Beautiful and Emotionally Charged: Try an Extract of Letters from Berlin by Tania Blanchard

Beautiful and Emotionally Charged: Try an Extract of Letters from Berlin by Tania Blanchard

After what had been a sombre evening, I was glad to be alone in my bedroom that night. Tante Elya and Onkel Georg had sat pale-faced and quiet over dinner and we’d barely touched our food. Little had been mentioned about the registration. I understood that it was still too much of a shock to talk about just yet, but nobody really knew what to say to ease the tension in the room. Only Leo thought to play his mother’s favourite songs on the balalaika after dinner, bringing a smile to her face.

Still humming a Russian folk tune, I sat at my dressing table and stared into the mirror as I brushed my long fair hair to a gleam before bed. I didn’t want to think about the implications of Tante Elya’s letter, it was too frightening. I touched my cheek where Leo’s hand had stroked me in the kitchen, even now it tingled with the memory. There was something between us that couldn’t be denied, and yet he kept pushing me away.

In the beginning, it was Leo who made the pain of losing my family bearable. Despite the love that Tante Elya lavished upon me and the kind words from Onkel Georg, some days I still felt so alone in the world…

Continue reading the extract here…

Reviews

Find Out Which Books Inspired Letters from Berlin Author, Tania Blanchard

Review | Author Related

8 October 2020

Find Out Which Books Inspired Letters from Berlin Author, Tania Blanchard

    A Heartbreaking Tale Based on a True Story: Read our Review of Letters from Berlin by Tania Blanchard

    Review | Our Review

    6 October 2020

    A Heartbreaking Tale Based on a True Story: Read our Review of Letters from Berlin by Tania Blanchard

      Your Preview Verdict: Letters from Berlin by Tania Blanchard

      Review | Preview

      28 September 2020

      Your Preview Verdict: Letters from Berlin by Tania Blanchard

        Preview Reviews: Letters from Berlin by Tania Blanchard

        Review | Preview

        21 September 2020

        Preview Reviews: Letters from Berlin by Tania Blanchard

          Better Reading Preview: Letters from Berlin by Tania Blanchard

          Review | Preview

          4 August 2020

          Better Reading Preview: Letters from Berlin by Tania Blanchard

            Related Articles

            Letters From Berlin Author, Tania Blanchard Looks at 2021 – The Year Ahead

            News | Author Related | Book Life

            14 December 2020

            Letters From Berlin Author, Tania Blanchard Looks at 2021 – The Year Ahead

              Podcast: Tania Blanchard on Telling her Grandmother’s Stories

              Podcast

              24 November 2020

              Podcast: Tania Blanchard on Telling her Grandmother’s Stories

                Live Book Event: Tania Blanchard, Author of Letters from Berlin

                News | Events & Festivals

                6 October 2020

                Live Book Event: Tania Blanchard, Author of Letters from Berlin

                  Publisher details

                  Letters from Berlin
                  Author
                  Tania Blanchard
                  Publisher
                  Simon and Schuster
                  Genre
                  Historical Fiction
                  Released
                  07 October, 2020
                  ISBN
                  9781760852054

                  Synopsis

                  Berlin, 1943. As the Allied forces edge closer, the Third Reich tightens its grip on its people. For eighteen-year-old Susanna Göttmann, this means her beloved adopted family including the man she loves, Leo, are at risk. His mother – Susie’s godmother – is forced to register as a Jew and wear the Star of David, bearing the resentment of the village she has always called home. Desperate to protect them any way she can, Susie accepts the help of an influential Nazi officer. It means she must abandon any hope of a future with Leo and enter the terrifying world of the Nazi elite. But all is not lost as her newfound position offers more than she could have hoped for … With critical intelligence at her fingertips, Susie seizes a dangerous opportunity to help the resistance. The decisions she makes could change the course of the war, but what will they mean for her family and her future? From the bestselling author of The Girl from Munich and Suitcase of Dreams comes an unforgettable tale of love, courage and betrayal inspired by a true story
                  Tania Blanchard
                  About the author

                  Tania Blanchard

                  Tania Blanchard was inspired to write by the fascinating stories her German grandmother told her as a child. Coming from a family with a rich cultural heritage, stories have always been in her blood. Her first novel published by Simon & Schuster Australia, The Girl from Munich, was a runaway bestseller, as was the sequel, Suitcase of Dreams. Tania lives in Sydney with her husband and three children.

                  Books by Tania Blanchard

                  COMMENTS

                  Leave a Reply

                  Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *