Hilarious Yet Heartfelt: Extract from Bored #1: Milo Finds $105 by Matt Stanton

Hilarious Yet Heartfelt: Extract from Bored #1: Milo Finds $105 by Matt Stanton
1

My name is Milo Kim and I am very bored.

I’m so bored that I’m following an ant. I think it’s bored too, hey. It doesn’t seem to know where it’s going.

The ant and I are walking very slowly along the street outside my house. I live at number one, Turtle Place.

Mum and Liz say our street is called that because it’s slow and free of drama. I dunno. Seems pretty obvious to me. Our street is shaped like a turtle so what else are you gonna call it?

I think the ant looks lonely. Why don’t you have any ant friends? Where’s your mum? Or your big bro? Did he join the army like mine?

I wonder if the ant knows whether there’s an actual war going on. I don’t. Whenever I ask Mum she tells me I should be doing clarinet practice. Whenever I ask Liz, she tells me to talk to Mum, which just brings us right back to the clarinet.

So I’ve stopped asking. I hate my clarinet.

Continue reading the printable extract here…

Buy a copy of Milo Finds $105 here.

Reviews

A Standout New Series: Read Our Review of Bored #1: Milo Finds $105 by Matt Stanton

Review | Our Review

30 March 2022

A Standout New Series: Read Our Review of Bored #1: Milo Finds $105 by Matt Stanton

Related Articles

Book Week Costume Sorted: Become Max the Funny Kid

News | Book Life

26 August 2021

Book Week Costume Sorted: Become Max the Funny Kid

Out-of-this-World Pranks: Activity from Funny Kid Prank Aliens by Matt Stanton

News | Book Life

17 May 2021

Out-of-this-World Pranks: Activity from Funny Kid Prank Aliens by Matt Stanton

Cartoon character colouring:  Enjoy colouring fun from The Odds by Matt Stanton

News | Book Life

4 November 2020

Cartoon character colouring: Enjoy colouring fun from The Odds by Matt Stanton

Funny Kid activities for funny kids: Enjoy more hilarity with your favourite characters

Kids & Ya

28 April 2020

Funny Kid activities for funny kids: Enjoy more hilarity with your favourite characters

Mad Max rides again! Author and illustrator of Funny Kid Peeking Duck, Matt Stanton,  explains how to get kids engaged and reading

News | Author Related

22 April 2020

Mad Max rides again! Author and illustrator of Funny Kid Peeking Duck, Matt Stanton, explains how to get kids engaged and reading

Why I Write Funny Kid Books by Matt Stanton

News | Author Related

4 January 2020

Why I Write Funny Kid Books by Matt Stanton

Tim Miller: Developing the World of the Fart Monster

Kids & Ya

24 April 2018

Tim Miller: Developing the World of the Fart Monster

The Fart Monster Strikes Again: Review Fart Monster and Me Chapter Book Series

Kids & Ya

24 April 2018

The Fart Monster Strikes Again: Review Fart Monster and Me Chapter Book Series

‘Maybe We’re Just Big Kids’: Tim Miller and Matt Stanton on Creating Hilarious Stories Boys Want to Read

Kids & Ya

13 November 2015

‘Maybe We’re Just Big Kids’: Tim Miller and Matt Stanton on Creating Hilarious Stories Boys Want to Read

Publisher details

Bored #1: Milo Finds $105
Author
Matt Stanton
Publisher
ABC Books
Genre
Children’s Fiction
Released
30 March, 2022
ISBN
9780733342035

Synopsis

Ages 8+

Sometimes feeling bored is just the beginning ...

Hi, I'm Milo, and right now I'm chasing $105 as it flies down my street. The wind is blowing it towards Evie Watson's house, which is very bad news. It's also making for some pretty awkward running.

My neighbours, Rocco, Luisa and Zak, must be laughing their heads off. And who knows what's happening with the new kid next door. His name is Frog and he's invented his own type of martial art, which he's not very good at even though he made it up.

Finding this much money should have been a good thing, but it's turning into a disaster!

Matt Stanton
About the author

Matt Stanton

Matt Stanton is a bestselling children's author and illustrator, with over 930,000 books sold in Australia alone. He is the co-creator of the mega-hit picture books There Is a Monster Under My Bed Who Farts and This Is a Ball. He launched his much-anticipated middle-grade series, Funny Kid, in 2017. The first book in the series, Funny Kid for President, debuted as the #1 Australian kids' book, and Funny Kid is fast winning legions of fans around the world. He lives in Sydney with his wife, bestselling picture book creator Beck Stanton, and their three young children.

Books by Matt Stanton

COMMENTS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *