The Cartographer's Secret

Publisher details

Author
Tea Cooper
Publisher
HQ Fiction
Genres
Fiction, Historical Fiction
Released
29 September, 2021
ISBN
9781867236382

The Cartographer’s Secret

Synopsis

A young woman's quest to heal a family rift entangles her in one of Australia's greatest historical puzzles when an intricately illustrated map offers a clue to the fate of a long-lost girl. A mesmerising historical mystery set in the Hunter Valley from bestselling author Tea Cooper for readers of Natasha Lester and Kate Morton.

1880 The Hunter Valley. Evie Ludgrove loves to map the landscape around her home - hardly surprising since she grew up in the shadow of her father's obsession with the great Australian explorer Dr Ludwig Leichhardt. So when an advertisement appears in The Bulletin magazine offering a one thousand pound reward for proof of where Leichhardt met his fate, Evie is determined to figure it out - after all, there are clues in her father's papers and in the archives of The Royal Geographical Society. But when Evie sets out to prove her theory she vanishes without a trace, leaving behind a mystery that taints everyone's lives for thirty years.

1911. When Letitia Rawlings arrives at the family estate in her Model T Ford, her purpose is to inform her great aunt Olivia of a bereavement. But Letitia is also escaping her own problems - her brother's sudden death, her mother's scheming and her own dissatisfaction with the life planned out for her. So when Letitia discovers a beautifully illustrated map that might hold a clue to the fate of her missing aunt, Evie Ludgrove, her curiosity is aroused and she sets out to discover the truth of Evie's disappearance.

But all is not as it seems at Yellow Rock estate and as events unfold, Letitia begins to realise that solving the mystery of her family's past could offer as much peril as redemption.

Reviews

A Richly Woven Tale: Read an Extract From Tea Cooper's The Cartographer's Secret

Review | Extract

17 November 2020

A Richly Woven Tale: Read an Extract From Tea Cooper's The Cartographer's Secret

    5 Quick Questions with The Cartographer’s Secret Author, Tea Cooper

    Review | Author Related

    16 November 2020

    5 Quick Questions with The Cartographer’s Secret Author, Tea Cooper

      Tea Cooper
      About the author

      Tea Cooper

      Tea Cooper is an established Australian author of historical fiction. In a past life she was a teacher, a journalist, and a farmer. These days she haunts museums and indulges her passion for storytelling. She is the winner of two Daphne du Maurier Awards and the bestselling author of several novels, including The Horse Thief, The Cedar Cutter, The Currency Lass, and The Naturalist’s Daughter.

      Books by Tea Cooper

      Related articles

      Vote Now to Win Better Reading's 2024 Top 50 Kids' Books!

      News | Book Life

      24 June 2024

      Vote Now to Win Better Reading's 2024 Top 50 Kids' Books!

      Q&A: Jenny Lecoat, Author of Beyond Summerland

      News | Author Related

      16 July 2024

      Q&A: Jenny Lecoat, Author of Beyond Summerland

        A Year of Fresh Voices: 5 Compelling Debut Novels

        News | Featured

        16 July 2024

        A Year of Fresh Voices: 5 Compelling Debut Novels

        PODCAST: Jake Adelstein on Working in Japan and His Career Trajectory as a Journalist

        Podcast

        15 July 2024

        PODCAST: Jake Adelstein on Working in Japan and His Career Trajectory as a Journalist

          Q&A: Anna Johnston, Author of The Borrowed Life by Frederick Fife

          News | Author Related

          10 July 2024

          Q&A: Anna Johnston, Author of The Borrowed Life by Frederick Fife

            Celebrate First Nations Languages and Culture: 5 Bright, Fun and Bilingual Kids’ Books

            News | Book Life | Events & Festivals

            10 July 2024

            Celebrate First Nations Languages and Culture: 5 Bright, Fun and Bilingual Kids’ Books

            Glamorous and Gripping: Read an extract from Death in the Air by Ram Murali

            News

            9 July 2024

            Glamorous and Gripping: Read an extract from Death in the Air by Ram Murali

              Podcast: Julia Lawrinson on The Unconventional Relationships and Identity Exploration

              Podcast

              8 July 2024

              Podcast: Julia Lawrinson on The Unconventional Relationships and Identity Exploration

                Q&A: Michael Robotham, Author of Storm Child

                News | Author Related

                2 July 2024

                Q&A: Michael Robotham, Author of Storm Child

                  PODCAST: Francesca de Tores on Unveiling Gender Identity Through Historical Fiction

                  Podcast

                  1 July 2024

                  PODCAST: Francesca de Tores on Unveiling Gender Identity Through Historical Fiction

                    PODCAST: Rachel Treasure on The Transformative Power of Literature in Advocating for Change

                    Podcast

                    27 June 2024

                    PODCAST: Rachel Treasure on The Transformative Power of Literature in Advocating for Change

                      COMMENTS

                      Leave a Reply

                      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *