A Sweeping Historical Tale: Read an Extract from Echoes of War by Tania Blanchard

A Sweeping Historical Tale: Read an Extract from Echoes of War by Tania Blanchard

February, 1936

Calabria, Southern Italy

I followed the nun in a haze of exhaustion. I had been trying to memorise the turns along the corridors of the monastery, but when we finally stopped, I realised that I was utterly lost.

‘Here we are,’ said the nun, opening the door to my cell. ‘You’ll find it has everything you need.’ She smiled encouragingly. ‘It will feel like home before you know it.’

‘Grazie, sorella,’ I said in a small voice.

‘One of the sisters will take you to see Mother Superior in the morning. Buona notte,’ she said, before turning back down the long corridor.

I raised my lantern and surveyed the tiny room. A wave of loneliness overcame me and I burst into tears. I’d never been away from home before and I already missed my family. The single bed against the whitewashed wall was covered with a sheepskin spread, with another sheepskin on the stone floor under the narrow window. The plain cell was more than I was used to. I’d never had the luxury of privacy and freedom of my own space before – but it wasn’t home. How would I ever sleep without the comfort of my sister Paola’s warm body next to me and the soft sleepy noises of my oldest sister Teresa in the bed beside us?

Continue reading the extract here…

Buy a copy of Echoes of War here.

Reviews

A Captivating Story of Love and Loss: Read Our Review of Echoes of War by Tania Blanchard

Review | Our Review

19 October 2021

A Captivating Story of Love and Loss: Read Our Review of Echoes of War by Tania Blanchard

    Your Preview Verdict: Echoes of War by Tania Blanchard

    Review | Preview

    13 October 2021

    Your Preview Verdict: Echoes of War by Tania Blanchard

      Better Reading Preview: Echoes of War by Tania Blanchard

      Review | Preview

      24 August 2021

      Better Reading Preview: Echoes of War by Tania Blanchard

        Related Articles

        Live Book Event: Tania Blanchard, Author of Echoes of War

        News | Events & Festivals

        20 October 2021

        Live Book Event: Tania Blanchard, Author of Echoes of War

          Letters From Berlin Author, Tania Blanchard Looks at 2021 – The Year Ahead

          News | Author Related | Book Life

          14 December 2020

          Letters From Berlin Author, Tania Blanchard Looks at 2021 – The Year Ahead

            Podcast: Tania Blanchard on Telling her Grandmother’s Stories

            Podcast

            24 November 2020

            Podcast: Tania Blanchard on Telling her Grandmother’s Stories

              Live Book Event: Tania Blanchard, Author of Letters from Berlin

              News | Events & Festivals

              6 October 2020

              Live Book Event: Tania Blanchard, Author of Letters from Berlin

                Tania Blanchard's The Girl from Munich and Suitcase of Dreams Top 100 AND 100,000

                News | Author Related | Book Life

                26 May 2020

                Tania Blanchard's The Girl from Munich and Suitcase of Dreams Top 100 AND 100,000

                  The Rise and Rise of Women: Better Reading Podcast

                  Podcast | News

                  31 January 2019

                  The Rise and Rise of Women: Better Reading Podcast

                    Podcast: Writing a Bestseller with Tania Blanchard

                    Podcast

                    3 December 2018

                    Podcast: Writing a Bestseller with Tania Blanchard

                      What Happened Next to Lotte: Read an extract from Suitcase of Dreams by Tania Blanchard

                      News

                      26 November 2018

                      What Happened Next to Lotte: Read an extract from Suitcase of Dreams by Tania Blanchard

                        The Girl From Munich Sequel: Review of Suitcase of Dreams by Tania Blanchard

                        News

                        26 November 2018

                        The Girl From Munich Sequel: Review of Suitcase of Dreams by Tania Blanchard

                          October Book Club: The Girl From Munich by Tania Blanchard

                          News

                          10 October 2017

                          October Book Club: The Girl From Munich by Tania Blanchard

                            Publisher details

                            Echoes of War
                            Author
                            Tania Blanchard
                            Publisher
                            Simon and Schuster
                            Genre
                            Fiction
                            Released
                            29 September, 2021
                            ISBN
                            9781760852085

                            Synopsis

                            Set in Mussolini’s Italy amid great upheaval, this is the story of one woman’s determination to find her place in a world that men are threatening to tear apart. Another heart-rending novel inspired by a true story from Australia's bestselling author of The Girl from Munich. Calabria, Italy, 1936. In a remote farming village nestled in the mountains that descend into the sparkling Ionian Sea, young and spirited Giulia Tallariti longs for something more. While she loves her home and her lively family, she would much rather follow in her nonna’s footsteps and pursue her dream of becoming a healer. But as Mussolini’s focus shifts to the war in Europe, civil unrest looms. Whispers of war are at every corner and her beloved village, once safe from the fascist agenda of the North, is now in very real danger. Caught between her desire to forge her own path and her duty to her family, Giulia must draw on the passion in her heart and the strength of her conviction. Can she find a way to fulfill her dreams or will the echoes of war drown out her voice?
                            Tania Blanchard
                            About the author

                            Tania Blanchard

                            Tania Blanchard was inspired to write by the fascinating stories her German grandmother told her as a child. Coming from a family with a rich cultural heritage, stories have always been in her blood. Her first novel published by Simon & Schuster Australia, The Girl from Munich, was a runaway bestseller, as was the sequel, Suitcase of Dreams. Tania lives in Sydney with her husband and three children.

                            Books by Tania Blanchard

                            COMMENTS

                            Leave a Reply

                            Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *