The Cartographer’s Secret

Reviews

A Richly Woven Tale: Read an Extract From Tea Cooper's The Cartographer's Secret

Review | Extract

17 November 2020

A Richly Woven Tale: Read an Extract From Tea Cooper's The Cartographer's Secret

    5 Quick Questions with The Cartographer’s Secret Author, Tea Cooper

    Review | Author Related

    16 November 2020

    5 Quick Questions with The Cartographer’s Secret Author, Tea Cooper

      Synopsis

      A young woman's quest to heal a family rift entangles her in one of Australia's greatest historical puzzles when an intricately illustrated map offers a clue to the fate of a long-lost girl. A mesmerising historical mystery set in the Hunter Valley from bestselling author Tea Cooper for readers of Natasha Lester and Kate Morton. 1880 The Hunter Valley Evie Ludgrove loves to map the landscape around her home - hardly surprising since she grew up in the shadow of her father's obsession with the great Australian explorer Dr Ludwig Leichhardt. So when an advertisement appears in The Bulletin magazine offering a one thousand pound reward for proof of where Leichhardt met his fate, Evie is determined to figure it out - after all, there are clues in her father's papers and in the archives of The Royal Geographical Society. But when Evie sets out to prove her theory she vanishes without a trace, leaving behind a mystery that taints everyone's lives for 30 years. 1911 When Letitia Rawlings arrives at the family estate in her Model T Ford, her purpose is to inform her Great Aunt Olivia of a bereavement. But Letitia is also escaping her own problems - her brother's sudden death, her mother's scheming and her own dissatisfaction with the life planned out for her. So when Letitia discovers a beautifully illustrated map that might hold a clue to the fate of her missing aunt, Evie Ludgrove, her curiosity is aroused and she sets out to discover the truth of Evie's disappearance. But all is not as it seems at Yellow Rock estate and as events unfold, Letitia begins to realise that solving the mystery of her family's past could offer as much peril as redemption.
      Tea Cooper
      About the author

      Tea Cooper

      Tea Cooper is an established Australian author of contemporary and historical fiction. In a past life she was a teacher, a journalist and a farmer. These days she haunts museums and indulges her passion for storytelling. She is the bestselling author of several novels, including most recently The Naturalist's DaughterThe Woman in the Green DressThe Girl in the Painting and The Cartographer's Secret.

      Books by Tea Cooper

      Related articles

      Q&A with Trace Moroney, Author of the My Emotions Series

      News | Author Related

      23 September 2021

      Q&A with Trace Moroney, Author of the My Emotions Series

      Live Book Event: Chris Hammer, Author of Treasure and Dirt

      News

      23 September 2021

      Live Book Event: Chris Hammer, Author of Treasure and Dirt

        Podcast: Cecelia Ahern on How We Are Shaped by the People in Our Lives

        Podcast

        23 September 2021

        Podcast: Cecelia Ahern on How We Are Shaped by the People in Our Lives

          Win a $100 Book Voucher! (Terms & Conditions)

          News | Book Life

          23 September 2021

          Win a $100 Book Voucher! (Terms & Conditions)

            Live Book Event: Anna Downes, Author of The Shadow House

            News | Events & Festivals

            23 September 2021

            Live Book Event: Anna Downes, Author of The Shadow House

              Explore and Create: Activity of We're Going on a Bear Hunt by Michael Rosen, Illustrated by Helen Oxenbury

              News | Book Life

              22 September 2021

              Explore and Create: Activity of We're Going on a Bear Hunt by Michael Rosen, Illustrated by Helen Oxenbury

              Podcast: Alison MacLeod on the Power of Fiction

              Podcast

              20 September 2021

              Podcast: Alison MacLeod on the Power of Fiction

                Draw, Colour, Find and Create: Activity Pack of Down the Road, Little Bee by Sarah Jane Lightfoot

                News | Book Life

                20 September 2021

                Draw, Colour, Find and Create: Activity Pack of Down the Road, Little Bee by Sarah Jane Lightfoot

                Live Book Event: Maya Lee in Conversation with Michaela Kalowski

                News | Events & Festivals

                17 September 2021

                Live Book Event: Maya Lee in Conversation with Michaela Kalowski

                  Podcast: John M. Green on Publishing

                  Podcast

                  16 September 2021

                  Podcast: John M. Green on Publishing

                    COMMENTS

                    Leave a Reply

                    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *