Are Your Favourites on Here? The Longlist for the 2020 Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIAs) has Been Announced

Are Your Favourites on Here? The Longlist for the 2020 Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIAs) has Been Announced

The Australian Publishers Association has announced the longlist for the 2020 Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIAs) and we’re thrilled to see so many of our favourite titles of 2019 made the list.

More than 250 publishers, booksellers, agents, media and industry representatives have voted for books published in 2019 across 12 categories. A shortlist will be released on Thursday 9 April, with winners announced at the publishing industry’s night of nights on 29 April.

Better Reading is excited to be sponsoring the Book of the Year Award… we can’t wait to see which titles will be on that. But in the meantime, we’re thrilled with the titles in all the categories. So many of our favourites have made the cut.

General Fiction Book of the Year award.

  • Bruny, Heather Rose (Allen & Unwin, Allen & Unwin)
  • Call Me Evie, J.P. Pomare (Hachette Australia, Hachette Australia)
  • Cilka’s Journey, Heather Morris (Echo Publishing, Echo Publishing)
  • Good Girl, Bad Girl, Michael Robotham (Hachette Australia, Hachette Australia)
  • Peace, Garry Disher (Text Publishing, Text Publishing)
  • Silver, Chris Hammer (Allen & Unwin, Allen & Unwin)
  • The Scholar, Dervla McTiernan (HarperCollins Publishers, HarperCollins Publishers)
  • The Wife and the Widow, Christian White (Affirm Press, Affirm Press)

Across the categories for children’s books, the longlisted titles for Book of the Year for Younger Children (ages 7-12) are:

  • Explore Your World: Weird, Wild, Amazing!, Tim Flannery (Hardie Grant Egmont, Hardie Grant Egmont)
  • Funny Bones, Edited by Kate Temple, Jol Temple and Oliver Phommavanh (Allen & Unwin, Allen & Unwin)
  • How to Make a Movie in 12 Days, Fiona Hardy (Affirm Press, Affirm Press)
  • Real Pigeons Nest Hard, Written by Andrew McDonald , Illustrated by Ben Wood (Hardie Grant Egmont, Hardie Grant Egmont)
  • The 117-Storey Treehouse, Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton (Pan Macmillan Australia, Pan Australia)
  • The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Ugly Animals, Sami Bayly (Hachette Australia, Lothian Children’s Books)
  • Under the Stars, Lisa Harvey-Smith, Mel Matthews (illustrator) (Melbourne University Publishing, Melbourne University Press)
  • Young Dark Emu, Bruce Pascoe (Magabala Books, Magabala Books)

The ABIA longlist is a fantastic reading  full of titles you’ve already read, and those you need to add to your TBR pile.

For the complete longlist, visit the official ABIAs website.

Reviews

Great Aussie Crime: Read an Extract From Peace by Garry Disher

Review | Extract

5 December 2019

Great Aussie Crime: Read an Extract From Peace by Garry Disher

    Rural Noir at its Finest: Read a Review of Peace by Garry Disher

    Review | Our Review

    3 December 2019

    Rural Noir at its Finest: Read a Review of Peace by Garry Disher

      Tense, Atmospheric, Astute: Read an extract from The Scholar by Dervla McTiernan

      Review | Extract

      22 February 2019

      Tense, Atmospheric, Astute: Read an extract from The Scholar by Dervla McTiernan

        McTiernan’s New Thriller Impossible To Put Down: Review of The Scholar by Dervla McTiernan

        Review | Our Review

        19 February 2019

        McTiernan’s New Thriller Impossible To Put Down: Review of The Scholar by Dervla McTiernan

          Related Articles

          Dervla McTiernan’s Writing Studio - Fridays, 12pm, June 5 - 26

          News | Events & Festivals

          28 May 2020

          Dervla McTiernan’s Writing Studio - Fridays, 12pm, June 5 - 26

            Podcast: Christian White on Following Up the Success of his Debut, The Nowhere Child

            Podcast

            3 February 2020

            Podcast: Christian White on Following Up the Success of his Debut, The Nowhere Child

              I'm Going Home For Christmas: Garry Disher, Author of Peace, Writes About Home

              News | Author Related

              17 December 2019

              I'm Going Home For Christmas: Garry Disher, Author of Peace, Writes About Home

                I Don't Wait For Inspiration: Q&A with Garry Disher, Author of Peace

                News | Author Related

                5 December 2019

                I Don't Wait For Inspiration: Q&A with Garry Disher, Author of Peace

                  Brilliant and Beguiling: Read an Extract from Christian White's, The Wife and the Widow

                  News

                  1 October 2019

                  Brilliant and Beguiling: Read an Extract from Christian White's, The Wife and the Widow

                    I Suddenly Felt Free to Write Big and Bold: Read a Q&A with The Wife and the Widow Author, Christian White

                    News

                    24 September 2019

                    I Suddenly Felt Free to Write Big and Bold: Read a Q&A with The Wife and the Widow Author, Christian White

                      Writing the Follow-Up to a Bestseller: Q&A with Dervla McTiernan on her latest novel, The Scholar

                      News | Author Related

                      26 February 2019

                      Writing the Follow-Up to a Bestseller: Q&A with Dervla McTiernan on her latest novel, The Scholar

                        Publisher details

                        Peace
                        Author
                        Garry Disher
                        Publisher
                        Text Publishing
                        Genre
                        Crime Fiction
                        Released
                        05 November, 2019

                        Synopsis

                        Constable Paul Hirschhausen runs a one-cop station in the dry farming country south of the Flinders Ranges. He’s still new in town but the community work—welfare checks and working bees—is starting to pay off. Now Christmas is here and, apart from a grass fire, two boys stealing a ute and Brenda Flann entering the front bar of the pub without exiting her car, Hirsch’s life has been peaceful.Until he’s called to a strange, vicious incident in Kitchener Street. And Sydney police ask him to look in on a family living outside town on a forgotten back road.Suddenly, it doesn’t look like a season of goodwill at all.

                        Synopsis

                        Set against the backdrop of an eerie island town in the dead of winter, The Wife and the Widow is a mystery/thriller told from two perspectives: Kate, a widow whose grief is compounded by what she learns about her dead husband’s secret life; and Abby, an island local whose world is turned upside down when she’s forced to confront the evidence that her husband is a murderer. But nothing on this island is quite as it seems, and only when these women come together can they discover the whole story about the men in their lives.Brilliant and beguiling, The Wife and the Widow takes you to a cliff edge and asks the question: how well do we really know the people we love?

                        Publisher details

                        Good Girl, Bad Girl
                        Author
                        Michael Robotham
                        Publisher
                        Hachette
                        Genre
                        Thriller
                        Released
                        23 July, 2019

                        Synopsis

                        One needs saving. The other needs justice.The girl with no past. Six years ago, Evie Cormac was discovered, filthy and half-starved, hiding in a secret room in the aftermath of a shocking crime. Now approaching adulthood, Evie is damaged, self-destructive and has never revealed her true identity.The boy who survived.  Forensic psychologist Cyrus Haven, a man haunted by his own past, is investigating the death of champion figure-skater Jodie Sheehan. When Cyrus is called upon to assess Evie, she threatens to disrupt the case and destroy his ordered life. Because Evie has a unique and dangerous gift - she knows when someone is lying. And nobody is telling the truth.GOOD GIRL, BAD GIRL is an unnerving psychological thriller from one of the greatest crime writers of today, Michael Robotham, bestselling author of THE OTHER WIFE and THE SECRETS SHE KEEPS.

                        Synopsis

                        In this compulsive, twist-filled and haunting psychological suspense debut perfect for fans of Sharp Objects and Room, a seventeen-year-old girl struggles to remember the role she played on the night her life changed forever...****Don't trust him. It wasn't me. It couldn't have been me.Meet Evie, a young woman who has fled with her uncle to the isolated New Zealand beach town of Maketu. Jim says he's hiding her to protect her, that she did something terrible back home in Melbourne. Something Evie can't remember.But Evie isn't her real name. And Jim isn't really her uncle.In a house that creaks against the wind, Evie pieces together the events that led her here. And as her memories return, she starts to wonder if Jim is really her saviour . . . or her captor.A riveting debut novel that fearlessly plumbs the darkest recesses of the mind, Call Me Evie explores the fragility of memory and the potential in all of us to hide the truth even from ourselves.

                        Synopsis

                        From the author of the critically acclaimed bestseller The Ruin comes a compulsive new crime thriller featuring DS Cormac Reilly.Being brilliant has never been this dangerous ...When Dr Emma Sweeney stumbles across the victim of a hit and run outside Galway University late one evening, she calls her partner, Detective Cormac Reilly, bringing him first to the scene of a murder that would otherwise never have been assigned to him.A security card in the dead woman's pocket identifies her as Carline Darcy, a gifted student and heir apparent to Irish pharmaceutical giant Darcy Therapeutics. The multi-billion-dollar company, founded by her grandfather, has a finger in every pie, from sponsoring university research facilities to funding political parties to philanthropy - it has funded Emma's own ground-breaking research. The enquiry into Carline's death promises to be high profile and high pressure.As Cormac investigates, evidence mounts that the death is linked to a Darcy laboratory and, increasingly, to Emma herself. Cormac is sure she couldn't be involved, but as his running of the case comes under scrutiny from the department and his colleagues, he is forced to question his own objectivity. Could his loyalty to Emma have led him to overlook evidence? Has it made him a liability?

                        COMMENTS

                        Leave a Reply

                        Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *