The Last of the Bonegilla Girls

Publisher details

The Last of the Bonegilla Girls
Author
Victoria Purman
Publisher
Harlequin
Released
18 February, 2019

Synopsis

For readers of The Woolgrower's Companion and The Three Miss Allens… Their friendship transcends nationality and background, but can it overcome the horrors of the past? A post-Second World War story of strong female ties and family, secrets and lies, set in the multicultural Australia of the fifties.Can the Bonegilla girls defeat their past? Or will it come to claim them?1954: When sixteen–year–old Hungarian Elizabeta arrives in Australia with her family, she is hoping to escape the hopelessness of life as a refugee in post–war Germany.Her first stop is the Bonegilla Migrant Camp on the banks of the Murray in rural Victoria, a temporary home for thousands of new arrivals, all looking for work and a better life. There, Elizabeta becomes firm friends with the feisty Greek Vasiliki; quiet Italian Iliana; and the adventurous Frances, the daughter of the camp's director.In this vibrant and growing country, the Bonegilla girls rush together towards a life that seems full of promise, even as they cope with the legacy of war, the oppressive nature of family tradition and ever–present sorrow. So when a ghost from the past reaches out for Elizabeta and threatens to pull her back into the shadows, there is nothing that her friends wouldn't do to keep her safe.But secrets have a way of making themselves known and lies have a way of changing everything they touch...
Victoria Purman
About the author

Victoria Purman

Victoria Purman is a multi-published, award-nominated, Amazon Kindle-bestselling author. She has worked in and around the Adelaide media for nearly thirty years as an ABC television and radio journalist, a speechwriter to a premier, political adviser, editor, media adviser and private-sector communications consultant. She is a regular guest at writers’ festivals, has been nominated for a number of readers choice awards and was a judge in the fiction category for the 2018 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature. Her most recent novels are The Three Miss Allens, published in 2016, The Last of the Bonegilla Girls (2018) and The Land Girls (2019).

Books by Victoria Purman

Related articles

Supporting Bookshops and Your Loved Ones: I had a Book Delivered to my Mum From the Ballina Book Shop

News | Book Life

8 April 2020

Supporting Bookshops and Your Loved Ones: I had a Book Delivered to my Mum From the Ballina Book Shop

    The Importance of Family: Kate Constable, author of The January Stars, shares the story behind her uplifting new novel

    News | Author Related

    7 April 2020

    The Importance of Family: Kate Constable, author of The January Stars, shares the story behind her uplifting new novel

    It's About the Brain: Why Do We Still Bother With Books… When There’s So Much Online?

    News | Book Life

    7 April 2020

    It's About the Brain: Why Do We Still Bother With Books… When There’s So Much Online?

      CEO of Hachette, Louise Sherwin-Stark has a Message for Us All - #AustraliaReadsAtHome

      News | Book Life

      6 April 2020

      CEO of Hachette, Louise Sherwin-Stark has a Message for Us All - #AustraliaReadsAtHome

        Podcast: Julia Baird on Things that Sustain You when the World Goes Dark

        Podcast | News

        6 April 2020

        Podcast: Julia Baird on Things that Sustain You when the World Goes Dark

          Challenging Stereotypes: Author Eliza Henry Jones Shares the Inspiration for How to Grow a Family Tree

          News | Author Related

          1 April 2020

          Challenging Stereotypes: Author Eliza Henry Jones Shares the Inspiration for How to Grow a Family Tree

          Guilty Secrets: What I Found On my Friend's Bedside Table

          News | Book Life

          31 March 2020

          Guilty Secrets: What I Found On my Friend's Bedside Table

            The Daughter of Victory Lights Author Kerri Turner Shares 10 Books About Connecting From Afar

            News | Book Life

            31 March 2020

            The Daughter of Victory Lights Author Kerri Turner Shares 10 Books About Connecting From Afar

              Supporting Local Bookstores: Dymocks in Nowra

              News | Book Life

              30 March 2020

              Supporting Local Bookstores: Dymocks in Nowra

                Podcast: Ruby Hamad on White Women's Tears

                Podcast

                30 March 2020

                Podcast: Ruby Hamad on White Women's Tears

                  COMMENTS

                  Leave a Reply

                  Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *