The Last of the Bonegilla Girls

Publisher details

The Last of the Bonegilla Girls
Author
Victoria Purman
Publisher
Harlequin
Released
18 February, 2019

Synopsis

For readers of The Woolgrower's Companion and The Three Miss Allens… Their friendship transcends nationality and background, but can it overcome the horrors of the past? A post-Second World War story of strong female ties and family, secrets and lies, set in the multicultural Australia of the fifties.Can the Bonegilla girls defeat their past? Or will it come to claim them?1954: When sixteen–year–old Hungarian Elizabeta arrives in Australia with her family, she is hoping to escape the hopelessness of life as a refugee in post–war Germany.Her first stop is the Bonegilla Migrant Camp on the banks of the Murray in rural Victoria, a temporary home for thousands of new arrivals, all looking for work and a better life. There, Elizabeta becomes firm friends with the feisty Greek Vasiliki; quiet Italian Iliana; and the adventurous Frances, the daughter of the camp's director.In this vibrant and growing country, the Bonegilla girls rush together towards a life that seems full of promise, even as they cope with the legacy of war, the oppressive nature of family tradition and ever–present sorrow. So when a ghost from the past reaches out for Elizabeta and threatens to pull her back into the shadows, there is nothing that her friends wouldn't do to keep her safe.But secrets have a way of making themselves known and lies have a way of changing everything they touch...
Victoria Purman
About the author

Victoria Purman

Victoria Purman is a multi-published, award-nominated, Amazon Kindle-bestselling author. She has worked in and around the Adelaide media for nearly thirty years as an ABC television and radio journalist, a speechwriter to a premier, political adviser, editor, media adviser and private-sector communications consultant. She is a regular guest at writers’ festivals, has been nominated for a number of readers choice awards and was a judge in the fiction category for the 2018 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature. Her most recent novels are The Three Miss Allens, published in 2016, The Last of the Bonegilla Girls (2018) and The Land Girls (2019).

Books by Victoria Purman

Related articles

Live Book Event: Rosalie Ham, Author of The Dressmaker's Secret

News | Events & Festivals

21 October 2020

Live Book Event: Rosalie Ham, Author of The Dressmaker's Secret

    Podcast: Nick Bryant on America's Decline, Trump... and on Getting COVID

    Podcast

    21 October 2020

    Podcast: Nick Bryant on America's Decline, Trump... and on Getting COVID

      Guilty Secrets: What I Found On My Friend's Bedside Table

      News | Book Life

      21 October 2020

      Guilty Secrets: What I Found On My Friend's Bedside Table

        Podcast: Sue Miller on Observation, Character and Writing Something Terrifying

        Podcast

        19 October 2020

        Podcast: Sue Miller on Observation, Character and Writing Something Terrifying

          “Climb aboard, me hearties”: Get creative with an activity pack from Pirate Stew by Neil Gaiman

          News | Book Life

          16 October 2020

          “Climb aboard, me hearties”: Get creative with an activity pack from Pirate Stew by Neil Gaiman

          The story behind the stories: CBCA Award winners and Book Week

          News | Book Life

          16 October 2020

          The story behind the stories: CBCA Award winners and Book Week

          Neil Gaiman: Why our future depends on libraries, reading and daydreaming

          News | Author Related

          15 October 2020

          Neil Gaiman: Why our future depends on libraries, reading and daydreaming

          Curious creatures, wild minds: 2020 CBCA Book Week activity pack

          News | Awards | Events & Festivals

          15 October 2020

          Curious creatures, wild minds: 2020 CBCA Book Week activity pack

          Lifelong and generational: The benefits of sharing stories and reading with children by educator Mary Ryan

          News | Book Life

          15 October 2020

          Lifelong and generational: The benefits of sharing stories and reading with children by educator Mary Ryan

          Podcast: Hazel Gaynor on her Unusual Journey from Self Publishing to Traditional Publishing

          Podcast

          15 October 2020

          Podcast: Hazel Gaynor on her Unusual Journey from Self Publishing to Traditional Publishing

            COMMENTS

            Leave a Reply

            Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *