The Last of the Bonegilla Girls

Publisher details

Author
Victoria Purman
Publisher
Harlequin
Released
18 February, 2019
ISBN
9781489279507

The Last of the Bonegilla Girls

Buy now

Retail partners

Synopsis

For readers of The Woolgrower's Companion and The Three Miss Allens… Their friendship transcends nationality and background, but can it overcome the horrors of the past? A post-Second World War story of strong female ties and family, secrets and lies, set in the multicultural Australia of the fifties.Can the Bonegilla girls defeat their past? Or will it come to claim them?1954: When sixteen–year–old Hungarian Elizabeta arrives in Australia with her family, she is hoping to escape the hopelessness of life as a refugee in post–war Germany.Her first stop is the Bonegilla Migrant Camp on the banks of the Murray in rural Victoria, a temporary home for thousands of new arrivals, all looking for work and a better life. There, Elizabeta becomes firm friends with the feisty Greek Vasiliki; quiet Italian Iliana; and the adventurous Frances, the daughter of the camp's director.In this vibrant and growing country, the Bonegilla girls rush together towards a life that seems full of promise, even as they cope with the legacy of war, the oppressive nature of family tradition and ever–present sorrow. So when a ghost from the past reaches out for Elizabeta and threatens to pull her back into the shadows, there is nothing that her friends wouldn't do to keep her safe.But secrets have a way of making themselves known and lies have a way of changing everything they touch...
Victoria Purman
About the author

Victoria Purman

Victoria Purman is an Australian top ten and USA Today bestselling fiction author. Her most recent bestseller, The Land Girls, was published in April 2019. The Last of the Bonegilla Girls, a novel based on her mother's post-war migration to Australia, was published in 2018. Her previous novel The Three Miss Allens became a USA Today bestseller in April 2019. She is a regular guest at writers festivals, a mentor and workshop presenter and was a judge in the fiction category for the 2018 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature.

Books by Victoria Purman

Related articles

Podcast: Sheila O'Flanagan on Loss, Grief and Accepting Change

Podcast

16 May 2022

Podcast: Sheila O'Flanagan on Loss, Grief and Accepting Change

    Bedtime Story Author Chloe Hooper on Reading in Challenging Times

    News | Author Related

    13 May 2022

    Bedtime Story Author Chloe Hooper on Reading in Challenging Times

      Live Book Event: Cassie Hamer, Author of The Truth About Faking It

      News | Events & Festivals

      13 May 2022

      Live Book Event: Cassie Hamer, Author of The Truth About Faking It

        Podcast: Shelley Burr on Her Award-Winning Crime Debut WAKE

        Podcast

        12 May 2022

        Podcast: Shelley Burr on Her Award-Winning Crime Debut WAKE

          Live Book Event: Akuch Kuol Anyieth, Author of Unknown: A Refugee's Story

          News | Events & Festivals

          11 May 2022

          Live Book Event: Akuch Kuol Anyieth, Author of Unknown: A Refugee's Story

            Live Book Event: Craig Silvey, Author of Honeybee

            News | Events & Festivals

            9 May 2022

            Live Book Event: Craig Silvey, Author of Honeybee

              Podcast: Lauren Chater on the Gown that Inspired The Winter Dress

              Podcast

              9 May 2022

              Podcast: Lauren Chater on the Gown that Inspired The Winter Dress

                Aussie Authors Continue to Dominate Our Top 100!

                News

                6 May 2022

                Aussie Authors Continue to Dominate Our Top 100!

                  Podcast: Book Chat: Who made the 2022 Top 100?

                  Podcast

                  5 May 2022

                  Podcast: Book Chat: Who made the 2022 Top 100?

                    Classroom Notes: The Bravest Word by Kate Foster

                    News | Book Life

                    4 May 2022

                    Classroom Notes: The Bravest Word by Kate Foster

                    COMMENTS

                    Leave a Reply

                    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *