Every little secret… Welcome to the must read thriller of 2021.
    Katherine Faulkner
    About the author

    Katherine Faulkner

    Books by Katherine Faulkner

    COMMENTS

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *