The Last of the Bonegilla Girls

Publisher details

The Last of the Bonegilla Girls
Author
Victoria Purman
Publisher
Harlequin
Released
18 February, 2019

Synopsis

For readers of The Woolgrower's Companion and The Three Miss Allens… Their friendship transcends nationality and background, but can it overcome the horrors of the past? A post-Second World War story of strong female ties and family, secrets and lies, set in the multicultural Australia of the fifties.Can the Bonegilla girls defeat their past? Or will it come to claim them?1954: When sixteen–year–old Hungarian Elizabeta arrives in Australia with her family, she is hoping to escape the hopelessness of life as a refugee in post–war Germany.Her first stop is the Bonegilla Migrant Camp on the banks of the Murray in rural Victoria, a temporary home for thousands of new arrivals, all looking for work and a better life. There, Elizabeta becomes firm friends with the feisty Greek Vasiliki; quiet Italian Iliana; and the adventurous Frances, the daughter of the camp's director.In this vibrant and growing country, the Bonegilla girls rush together towards a life that seems full of promise, even as they cope with the legacy of war, the oppressive nature of family tradition and ever–present sorrow. So when a ghost from the past reaches out for Elizabeta and threatens to pull her back into the shadows, there is nothing that her friends wouldn't do to keep her safe.But secrets have a way of making themselves known and lies have a way of changing everything they touch...
Victoria Purman
About the author

Victoria Purman

Victoria Purman is a multi-published, award-nominated, Amazon Kindle-bestselling author. She has worked in and around the Adelaide media for nearly thirty years as an ABC television and radio journalist, a speechwriter to a premier, political adviser, editor, media adviser and private-sector communications consultant. She is a regular guest at writers’ festivals, has been nominated for a number of readers choice awards and was a judge in the fiction category for the 2018 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature. Her most recent novels are The Three Miss Allens, published in 2016, The Last of the Bonegilla Girls (2018) and The Land Girls (2019).

Books by Victoria Purman

Related articles

Live Book Event: Kyle Perry, Author of The Bluffs

News | Events & Festivals

13 July 2020

Live Book Event: Kyle Perry, Author of The Bluffs

    Podcast: Susan Allot on Life in the UK and how Environment Shapes our Writing

    Podcast

    13 July 2020

    Podcast: Susan Allot on Life in the UK and how Environment Shapes our Writing

      Voting open now:  Australia's Top 50 Kids Books!

      News | Awards

      13 July 2020

      Voting open now: Australia's Top 50 Kids Books!

      Acknowledgment of Country

      News

      8 July 2020

      Acknowledgment of Country

        Live Book Event: Chat with Sheila O'Flanagan

        News | Events & Festivals

        8 July 2020

        Live Book Event: Chat with Sheila O'Flanagan

          Live Book Launch: Kate Grenville's A Room Made of Leaves

          News | Events & Festivals

          6 July 2020

          Live Book Launch: Kate Grenville's A Room Made of Leaves

            A runaway, a baby and whole lot of questions: Teaching resources for When Rain Turns To Snow by Jane Godwin

            News | Book Life

            6 July 2020

            A runaway, a baby and whole lot of questions: Teaching resources for When Rain Turns To Snow by Jane Godwin

            It's About the Brain: Why Do We Still Bother With Books… When There’s So Much Online?

            News | Book Life

            6 July 2020

            It's About the Brain: Why Do We Still Bother With Books… When There’s So Much Online?

              Podcast: Hayley Katzen on Finding her Place in the World

              Podcast

              6 July 2020

              Podcast: Hayley Katzen on Finding her Place in the World

                The story behind Hodgepodge: How To Make a Pet Monster 1 by Lili Wilkinson and Dustin Spence

                News | Author Related

                3 July 2020

                The story behind Hodgepodge: How To Make a Pet Monster 1 by Lili Wilkinson and Dustin Spence

                COMMENTS

                Leave a Reply

                Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *