A Local Cosy Mystery: Read Our Review of Death at the Belvedere by Sue Williams

A Local Cosy Mystery: Read Our Review of Death at the Belvedere by Sue Williams

It’s a mostly normal Friday evening in the Rusty Bore Takeaway. Cass Tuplin’s cleaning down the grill when her glamorous sister Helen walks in, all bones in an Italian-weave suit and the kind of state that calls for the full comfort: double bacon cheeseburger with extra chips.

It’s man trouble as usual. But this time it turns out the trouble is less emotional and more fatal. Helen’s boyfriend has been pushed off the rooftop terrace of his Fitzroy apartment, and Helen’s trying not to become a person of interest. She’s also trying to retrieve something rare and valuable from Ben’s place – which is where Cass comes in.

Cass doesn’t do investigations anymore, of course, being unlicensed. And she’s not particularly keen on breaking into a crime scene, even if it’s not strictly breaking when you’ve got a key.

On the other hand, Helen is her only sister. And she has been getting Cass into trouble for more than forty years. Why stop now? But this time Helen’s little problem will drop Cass into deeper trouble than ever before.

This is Melbourne-based author Sue Williams’ fourth novel featuring unlicensed investigator, amateur sleuth Cass Tuplin. The previous three are Murder with the Lot, Dead Men Don’t Order Flake and Live and Let Fry, the titles of which pay homage to Cass’ day job working at a regional Victorian takeaway shop.

This novel really epitomises what is so popular about the cosy mystery genre; equal parts intriguing and gripping, with a solid dose of humour added to the mix. While Cass is busy trying to piece together the mystery, she’s also trying to figure out her dating life, balance her day job and stay on the right side of the law! The settings in Victoria are delightfully local and recognisable, from Bendigo to the suburbs of Melbourne. It’s just the kind of mystery I enjoy when I don’t have the stomach for disturbing or gory details.

While I recommend you start series from the beginning, Death at the Belvedere can absolutely be read as a standalone. This is a delightful cosy crime read that will appeal to fans of The Thursday Murder Club, Digging Up Dirt and Everybody in My Family Has Killed Someone.

Buy a copy of Death at the Belvedere here.

Reviews

An Entertaining Mystery: Read an Extract from Death at the Belvedere by Sue Williams

Review | Extract

8 June 2022

An Entertaining Mystery: Read an Extract from Death at the Belvedere by Sue Williams

    Publisher details

    Death at the Belvedere
    Author
    Sue Williams
    Publisher
    Text Publishing
    Genre
    Fiction
    Released
    31 July, 2022
    ISBN
    9781922458551

    Synopsis

    It’s a mostly normal Friday evening in the Rusty Bore Takeaway. Cass Tuplin’s cleaning down the grill when her glamorous sister Helen walks in, all bones in an Italian-weave suit and the kind of state that calls for the full comfort: double bacon cheeseburger with extra chips.

    It’s man trouble as usual. But this time it turns out the trouble is less emotional and more fatal. Helen’s boyfriend has been pushed off the rooftop terrace of his Fitzroy apartment, and Helen’s trying not to become a person of interest. She’s also trying to retrieve something rare and valuable from Ben’s place—which is where Cass comes in.

    Cass doesn’t do investigations anymore, of course, being unlicensed. And she’s not particularly keen on breaking into a crime scene, even if it’s not strictly breaking when you’ve got a key.

    On the other hand, Helen is her only sister. And she has been getting Cass into trouble for more than forty years. Why stop now? But this time Helen’s little problem will drop Cass into deeper trouble than ever before.

    Sue Williams
    About the author

    Sue Williams

    Sue Williams is the author of a number of bestselling books, including Women of the Outback; No Time For Fear, the story of shark attack survivor Paul de Gelder; and Father Bob: The Larrikin Priest. Her book And Then The Darkness, about the disappearance of British backpacker Peter Falconio, was shortlisted for the prestigious Golden Dagger Award in the UK, and the Ned Kelly Awards in Australia.

    Books by Sue Williams

    COMMENTS

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *