Bridge of Clay

Publisher details

Markus Zusak
Pan Macmillan
23 April, 2019

Bridge of Clay


The Dunbar boys bring each other up in a house run by their own rules. A family of ramshackle tragedy - their mother is dead, their father has fled - they love and fight, and learn to reckon with the adult world. It is Clay, the quiet one, who will build a bridge; for his family, for his past, for his sins. He builds a bridge to transcend humanness. To survive. A miracle and nothing less. Winner of the Indie Book Award for Fiction 2019. Shortlisted for the ABIA Book of the Year Award 2019. Longlisted for the Dublin Literary Award 2020.
Markus Zusak
About the author

Markus Zusak

Markus Zusak is the international bestselling author of six novels, including The Book Thief and most recently, Bridge of Clay. His work is translated into more than forty languages, and has spent more than a decade on the New York Times bestseller list, establishing Zusak as one of the most successful authors to come out of Australia. All of Zusak's books - including earlier titles, The UnderdogFighting Ruben WolfeWhen Dogs Cry (also titled Getting the Girl), The Messenger (or I am the Messenger) - have been awarded numerous honours around the world, ranging from literary prizes to readers choice awards to prizes voted on by booksellers. In 2013, The Book Thief was made into a major motion picture, and in 2018 was voted one of America's all-time favourite books, achieving 14th position on the PBS Great American Read. Also in 2018, Bridge of Clay was selected as a best book of the year in publications ranging from Entertainment Weekly to the Wall Street Journal. Markus Zusak grew up in Sydney, Australia, and still lives there with his wife and two children.

Books by Markus Zusak

Related articles

The Book Thief author Markus Zusak announces new book


14 March 2018

The Book Thief author Markus Zusak announces new book


    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *