Better Reading Preview: Sargasso by Kathy George

Better Reading Preview: Sargasso by Kathy George

An empty house, a lonely shore, an enigmatic, brooding man-child waiting for her return… a trip to the dark lands of Australian Gothic, for readers of Kate Morton and Hannah Richell.

Last night I dreamt I went to Sargasso again…

As a child, Hannah lived at Sargasso, the isolated beachside home designed by her father, a brilliant architect. A lonely, introverted child, she wanted no company but that of Flint, the enigmatic boy who no one else ever saw… and who promised he would always look after her.

Hannah’s idyllic childhood at Sargasso ended in tragedy, but now as an adult she is back to renovate the house, which she has inherited from her grandmother. Her boyfriend Tristan visits regularly but then, amid a series of uncanny incidents, Flint reappears… and as his possessiveness grows, Hannah’s hold on the world begins to lapse. What is real and what is imaginary, or from beyond the grave?

A mesmerising Australian novel that echoes the great Gothic stories of love and hate: Wuthering Heights, Jane Eyre, and especially Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca.

We have 50 copies of this book to give away. For your chance to Preview this book, click on the link and fill in the registration form.

This Preview sign-up period has now closed. Keep an eye out for future Previews being announced!

Better Reading Preview: An exclusive chance to read and review free books before anyone else

We invite our trusted community to engage directly with the nation-wide conversation about books by registering for Preview, our new crowd-sourced book review platform. Due to the insight and perceptiveness of our readers, we are launching a platform that allows your voice to be heard.

How do I express interest in reviewing a book?

Like us on Facebook or subscribe to our newsletter (if you haven’t already!) to hear about the next Preview campaign.

When a campaign is launched, readers will have 24 hours in which to send through their expression of interest, by filling in the registration form above. After 24 hours, Preview readers will be randomly selected from the pool of those who expressed interest in receiving and reviewing a free advance copy of the specified book. Usually these advance copies are printed three to four months before they hit bookshops, making Preview a great way to find out about upcoming titles before anyone else.

But be warned – there are only limited copies of each Preview book available for review.

You will only be contacted if you were successful in being selected.

When you register you are expressing interest for the following:

A free advance copy of the specified book sent to your postal address, in exchange for a brief review of the book that may be used for promotional purposes by Better Reading and the relevant publisher.

Important details:

– We need all your details, including your email address and postal address, for your expression of interest to be successful.

– Preview is currently only open to Australia-based readers.

– A successful registration to review a Preview book is for that single title, only. With every new Preview book announced, you will need to express interest again.

– When announced, Preview expressions of interest are open for 24 hours.

– Better Reading and the relevant publisher will never share the details provided by Preview reviewers for any purposes beyond the relevant Preview campaign.

– Preview demand is very high, and there are only limited spots available for each title. To keep things fair, if you fail to provide a review for a Preview title on two occasions, you will unfortunately not be selected for future Preview titles.

What happens after I express interest?

If you have been successful, you will receive a confirmation email shortly afterwards from Better Reading. This will contain a review deadline and a link through which to submit your review. It will also contain other details on the reviewing process.

About your Preview review:

– Preview reviews may feature on the Better Reading website and the Better Reading Facebook page. The relevant publisher may also use the reviews for promotion. When reviews are used for promotional purposes, each reviewer will only be identified by their first name and Australian state. Reviews may be edited slightly, just for the purposes of brevity and clarity.

– Social media posts about Preview may be shared by Better Reading on its social media channels and/ or website.

– All Preview reviews must be no longer than 200 words and must be received by the deadline specified in your confirmation email. You will generally have four weeks to submit your review, from the time you receive your book.

– We want you to have fun with Preview – post photos of your book on Instagram or Facebook when you receive it, and when you’ve read it, share your thoughts using the hashtag #BRPreview. Be sure to tag Better Reading in your posts – we love to hear from our readers! And if you have a Goodreads account, we encourage you to share your reviews there too.

Publisher details

Sargasso
Author
Kathy George
Publisher
HQ Fiction
Genre
Fiction
Released
03 February, 2021

Synopsis

An empty house, a lonely shore, an enigmatic, brooding man-child waiting for her return ... a trip to the dark lands of Australian Gothic, for readers of Kate Morton and Hannah Richell. Last night I dreamt I went to Sargasso again ... As a child, Hannah lived at Sargasso, the isolated beachside home designed by her father, a brilliant architect. A lonely, introverted child, she wanted no company but that of Flint, the enigmatic boy who no one else ever saw ... and who promised he would always look after her. Hannah's idyllic childhood at Sargasso ended in tragedy, but now as an adult she is back to renovate the house, which she has inherited from her grandmother. Her boyfriend Tristan visits regularly but then, amid a series of uncanny incidents, Flint reappears ... and as his possessiveness grows, Hannah's hold on the world begins to lapse. What is real and what is imaginary, or from beyond the grave? A mesmerising Australian novel that echoes the great gothic stories of love and hate: Wuthering HeightsJane Eyre, and especially Daphne du Maurier's Rebecca.
Kathy George
About the author

Kathy George

Kathy George was born in South Africa, and has since lived in Namibia, New Zealand, and Australia. A hopeless romantic, she fell in love with Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier as a teenager, and includes Wuthering Heights and Great Expectations among her favourite books. She has worked as a legal assistant, but her true enthusiasm has always been for writing, and she holds an Masters of Fine Arts in Australian Gothic literature from Queensland University of Technology. Kathy lives in Brisbane and Sargasso is her first novel.

Books by Kathy George

COMMENTS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  1. Sue Anderson says:

    This book has hot me in and sounds like a great read.
    I pressed the link to go into the entry for the book but it was not attached.
    Have I missed out on a chance to enter????

  2. Rachel Trubuil says:

    Oooh this sounds great! Will have to add to my list of books I want to read!

  3. Linda Balogh says:

    Wow! This sounds like a really interesting read from a debut author — I do love those classics like Wuthering Heights & Great Expectations. What really sold me though was the reference to Kate Morton, I absolutely adore her books & have them all.
    I think I’m a little obsessed with books about rambling old houses with dark histories!
    Fingers crossed 🤞🏻 for this one… 📚❤️

  4. Charlene says:

    Looks great! Apologies if I submitted a request twice. The first time did not appear to submit successfully.

  5. Karina Bryer says:

    Oooh, sounds like a great read. Right up my alley – history and mystery!

  6. Aisha Stacey says:

    Yes please.