A stranger at the door: Read an extract from When Rain Turns To Snow by Jane Godwin

A stranger at the door: Read an extract from When Rain Turns To Snow by Jane Godwin

When Rain Turns To Snow by Jane Godwin

REED

My favourite word is sandal. It feels so open, so clear and simple, it makes me think of a little kid in summer.

A little kid – maybe it’s a memory, maybe it’s me – now skipping along, now balancing on that bit of concrete at the edge of the gutter.

Wearing.

Sandals.

Flat – are they red? – with shiny buckles.

I like the way the word looks. With the two a’s like that. And you can make it sound really slow in your mouth.

Not like Paddock. Sadie’s favourite word is paddock. It’s nice to say, but it’s a closed, clipped word, like the locking of a gate. You can’t linger on paddock like you can on sandal.

Hannah’s favourite word is serendipity. The slow, sliding “seren” and then the quick tongue-on-the-roof-of-your-mouth “dipity”. Satisfying.

And reed. The name for tall plants that grow beside a dam or a lake somewhere. Or a creek. A reed can also be part of a musical instrument, an oboe or a clarinet. But Reed can be a name, too. I thought when he told me his name, he was telling me to read. Like, to read something. Of course I didn’t see how it’s spelt when he said it out loud that day. And I thought, Read what? But it’s like this: Reed.

Read more here

 

Reviews

Secrets create chaos: Review of When Rain Turns to Snow by Jane Godwin

Review | Our Review

6 July 2020

Secrets create chaos: Review of When Rain Turns to Snow by Jane Godwin

Related Articles

A runaway, a baby and whole lot of questions: Teaching resources for When Rain Turns To Snow by Jane Godwin

News | Book Life

6 July 2020

A runaway, a baby and whole lot of questions: Teaching resources for When Rain Turns To Snow by Jane Godwin

Synopsis

A beautiful and timely coming-of-age story about finding out who you are in the face of crisis and change. Perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo, Fiona Wood and Emily Rodda.A runaway, a baby and a whole lot of questions...Lissa is home on her own after school one afternoon when a stranger turns up on the doorstep carrying a baby. Reed is on the run - surely people are looking for him? He's trying to find out who he really is and thinks Lissa's mum might have some answers. But how could he be connected to Lissa's family - and why has he been left in charge of a baby? A baby who is sick, and getting sicker ...Reed's appearance stirs up untold histories in Lissa's family, and suddenly she is having to make sense of her past in a way she would never have imagined. Meanwhile, her brother is dealing with a devastating secret of his own.A beautiful and timely coming-of-age story about finding out who you are in the face of crisis and change.
Jane Godwin
About the author

Jane Godwin

Jane Godwin is the highly acclaimed and internationally published author of many books for children and young people, across all styles and ages. Children's Publisher at Penguin Books Australia for many years, Jane was the co-creator with Davina Bell of the Our Australian Girl series of quality historical fiction for middle readers. Jane's books include her novels Falling From Grace and As Happy as Here (a CBCA Notable Book), and picture books Go Go and the Silver Shoes (illustrated by Anna Walker), The Silver Sea (with Alison Lester and patients at the Royal Children's Hospital, Melbourne) and Watch This! (with designer Beci Orpin and photographer Hilary Walker). Jane is dedicated to pursuing quality and enriching reading and writing experiences for young people, and spends as much time as she can working with them in schools and communities and running literature and writing programs. janegodwin.com.au

Books by Jane Godwin

COMMENTS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *