A Phenomenal Thriller: Read our Review of I Know What I Saw by Imran Mahmood

A Phenomenal Thriller: Read our Review of I Know What I Saw by Imran Mahmood

I saw it. He smothered her, pressing his hands on her face. The police don’t believe me, they say it’s impossible—but I know what I saw.

Xander Shute—once a wealthy banker, now living on the streets—shelters for the night in an empty Mayfair flat. When he hears the occupants returning home, he scrambles to hide. Trapped in his hiding place, he hears the couple argue, and he soon finds himself witnessing a vicious murder.

But who was the dead woman, who the police later tell him can’t have been there? And why is the man Xander saw her with evading justice?

As Xander searches for answers, his memory of the crime comes under scrutiny, forcing him to confront his long-buried past and the stories he’s told about himself.

How much he is willing to risk to understand the brutal truth?

From the author of You Don’t Know Me, which was adapted for television by the BBC, comes I Know What I Saw, a gripping psychological thriller that had me hooked from beginning to end.

As the novel opens, we find protagonist Xander living on the streets fighting for the smallest comforts and struggling to survive. Xander isn’t necessarily a likeable person, but he is very relatable in his decisions and actions. Mahmood’s character work is stunning, and though Xander is a bitter and broken man, his powerful drive to prove his innocence will have you rooting for him in no time.

At its heart, this is a story of a man who is living with past demons while attempting to bring a sense of stability back into his life. But it’s also a suspenseful murder mystery that is nothing short of heart-racing. Mahmood himself served as a criminal defence barrister for over twenty years before turning to writing, and that experience lends great authenticity to this narrative. Every twist and turn hits you without warning, making for an absolute page-turner of a novel. The constant build-up of uncertainty as Xander’s past is revealed is palpable and will leave you gobsmacked.

I Know What I Saw is a stellar crime novel for fans of The Women in the Window and The Girl on the Train. Combining brilliant character-work with a tightly executed plot, Imran Mahmood has delivered yet another gripping psychological thriller.

Reviews

A Heart-Racing Thriller: Read an Extract from I Know What I Saw by Imran Mahmood

Review | Extract

19 July 2021

A Heart-Racing Thriller: Read an Extract from I Know What I Saw by Imran Mahmood

    Publisher details

    I Know What I Saw
    Author
    Imran Mahmood
    Publisher
    Bloomsbury
    Genre
    Fiction
    Released
    31 August, 2021

    Synopsis

    Xander Shute - once a wealthy banker, now living on the streets - shelters for the night in an empty Mayfair flat. When he hears the occupants returning home, he scrambles to hide. Trapped in his hiding place, he hears the couple argue, and he soon finds himself witnessing a vicious murder. But who was the dead woman, who the police later tell him can't have been there? And why is the man Xander saw her with evading justice? As Xander searches for answers, his memory of the crime comes under scrutiny, forcing him to confront his long-buried past and the stories he's told about himself. How much he is willing to risk to understand the brutal truth?
    Imran Mahmood
    About the author

    Imran Mahmood

    Imran Mahmood is a British novelist and barrister. His first novel You Don't Know Me was shortlisted for the Glass Bell Award in 2018.

    Books by Imran Mahmood

    COMMENTS

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *