The Cartographer’s Secret

Reviews

A Richly Woven Tale: Read an Extract From Tea Cooper's The Cartographer's Secret

Review | Extract

17 November 2020

A Richly Woven Tale: Read an Extract From Tea Cooper's The Cartographer's Secret

    5 Quick Questions with The Cartographer’s Secret Author, Tea Cooper

    Review | Author Related

    16 November 2020

    5 Quick Questions with The Cartographer’s Secret Author, Tea Cooper

      Synopsis

      A young woman's quest to heal a family rift entangles her in one of Australia's greatest historical puzzles when an intricately illustrated map offers a clue to the fate of a long-lost girl. A mesmerising historical mystery set in the Hunter Valley from bestselling author Tea Cooper for readers of Natasha Lester and Kate Morton. 1880 The Hunter Valley Evie Ludgrove loves to map the landscape around her home - hardly surprising since she grew up in the shadow of her father's obsession with the great Australian explorer Dr Ludwig Leichhardt. So when an advertisement appears in The Bulletin magazine offering a one thousand pound reward for proof of where Leichhardt met his fate, Evie is determined to figure it out - after all, there are clues in her father's papers and in the archives of The Royal Geographical Society. But when Evie sets out to prove her theory she vanishes without a trace, leaving behind a mystery that taints everyone's lives for 30 years. 1911 When Letitia Rawlings arrives at the family estate in her Model T Ford, her purpose is to inform her Great Aunt Olivia of a bereavement. But Letitia is also escaping her own problems - her brother's sudden death, her mother's scheming and her own dissatisfaction with the life planned out for her. So when Letitia discovers a beautifully illustrated map that might hold a clue to the fate of her missing aunt, Evie Ludgrove, her curiosity is aroused and she sets out to discover the truth of Evie's disappearance. But all is not as it seems at Yellow Rock estate and as events unfold, Letitia begins to realise that solving the mystery of her family's past could offer as much peril as redemption.
      Tea Cooper
      About the author

      Tea Cooper

      Tea Cooper lives in a stone cottage on one hundred acres of bushland, just outside the time-warp village of Wollombi, NSW Australia. When she isn't writing, Tea can be found haunting the local museum or chatting to the locals, who provide her with a never-ending source of inspiration.

      Books by Tea Cooper

      Related articles

      Podcast: Sue Brierley on Why She Chose Adoption and the Challenges She Faced

      Podcast

      22 January 2021

      Podcast: Sue Brierley on Why She Chose Adoption and the Challenges She Faced

        Live Book Event: Pip Drysdale, Author of The Paris Affair

        News | Events & Festivals

        21 January 2021

        Live Book Event: Pip Drysdale, Author of The Paris Affair

          From the ocean to outer space: Check out this activity pack from The Secret Explorers series by SJ King

          News | Book Life

          21 January 2021

          From the ocean to outer space: Check out this activity pack from The Secret Explorers series by SJ King

          Breaking News: Shortlist for the 2021 Indie Book Awards Announced

          News | Awards

          20 January 2021

          Breaking News: Shortlist for the 2021 Indie Book Awards Announced

            Podcast: Ceridwen Dovey on how her Harvard Education Shaped her Writing

            Podcast

            19 January 2021

            Podcast: Ceridwen Dovey on how her Harvard Education Shaped her Writing

              Meet Friday Barnes – girl detective extraordinaire!

              News | Book Life

              18 January 2021

              Meet Friday Barnes – girl detective extraordinaire!

              Simple delights: The joy of reading from your

              News | Book Life

              18 January 2021

              Simple delights: The joy of reading from your "Magic Bookcase"

              Sleuth and solve: Activity pack from Friday Barnes 9: No Escape by R.A. Spratt

              News | Book Life

              18 January 2021

              Sleuth and solve: Activity pack from Friday Barnes 9: No Escape by R.A. Spratt

              Podcast: Patrick Carlyon on the Melbourne Gangland Killings and the City's Dark History

              Podcast

              13 January 2021

              Podcast: Patrick Carlyon on the Melbourne Gangland Killings and the City's Dark History

                Kids and screen time: time to stop judging and start parenting?

                News | Book Life

                12 January 2021

                Kids and screen time: time to stop judging and start parenting?

                COMMENTS

                Leave a Reply

                Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *