A Funny, Feel-Good Read: Our Review of Stella Quinn’s The Vet from Snowy River

A Funny, Feel-Good Read: Our Review of Stella Quinn’s The Vet from Snowy River

A hot vet. A rebellious teenager. And meddling but well-meaning townsfolk. Vera gets more than she bargains for when she runs off to a new life in the country… A fresh and funny rural romance, perfect for readers of Alissa Callen and Rachael Johns.

Vera De Rossi no longer believes in love…

And thanks to her ex-boyfriend­ she’s also broke, jobless, and staring down the barrel of a court case that could land her in prison. Turning to her talent for baking, Vera opens a cafe in Hanrahan, a cosy tourist town in the foothills of the Snowy Mountains.

Josh Cody, once Hanrahan’s golden boy, escaped sixteen years ago with gossip hard on his heels and a pregnant girlfriend in tow. Now he’s back: a qualified veterinarian – and a single dad with a lot to prove. A new start and a grumpy teenage daughter… it’s a lot to juggle, and there’s no room in his life for further complications. But that’s before he walks into The Billy Button Cafe and meets its prickly owner…

Reeling from the past, Vera has no intention of being side-tracked by the hot vet with a killer smile. But fate has a way of tripping up our best intentions and between a stray cat and a busybody with a heart of gold, this is a town – a family – unlike any other. And, whether Vera wants it or not, is there anything a family won’t do to help one of its own.

Oh my, I needed this book – it was the perfect escape from reality.

Vera De Rossi is a fabulous protagonist who had me at ‘stray cat’. It’s a familiar character arc – woman with a difficult past finds herself a newcomer in town and meets a hot local – and yet every step of the way, Quinn makes fresh choices with the lovely Vera.

Setting plays a major role in this delightful novel. The small town of Hanrahan in the Snowy Mountains is richly described and Vera’s café, The Billy Button Café, provides the perfect, delicious home base for the story to take place. Add a cast of quirky and compelling locals, and if Hanrahan was a real location, I’d move there tomorrow.

And then there’s Josh, local boy, single dad, and vet, to throw in complications and searingly hot chemistry at every turn.

Stella Quinn’s The Vet from Snowy River is a funny, feel-good read. Highly recommended.

Reviews

Rural Romance at its Best: Take a Sneak Peek at Stella Quinn’s The Vet from Snowy River

Review | Extract

7 June 2021

Rural Romance at its Best: Take a Sneak Peek at Stella Quinn’s The Vet from Snowy River

    Publisher details

    The Vet from Snowy River
    Author
    Stella Quinn
    Publisher
    HarperCollins
    Genre
    Fiction
    Released
    02 June, 2021

    Synopsis

    Vera De Rossi no longer believes in love. And thanks to her ex-boyfriend­ she's also broke, jobless, and staring down the barrel of a court case that could land her in prison. Turning to her talent for baking, Vera opens a cafe in Hanrahan, a cosy tourist town in the foothills of the Snowy Mountains. Josh Cody, once Hanrahan's golden boy, escaped sixteen years ago with gossip hard on his heels and a pregnant girlfriend in tow. Now he's back: a qualified veterinarian - and a single dad with a lot to prove. A new start and a grumpy teenage daughter ... it's a lot to juggle, and there's no room in his life for further complications. But that's before he walks into The Billy Button Cafe and meets its prickly owner. Reeling from the past, Vera has no intention of being sidetracked by the hot vet with a killer smile. But fate has a way of tripping up our best intentions and between a stray cat and a busybody with a heart of gold, this is a town - a family - unlike any other. And, whether Vera wants it or not, is there anything a family won't do to help one of its own?
    Stella Quinn
    About the author

    Stella Quinn

    Stella Quinn has had a love affair with books since she first discovered the alphabet. She lives in sunny Queensland now, but has lived in England, Hong Kong and Papua New Guinea. Boarding school in a Queensland country town left Stella with a love of small towns and heritage buildings (and a fear of chenille bedspreads and meatloaf!) and that is why she loves writing rural romance. Stella is a keen scrabble player, she's very partial to her four kids and anything with four furry feet, and she is a mediocre grower of orchids. An active member of Romance Writers of Australia, Stella has won their Emerald, Sapphire and Valerie Parv Awards, and finaled in their R*BY Romantic Book of the Year award.

    Books by Stella Quinn

    COMMENTS

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *