Skip to content

Big Sky

by Kate Atkinson

Jackson Brodie has relocated to a quiet seaside village, in the occasional company of his recalcitrant teenage son and an ageing Labrador, both at the discretion of his ex-partner Julia. It’s picturesque, but there’s something darker lurking behind the scenes.

Jackson’s current job, gathering proof of an unfaithful husband for his suspicious wife, is fairly standard-issue, but a chance encounter with a desperate man on a crumbling cliff leads him into a sinister network—and back across the path of his old friend Reggie. Old secrets and new lies intersect in this breathtaking novel by one of the most dazzling and surprising writers at work today.

“Big Sky is a fantastic gift to readers so soon after the wonderful Transcription. Jackson Brodie is back in his fifth novel (these can happily be read as stand-alones) with his doggedly unenthusiastic teenage son at his side in a picturesque seaside village. A gripping mystery unfolds, but what glued me to the page was Atkinson’s brilliant portrayal of the ageing hero and the fallacies of the male ego she weaves into her story. For me, anything Atkinson puts her pen to is mandatory reading.” – Ben Hunter, Booktopian Review


18 June, 2019

About Kate Atkinson

Kate Atkinson won the Whitbread (now Costa) Book of the Year prize with her first novel, Behind The Scenes At The Museum. Her four bestselling novels featuring former detective Jackson Brodie became the BBC television series Case Histories, starring Jason Isaacs. Her latest novel Life After Life was the winner of the Costa Novel Award and the South Bank Sky Arts Literature Prize, and was shortlisted for the Women's Prize. She was appointed MBE in the 2011 Queen's Birthday Honours List, and was voted Waterstones UK Author of the Year at the 2013 Specsavers National Book Awards.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *