Call Me Evie

Synopsis

In this compulsive, twist-filled and haunting psychological suspense debut perfect for fans of Sharp Objects and Room, a seventeen-year-old girl struggles to remember the role she played on the night her life changed forever...****Don't trust him. It wasn't me. It couldn't have been me.Meet Evie, a young woman who has fled with her uncle to the isolated New Zealand beach town of Maketu. Jim says he's hiding her to protect her, that she did something terrible back home in Melbourne. Something Evie can't remember.But Evie isn't her real name. And Jim isn't really her uncle.In a house that creaks against the wind, Evie pieces together the events that led her here. And as her memories return, she starts to wonder if Jim is really her saviour . . . or her captor.A riveting debut novel that fearlessly plumbs the darkest recesses of the mind, Call Me Evie explores the fragility of memory and the potential in all of us to hide the truth even from ourselves.
J. P. Pomare
About the author

J. P. Pomare

J.P. Pomare is an award-winning writer who has had work published in journals including Meanjin, Kill Your DarlingsTakahe and Mascara Literary Review. He has hosted the On Writing podcast since 2015 featuring bestselling authors from around the globe. He was born in New Zealand and resides in Melbourne with his wife. Call Me Evie is his first novel.

Books by J. P. Pomare

Related articles

Are Your Favourites on Here? The Longlist for the 2020 Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIAs) has Been Announced

News | Awards

2 March 2020

Are Your Favourites on Here? The Longlist for the 2020 Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIAs) has Been Announced

    COMMENTS

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *