Barry Divola’s Driving Stevie Fracasso is a Rollicking, Music-Infused Road Trip Novel

Barry Divola’s Driving Stevie Fracasso is a Rollicking, Music-Infused Road Trip Novel

Two estranged brothers, one stolen car and a road trip from Texas to New York. What could possibly go wrong? For fans of Nick Hornby, David Nicholls and Jonathan Tropper.

Jaded music journalist Rick McLennan knows his life is going south when he loses his job, his apartment and his long-term girlfriend all on the same day. But then he is thrown a lifeline – a commission to write the story of his ex-rock-star brother, Stevie, and drive him from Austin, Texas, to New York to play one final gig. One small problem: the brothers haven’t spoken in thirty years.

Rick knows it’s a bad idea. But he’s out of options. So he gets behind the wheel of a beaten-up 1985 Nissan Stanza and drives towards his destiny. He’s about to find everything he didn’t know he was missing. It’s September 2001.

From award-winning journalist and author Barry Divola comes a glorious, music-infused, rollicking road trip novel – think High Fidelity meets The Big Lebowski meets The Darjeeling Limited. Having previously worked as a music critic for the likes of Rolling Stone and Who, in addition to writing several children’s books and award-winning short stories, this is Divola’s first novel – and it’s a cracker. I absolutely adored this book. In fact, I practically inhaled it. It’s a smart, funny and wholly endearing story about how we may at times lose ourselves along the way, but the road always leads back to family and the things that bring us joy.

Set on the road and in the seedy streets and dive bars of New York city, Driving Stevie Fracasso follows forty-year-old, down-and-out music journalist Rick McLennan, exploring his relationship with his legendary, rock-star big brother Stevie Fracasso.

Rick makes for a very engaging protagonist; Once a wide-eyed and hopeful writer with big dreams of making it in New York, he’s now a sad, cynical middle-aged version of his former self who can’t quite seem to catch a break from the lousy hand life’s been dealing him. He’s also incredibly funny and startling honest, and I thoroughly enjoyed watching the shenanigans he and his brother find themselves in. It is a hilarious, heartfelt and wildly entertaining road trip that will have you feeling nostalgic for the good-old-days of rock-n-roll and mix tapes.

Witty, intelligent and pulsing with music, Driving Stevie Fracasso is an enthralling page-turner, perfect for fans of Almost Famous. And what’s more, HarperCollins has even added its own epic Driving Stevie Fracasso playlist to Spotify for you to enjoy once you’ve finished binge-reading it.

Reviews

Smart, Funny and Nostalgic: Try a Sample Chapter of Driving Stevie Fracasso by Barry Divola

Review | Extract

2 March 2021

Smart, Funny and Nostalgic: Try a Sample Chapter of Driving Stevie Fracasso by Barry Divola

    Related Articles

    Live Book Event: Barry Divola, Author of Driving Stevie Fracasso

    News | Events & Festivals

    19 March 2021

    Live Book Event: Barry Divola, Author of Driving Stevie Fracasso

      Publisher details

      Driving Stevie Fracasso
      Author
      Barry Divola
      Publisher
      HarperCollins
      Genre
      Fiction
      Released
      03 March, 2021

      Synopsis

      Jaded music journalist Rick McLennan knows his life is going south when he loses his job, his apartment and his long-term girlfriend all on the same day. But then he is thrown a lifeline - a commission to write the story of his ex-rock-star brother, Stevie, and drive him from Austin, Texas, to New York to play one final gig. One small problem: the brothers haven't spoken in thirty years. Rick knows it's a bad idea. But he's out of choices. So he gets behind the wheel of a beaten-up 1985 Nissan Stanza and drives towards his destiny. He's about to find everything he didn't know he was missing. It's September 2001. From award-winning journalist and author Barry Divola comes a glorious, music-infused, rollicking road-trip novel - think High Fidelity meets The Big Lebowski meets The Darjeeling Limited. A smart, funny and wholly endearing story about how, though we may at times lose ourselves along the way, the road always leads back to family and the things that bring us joy.
      Barry Divola
      About the author

      Barry Divola

      Barry Divola is a journalist and author born and bred in Sydney, currently living in Perth. He writes regularly for The Sydney Morning HeraldThe Australian Financial Review and Qantas Magazine. He was a senior writer for Rolling Stone (Australia), the long-time music critic for Who, and his work has appeared internationally in Rolling StoneSpinEntertainment WeeklyMonocle and other magazines. Driving Stevie Fracasso is his first novel, but he has published eight other books – four non-fiction books, three children's books and a book of short fiction (Nineteen Seventysomething). He has won the Margaret River Short Story Prize, the FAW Jennifer Burbidge Award, the Cowley Literary Award and the Banjo Paterson Award for Short Fiction (three times). Although he plays in three bands in two cities, he has been informed not to give up his day job. 

      Books by Barry Divola

      COMMENTS

      Leave a Reply

      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

      1. Linda Balogh says:

        Thank you for this fabulous, highly entertaining review! I’m going to pick up a copy of this on my next Book Haul, it sounds right up my alley. 📚😃🥂