Wonderful, Witty and Full of Heart: Read a Sample Chapter from Flying the Nest by Rachael Johns

Wonderful, Witty and Full of Heart: Read a Sample Chapter from Flying the Nest by Rachael Johns

1

Perth

It was seven o’clock in the morning and I was cutting oranges for Payton’s soccer game when Adrian casually asked if I’d heard of nest parenting.

I paused and searched my memory. It sounded vaguely familiar—like I’d read about the concept online or heard it discussed in one of the many podcasts I listened to. Although I’m almost forty, I pride myself on my memory and, sure enough, I recalled there was a mum who had a kid in the year below at Saxon’s school who was nest parenting with her husband. Or rather ex-husband!

‘Yeah, what about it?’ I said, as I bent to get a large container from our Tupperware drawer.

Adrian took a sip of his coffee, then, ‘I was thinking we should give it a try.’

And that is the exact moment the bottom fell out of my world!

Continue reading the extract here…

Reviews

Rachael Johns Never Disappoints: Read our Review of Flying the Nest

Review | Our Review

12 November 2020

Rachael Johns Never Disappoints: Read our Review of Flying the Nest

    5 Quick Questions with Flying the Nest Author Rachael Johns

    Review | Author Related

    10 November 2020

    5 Quick Questions with Flying the Nest Author Rachael Johns

      Related Articles

      Vanessa McCausland in Conversation with Rachael Johns

      News | Events & Festivals

      26 November 2021

      Vanessa McCausland in Conversation with Rachael Johns

        Live Book Event: Rachael Johns, Author of Outback Secrets

        News | Events & Festivals

        16 November 2021

        Live Book Event: Rachael Johns, Author of Outback Secrets

          Live Book Event: Rachael Johns, Bestselling Author of How to Mend a Broken Heart

          News | Events & Festivals

          24 May 2021

          Live Book Event: Rachael Johns, Bestselling Author of How to Mend a Broken Heart

            Just One Wish Author, Rachael Johns tells us What Books she'd buy her Characters for Christmas

            News | Author Related

            17 December 2019

            Just One Wish Author, Rachael Johns tells us What Books she'd buy her Characters for Christmas

              I Wanted to Explore What it Means to be a Woman in Today's World: Q&A with Rachael Johns, Author of Just One Wish

              News | Author Related

              30 October 2019

              I Wanted to Explore What it Means to be a Woman in Today's World: Q&A with Rachael Johns, Author of Just One Wish

                Podcast: Life and Literature with Rachael Johns

                Podcast

                7 January 2019

                Podcast: Life and Literature with Rachael Johns

                  For life-lit lovers: Why Lost Without You is a fantastic Christmas gift

                  News

                  17 December 2018

                  For life-lit lovers: Why Lost Without You is a fantastic Christmas gift

                    A Twist To Make You Gasp: Read an extract from Lost Without You by Rachael Johns

                    News

                    12 December 2018

                    A Twist To Make You Gasp: Read an extract from Lost Without You by Rachael Johns

                      Love, Laughter, Tears: Review of Lost Without You by Rachael Johns

                      News

                      11 December 2018

                      Love, Laughter, Tears: Review of Lost Without You by Rachael Johns

                        Rachael Johns: Queen of Rural Romance

                        Podcast

                        14 November 2017

                        Rachael Johns: Queen of Rural Romance

                          Publisher details

                          Flying the Nest
                          Author
                          Rachael Johns
                          Publisher
                          HQ Fiction
                          Genre
                          Fiction
                          Released
                          28 October, 2020
                          ISBN
                          9781489276810

                          Synopsis

                          They say a change is as good as a holiday...but what if you don't want either? Is her family's happiness more important than her own? The first time Ashling Wood realises her marriage is on the rocks is when her husband, Adrian, suggests they try nest parenting. Heartbroken, Ash suddenly finds herself living a double life - one week with her children, the next cohabiting with her happily single sister-in-law. Her friends think the modern custody solution is an exciting opportunity for her to spread her wings, but all Ash wants is her family back together. An offer to renovate a seaside cottage seems like the perfect distraction for Ash while waiting for Adrian to come to his senses. She's determined to fix her marriage as well as the cottage, but life gets even more complicated when she meets local fisherman Dan Emerson. Soon, each home-stay becomes more dysfunctional, while for the other week Ash enjoys the peaceful life of the beachside community. The more time Ash spends in Ragged Point, the more she questions what she really wants. Is a sea-change the fresh start she needs to move on?
                          Rachael Johns
                          About the author

                          Rachael Johns

                          Rachael Johns, an English teacher by trade and a mum 24/7, is the bestselling ABIA-winning author of The Patterson Girls and a number of other romance and women's fiction books including The Art of Keeping Secrets, The Greatest Gift and Lost Without You. She is currently Australia's leading writer of contemporary relationship stories around women's issues, a genre she has coined ‘life-lit'. Rachael lives in the Perth hills with her hyperactive husband, three mostly gorgeous heroes-in-training and a very badly behaved dog. She rarely sleeps and never irons.

                          Books by Rachael Johns

                          COMMENTS

                          Leave a Reply

                          Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *