The Last of the Bonegilla Girls

Publisher details

Author
Victoria Purman
Publisher
Harlequin
Released
18 February, 2019
ISBN
9781489279507

The Last of the Bonegilla Girls

Buy now

Retail partners

Synopsis

For readers of The Woolgrower's Companion and The Three Miss Allens… Their friendship transcends nationality and background, but can it overcome the horrors of the past? A post-Second World War story of strong female ties and family, secrets and lies, set in the multicultural Australia of the fifties.Can the Bonegilla girls defeat their past? Or will it come to claim them?1954: When sixteen–year–old Hungarian Elizabeta arrives in Australia with her family, she is hoping to escape the hopelessness of life as a refugee in post–war Germany.Her first stop is the Bonegilla Migrant Camp on the banks of the Murray in rural Victoria, a temporary home for thousands of new arrivals, all looking for work and a better life. There, Elizabeta becomes firm friends with the feisty Greek Vasiliki; quiet Italian Iliana; and the adventurous Frances, the daughter of the camp's director.In this vibrant and growing country, the Bonegilla girls rush together towards a life that seems full of promise, even as they cope with the legacy of war, the oppressive nature of family tradition and ever–present sorrow. So when a ghost from the past reaches out for Elizabeta and threatens to pull her back into the shadows, there is nothing that her friends wouldn't do to keep her safe.But secrets have a way of making themselves known and lies have a way of changing everything they touch...
Victoria Purman
About the author

Victoria Purman

Victoria Purman is an Australian top ten and USA Today bestselling fiction author. Her most recent bestseller, The Land Girls, was published in April 2019. The Last of the Bonegilla Girls, a novel based on her mother's post-war migration to Australia, was published in 2018. Her previous novel The Three Miss Allens became a USA Today bestseller in April 2019. She is a regular guest at writers festivals, a mentor and workshop presenter and was a judge in the fiction category for the 2018 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature.

Books by Victoria Purman

Related articles

Better Reading BE: Books That Have Helped Us Recently

BE

14 October 2021

Better Reading BE: Books That Have Helped Us Recently

    Podcast: John Safran on the Smoking Epidemic and the Rise of Vaping

    Podcast

    14 October 2021

    Podcast: John Safran on the Smoking Epidemic and the Rise of Vaping

      Live Book Event: Caroline Overington, Author of The Cuckoo's Cry

      News | Events & Festivals

      14 October 2021

      Live Book Event: Caroline Overington, Author of The Cuckoo's Cry

        You Can Now Buy Books Through the Better Reading Website

        News

        13 October 2021

        You Can Now Buy Books Through the Better Reading Website

          Podcast: Judy Nunn on Writing, Theatre and Showbusiness

          Podcast

          11 October 2021

          Podcast: Judy Nunn on Writing, Theatre and Showbusiness

            Colouring Activity: Horrible Harriet and the Terrible Tantrum by Leigh Hobbs

            News | Book Life

            11 October 2021

            Colouring Activity: Horrible Harriet and the Terrible Tantrum by Leigh Hobbs

            Live Book Event: Tricia Stringer, Author of Birds of a Feather

            News | Events & Festivals

            8 October 2021

            Live Book Event: Tricia Stringer, Author of Birds of a Feather

              Podcast: Tom Keneally on Exploring Rural Australia Through Fiction

              Podcast

              8 October 2021

              Podcast: Tom Keneally on Exploring Rural Australia Through Fiction

                Podcast: Damien Cave on How Moving to Australia Changed His Relationship with Risk

                Podcast

                5 October 2021

                Podcast: Damien Cave on How Moving to Australia Changed His Relationship with Risk

                  Podcast: Brendan Cowell on Acting, Writing and Everything In Between

                  Podcast

                  30 September 2021

                  Podcast: Brendan Cowell on Acting, Writing and Everything In Between

                    COMMENTS

                    Leave a Reply

                    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *