The Last of the Apple Blossom

Reviews

A Big-Hearted Australian Saga: Read an Extract from The Last of the Apple Blossom

Review | Extract

10 August 2021

A Big-Hearted Australian Saga: Read an Extract from The Last of the Apple Blossom

    Fire, Friendship and Family: Read our Review of The Last of the Apple Blossom by Mary-Lou Stephens

    Review | Our Review

    10 August 2021

    Fire, Friendship and Family: Read our Review of The Last of the Apple Blossom by Mary-Lou Stephens

      Your Preview Verdict: The Last of the Apple Blossom by Mary-Lou Stephens

      Review | Preview

      2 August 2021

      Your Preview Verdict: The Last of the Apple Blossom by Mary-Lou Stephens

        Publisher details

        The Last of the Apple Blossom
        Author
        Mary-Lou Stephens
        Publisher
        HQ Fiction
        Genre
        Fiction
        Released
        28 July, 2021

        Synopsis

        The fire took everything - except two women's fighting spirits. A sweeping, big-hearted Australian family saga for readers of Judy Nunn and Victoria Purman. 7 February, 1967. Walls of flame reduce much of Tasmania to ash. Young schoolteacher Catherine Turner rushes to the Huon Valley to find her family's apple orchard destroyed, her childhood home in ruins and her brother dead. Despite her father's declaration that a woman will never run the orchard, Catherine resolves to rebuild the family business. After five sons, Catherine's friend and neighbour, Annie Pearson, is overjoyed by the birth of a much longed for daughter. As Annie and her husband Dave work to repair the damage to their orchard, Dave's friend Mark pitches in, despite the fact that Annie wants him gone. Mark has moved his family to the valley to escape his life in Melbourne, but his wife has disappeared leaving chaos in her wake and their young son Charlie in Mark's care. Catherine becomes fond of Charlie, whose strange upbringing has left him shy and withdrawn. However, the growing friendship between Mark and Catherine not only scandalises the small community but threatens a secret Annie is desperate to keep hidden. Through natural disasters, personal calamities and the devastating collapse of the apple industry, Catherine, Annie and those they love battle to save their livelihoods, their families and their secrets.
        Mary-Lou Stephens
        About the author

        Mary-Lou Stephens

        Books by Mary-Lou Stephens

        Related articles

        Live Book Event: Mary-Lou Stephens in Conversation with Monica McInerney

        News | Events & Festivals

        4 August 2021

        Live Book Event: Mary-Lou Stephens in Conversation with Monica McInerney

          COMMENTS

          Leave a Reply

          Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *