Read our Q&A with Bestselling Author Kayte Nunn

Read our Q&A with Bestselling Author Kayte Nunn

What inspired the idea behind the book?

The ideas for the book came from several places: to begin with, I was interested in writing about a May-December female friendship between a young woman and a much older one. When I was in my 20s, I worked as a temp on and off and for a few months, I worked in the Asian art department of a well-known auction house. This was where I first came across netsuke – the exquisitely carved Japanese kimono toggles, and was immediately captivated by them. I started to research when to set the story, for a time thinking of setting it in Japan in the 17th or 18th century, but then one day I was looking at Japan’s involvement in the Second World War and came across the Women’s Auxiliary Service Burma. They were women from England and Australia who operated in India and Burma, supplying the front line troops. They served the closest to the front line of any women’s service in the Second World War and worked under very difficult conditions and demonstrated immense bravery. Very little is known about them, and they are almost unheard of. I knew then that I had found the setting for my story.

Does the creative process get easier with each book?

Not really. At the start of every book, I wonder how I did it last time, and whether I can do it again. I feel like I have forgotten how to pace a story, how to weave a narrative. I do put myself under pressure to try and write a better book each time. I suppose the actual writing is a bit like exercising – it’s painful to begin with but, if you are consistent, which for me means writing regularly, then it gets a little easier.

What are some of your favourite authors? Favourite books?

So many! I love Sarah Winman’s novels, anything by Maggie O’Farrell, Favel Parrett, Jessie Cole or Maria Semple. I also love, love, loved Sorrow and Bliss by Meg Mason.

I adored the snarkiness of Standard Deviation by Katherine Heiny and can’t wait for her new one. I also love crime/psychological suspense and recently thoroughly enjoyed Girl A by Abigail Dean, and Shiver by Allie Reynolds.

A well-written page-turner or a sweeping historical novel with plenty of action are two of the sweet spots for reading pleasure.

If you could give one piece of advice to aspiring writers, what would it be?

Ignore the little voice that whispers in your ear that what you’re doing isn’t very good, why are you wasting your time and who are you to think you can write a book – so many people give up at that point, and you have to be pretty bloody minded and plough on regardless!

What was the most challenging part of writing this book?

The research – there was only a small amount of information available, although I was able to speak to Elsa Hatfield, who served as a Wasbie, and also to listen to the Imperial War Museum’s oral histories, which were invaluable. I did a considerable amount of research on the Burma Railway and the POW camps, which was intensely harrowing reading.

I also wrote 50,000 words of the first draft of this book in a month, during NaNoWriMo, which was a grind, particularly as many of those days I had a migraine and wrote with an ice-pack on my head, sometimes even lying down, to ease the pain. Interestingly, during that time I found I had no creative bandwidth left for anything else at all – I couldn’t even plan meals for the family, there was no inspiration left!

Reviews

Desire, Revenge and Courage: Try a Sample Chapter of The Last Reunion by Kayte Nunn

Review | Extract

7 April 2021

Desire, Revenge and Courage: Try a Sample Chapter of The Last Reunion by Kayte Nunn

    Friendship, Resilience and Courage: Read our Review of The Last Reunion by Kayte Nunn

    Review | Our Review

    6 April 2021

    Friendship, Resilience and Courage: Read our Review of The Last Reunion by Kayte Nunn

      Related Articles

      My Great-Grandmother was Admitted to a Mental Asylum: Q&A with The Forgotten Letters of Esther Durrant Author, Kayte Nunn

      News

      17 June 2019

      My Great-Grandmother was Admitted to a Mental Asylum: Q&A with The Forgotten Letters of Esther Durrant Author, Kayte Nunn

        The Perfect Winter Read: Read an Extract From The Forgotten Letters of Esther Durrant by Kayte Nunn

        News

        6 June 2019

        The Perfect Winter Read: Read an Extract From The Forgotten Letters of Esther Durrant by Kayte Nunn

          Atmospheric, Deeply Moving: Review of The Forgotten Letters of Esther Durrant by Kayte Nunn

          News

          4 June 2019

          Atmospheric, Deeply Moving: Review of The Forgotten Letters of Esther Durrant by Kayte Nunn

            Podcast: Botanical Sleuths with Kayte Nunn

            Podcast

            6 August 2018

            Podcast: Botanical Sleuths with Kayte Nunn

              The Germ of the Seed: Kayte Nunn on researching for her novel The Botanist's Daughter

              News

              3 August 2018

              The Germ of the Seed: Kayte Nunn on researching for her novel The Botanist's Daughter

                Stories of Love, War, and Magic: Kayte Nunn's Top 10 Favourite Historical Novels

                News

                3 August 2018

                Stories of Love, War, and Magic: Kayte Nunn's Top 10 Favourite Historical Novels

                  Two Women, One Quest: read a sample chapter from The Botanist's Daughter by Kayte Nunn

                  News

                  31 July 2018

                  Two Women, One Quest: read a sample chapter from The Botanist's Daughter by Kayte Nunn

                    Discovery, Desire, Deception: Review of The Botanist's Daughter by Kayte Nunn

                    News

                    30 July 2018

                    Discovery, Desire, Deception: Review of The Botanist's Daughter by Kayte Nunn

                      Book of the Week: Rose's Vintage by Kayte Nunn

                      News

                      31 May 2016

                      Book of the Week: Rose's Vintage by Kayte Nunn

                        Rose's Vintage - Read the first chapter!

                        News

                        31 May 2016

                        Rose's Vintage - Read the first chapter!

                          Publisher details

                          The Last Reunion
                          Author
                          Kayte Nunn
                          Publisher
                          Hachette
                          Genre
                          Fiction
                          Released
                          31 March, 2021

                          Synopsis

                          Five women come together at a New Year's Eve party after decades apart, in this thrilling story of desire, revenge and courage, based on a brave group of Australian and British WWII servicewomen. Burma, 1945. Bea, Plum, Bubbles, Joy and Lucy: in search of adventure, attached to the Fourteenth Army, fighting a forgotten war in the jungle. Assigned to run a mobile canteen, navigating treacherous roads and dodging hostile gunfire, they become embroiled in life-threatening battles of their own. Oxford, 1976. A woman slips into a museum and steals several rare Japanese netsuke, including the famed fox-girl. Despite the offer of a considerable reward, these tiny, exquisitely detailed carvings are never seen again. London and Galway, 1999. On the eve of the new millennium, Olivia, assistant to an art dealer, meets Beatrix, an elderly widow who wishes to sell her late husband's collection of Japanese art. Olivia travels with Beatrix to a New Year's Eve party, deep in the Irish countryside, where friendships will be tested as secrets kept for more than fifty years are spilled. Inspired by the heroic women who served in the 'forgotten war' in Burma, The Last Reunion is a heartbreaking love story and mystery by the international bestselling author of The Botanist's Daughter and The Silk House.
                          Kayte Nunn
                          About the author

                          Kayte Nunn

                          Kayte Nunn has worked for more than 15 years as a writer and editor in both book and magazine publishing. She blogs about family travel adventures at travelmumma.com and is happiest when planning her next trip.

                          Books by Kayte Nunn

                          COMMENTS

                          Leave a Reply

                          Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *