A Super Group of Friends: Read Our Review of We Run Tomorrow by Nat Amoore, illustrated by Mike Barry

A Super Group of Friends: Read Our Review of We Run Tomorrow by Nat Amoore, illustrated by Mike Barry

Tonight, we’re gonna kidnap our best friend. And tomorrow? We run.

Sticks, Maki, Jed and Tommy live on the same street. But the adults around them are making decisions that could tear the four friends apart.

When they discover their favourite comic book series is being made into a blockbuster movie, they know what they have to do. Get to the audition. Get the parts. Stay together.

Bestselling author Nat Amoore joins forces with acclaimed graphic novelist Mike Barry to bring you a story of four kids – and four superheroes – who are taking their future into their own hands. Amoore has delivered some fantastic stories like The Power of Positive Pranking and The Right Way to Rock. While Barry has written and illustrated his own middle-grade graphic novel series, Action Tank, which was shortlisted for multiple literary awards. We Run Tomorrow is part novel, part comic, combining the two mediums for a superhero-filled adventure.

We Run Tomorrow is quite unique in how it lays out its story. Amoore’s plot and Barry’s illustrations work perfectly together. Barry’s artistic style complements the comic medium exceptionally well, showcasing his experience as a graphic novel artist.

Determination and resilience are big themes in this novel as our four protagonists try their best to land a role in the upcoming movie. Friendships are tested and strengthened as they make their way to the Gold Coast for the auditions. It seems like an impossible task, but with each other’s support, anything is possible.

With Barry’s comic illustrations and Amoore’s action-packed plot, We Run Tomorrow is an engaging blend of the two formats, all tied together with a heart-warming story of friendship and determination. This is the perfect gift for kids interested in graphic novels, comics and superheroes. I recommend it for ages 9+.

Buy a copy of We Run Tomorrow here.

Reviews

Q&A with Nat Amoore, Bestselling Author of We Run Tomorrow

Review | Author Related

18 May 2022

Q&A with Nat Amoore, Bestselling Author of We Run Tomorrow

Teacher's Notes: We Run Tomorrow by Nat Amoore and Illustrated by Mike Barry

Review | Author Related

18 May 2022

Teacher's Notes: We Run Tomorrow by Nat Amoore and Illustrated by Mike Barry

Be Your Own Superhero: Read an Extract from We Run Tomorrow by Nat Amoore and Mike Barry

Review | Extract

5 May 2022

Be Your Own Superhero: Read an Extract from We Run Tomorrow by Nat Amoore and Mike Barry

Related Articles

Podcast: Nat Amoore on The Power of Storytelling and How to Make Reading Fun for Kids

Podcast

26 August 2020

Podcast: Nat Amoore on The Power of Storytelling and How to Make Reading Fun for Kids

    Dream Come True: Extract from Secrets of a Schoolyard Millionaire

    Kids & Ya

    28 June 2019

    Dream Come True: Extract from Secrets of a Schoolyard Millionaire

    Million Dollar Dreamer: Review of Secrets of a Schoolyard Millionaire by Nat Amoore

    Kids & Ya

    25 June 2019

    Million Dollar Dreamer: Review of Secrets of a Schoolyard Millionaire by Nat Amoore

    Publisher details

    We Run Tomorrow
    Authors
    Mike Barry, Nat Amoore
    Publisher
    Puffin Books
    Genre
    Children’s Fiction
    Released
    03 May, 2022
    ISBN
    9781760897697

    Synopsis

    You can run from your past, but the future is tomorrow . . .

    Tonight, we’re gonna kidnap our best friend. And tomorrow? We run.

    Sticks, Maki, Jed and Tommy live on the same street. But the adults around them are making decisions that could tear the four friends apart.

    When they discover their favourite comic book series is being made into a blockbuster movie, they know what they have to do. Get to the audition. Get the parts. Stay together.

    Bestselling author Nat Amoore joins forces with acclaimed graphic novelist Mike Barry to bring you a story of four kids – and four superheroes – who are taking their future into their own hands.

    Mike Barry
    About the author

    Mike Barry

    Mike Barry is a writer and illustrator from Sydney's Northern Beaches. He created, crowd-funded and self-published the first two books in his middle-grade graphic novel series, Action Tank, which have been shortlisted for multiple literary awards including the NSW Premier's Literary Awards, Russell Prize for Humour Writing for Young People, Aurealis Awards and Comic Arts Awards of Australia. The first Action Tank book was also included in the NSW Premier's Reading Challenge, and earned Mike a mentorship in the CBCA Maurice Saxby Creative Development Program. In 2022 Mike joined forces with bestselling author Nat Amoore to illustrate We Run Tomorrow, a story about four kids - and four superheroes - who are taking their future into their own hands.

    Books by Mike Barry

    Nat Amoore
    About the author

    Nat Amoore

    Nat Amoore is a writer who is passionate about encouraging kids to read, write and explore their imagination without boundaries. With a background in writing for screen, she wrote and directed international award-winning short film Elemenopee and has a feature film screenplay and a kids' TV series in development.Nat was a recipient of the CBCA Maurice Saxby Creative Development Program for 2018. In February 2018, Nat (along with fellow hosts Kate and Liz) launched kidlit podcast One More Page (onemorepagepodcast.com), which was a finalist in the 'Best Newcomer' category for the 2018 Australian Podcast Awards. The podcast has featured in publications such as Books+Publishing, Buzz Words and the SCBWI AUS&NZ newsletters.

    Books by Nat Amoore

    COMMENTS

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *