The Last of the Bonegilla Girls

Publisher details

The Last of the Bonegilla Girls
Author
Victoria Purman
Publisher
Harlequin
Released
18 February, 2019

Synopsis

For readers of The Woolgrower's Companion and The Three Miss Allens… Their friendship transcends nationality and background, but can it overcome the horrors of the past? A post-Second World War story of strong female ties and family, secrets and lies, set in the multicultural Australia of the fifties.Can the Bonegilla girls defeat their past? Or will it come to claim them?1954: When sixteen–year–old Hungarian Elizabeta arrives in Australia with her family, she is hoping to escape the hopelessness of life as a refugee in post–war Germany.Her first stop is the Bonegilla Migrant Camp on the banks of the Murray in rural Victoria, a temporary home for thousands of new arrivals, all looking for work and a better life. There, Elizabeta becomes firm friends with the feisty Greek Vasiliki; quiet Italian Iliana; and the adventurous Frances, the daughter of the camp's director.In this vibrant and growing country, the Bonegilla girls rush together towards a life that seems full of promise, even as they cope with the legacy of war, the oppressive nature of family tradition and ever–present sorrow. So when a ghost from the past reaches out for Elizabeta and threatens to pull her back into the shadows, there is nothing that her friends wouldn't do to keep her safe.But secrets have a way of making themselves known and lies have a way of changing everything they touch...
Victoria Purman
About the author

Victoria Purman

Victoria Purman is a multi-published, award-nominated, Amazon Kindle-bestselling author. She has worked in and around the Adelaide media for nearly thirty years as an ABC television and radio journalist, a speechwriter to a premier, political adviser, editor, media adviser and private-sector communications consultant. She is a regular guest at writers’ festivals, has been nominated for a number of readers choice awards and was a judge in the fiction category for the 2018 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature. Her most recent novels are The Three Miss Allens, published in 2016, The Last of the Bonegilla Girls (2018) and The Land Girls (2019).

Books by Victoria Purman

Related articles

Bookstagram is Heaven for Book Lovers

News | Book Life

30 June 2020

Bookstagram is Heaven for Book Lovers

    Book Launch: Anna Downes’s Debut Fiction, The Safe Place - Join Us Live

    News | Events & Festivals

    29 June 2020

    Book Launch: Anna Downes’s Debut Fiction, The Safe Place - Join Us Live

      Podcast: Jacqueline Harvey on why Reading is Important for Kids, and How to Make it fun for Them at Home

      Podcast

      29 June 2020

      Podcast: Jacqueline Harvey on why Reading is Important for Kids, and How to Make it fun for Them at Home

        Do You Dream of Writing a Book? Watch Dervla's Writing Studio

        News | Events & Festivals

        29 June 2020

        Do You Dream of Writing a Book? Watch Dervla's Writing Studio

          Podcast: Chris Flynn on the Climate, Science and the Future of Cloning

          Podcast

          29 June 2020

          Podcast: Chris Flynn on the Climate, Science and the Future of Cloning

            Deep sympathy for the natural world: Notes to help you delve further into Diary of a Young Naturalist

            News | Author Related

            24 June 2020

            Deep sympathy for the natural world: Notes to help you delve further into Diary of a Young Naturalist

            Happy birthday Grug!  Celebrating 40 years of a true-blue dinky-di Aussie character

            News | Book Life

            24 June 2020

            Happy birthday Grug! Celebrating 40 years of a true-blue dinky-di Aussie character

            Podcast: Dugald Bruce-Lockhart on Acting, Writing and Being the Son of a Spy

            Podcast

            24 June 2020

            Podcast: Dugald Bruce-Lockhart on Acting, Writing and Being the Son of a Spy

              Special Live Event - Elizabeth Gilbert

              News | Events & Festivals

              23 June 2020

              Special Live Event - Elizabeth Gilbert

                Through a child's eye: Letter by Dara McAnulty, author of Diary of a Young Naturalist

                News | Author Related

                23 June 2020

                Through a child's eye: Letter by Dara McAnulty, author of Diary of a Young Naturalist

                COMMENTS

                Leave a Reply

                Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *