Call Me Evie

Synopsis

In this compulsive, twist-filled and haunting psychological suspense debut perfect for fans of Sharp Objects and Room, a seventeen-year-old girl struggles to remember the role she played on the night her life changed forever...****Don't trust him. It wasn't me. It couldn't have been me.Meet Evie, a young woman who has fled with her uncle to the isolated New Zealand beach town of Maketu. Jim says he's hiding her to protect her, that she did something terrible back home in Melbourne. Something Evie can't remember.But Evie isn't her real name. And Jim isn't really her uncle.In a house that creaks against the wind, Evie pieces together the events that led her here. And as her memories return, she starts to wonder if Jim is really her saviour . . . or her captor.A riveting debut novel that fearlessly plumbs the darkest recesses of the mind, Call Me Evie explores the fragility of memory and the potential in all of us to hide the truth even from ourselves.
J. P. Pomare
About the author

J. P. Pomare

J.P. Pomare is an award-winning writer who has had work published in journals including Meanjin, Kill Your DarlingsTakahe and Mascara Literary Review. He has hosted the On Writing podcast since 2015 featuring bestselling authors from around the globe. He was born in New Zealand and resides in Melbourne with his wife. Call Me Evie is his first novel.

Books by J. P. Pomare

Related articles

On memory, trust, and the importance of place: Q&A with J.P. Pomare, author of Call Me Evie

News

23 January 2019

On memory, trust, and the importance of place: Q&A with J.P. Pomare, author of Call Me Evie

    Nightmarish and Mind-Bending: J. P. Pomare, author of Call Me Evie, on his top five thrillers

    News

    21 January 2019

    Nightmarish and Mind-Bending: J. P. Pomare, author of Call Me Evie, on his top five thrillers

      Multi-Layered and Refreshingly Different: Read an extract from Call Me Evie by J. P. Pomare

      News

      16 January 2019

      Multi-Layered and Refreshingly Different: Read an extract from Call Me Evie by J. P. Pomare

        Stellar Debut Thriller: Review of Call Me Evie by J. P. Pomare

        News

        15 January 2019

        Stellar Debut Thriller: Review of Call Me Evie by J. P. Pomare

          COMMENTS

          Leave a Reply

          Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *