The Last of the Bonegilla Girls

Publisher details

The Last of the Bonegilla Girls
Author
Victoria Purman
Publisher
Harlequin
Released
18 February, 2019

Synopsis

For readers of The Woolgrower's Companion and The Three Miss Allens… Their friendship transcends nationality and background, but can it overcome the horrors of the past? A post-Second World War story of strong female ties and family, secrets and lies, set in the multicultural Australia of the fifties.Can the Bonegilla girls defeat their past? Or will it come to claim them?1954: When sixteen–year–old Hungarian Elizabeta arrives in Australia with her family, she is hoping to escape the hopelessness of life as a refugee in post–war Germany.Her first stop is the Bonegilla Migrant Camp on the banks of the Murray in rural Victoria, a temporary home for thousands of new arrivals, all looking for work and a better life. There, Elizabeta becomes firm friends with the feisty Greek Vasiliki; quiet Italian Iliana; and the adventurous Frances, the daughter of the camp's director.In this vibrant and growing country, the Bonegilla girls rush together towards a life that seems full of promise, even as they cope with the legacy of war, the oppressive nature of family tradition and ever–present sorrow. So when a ghost from the past reaches out for Elizabeta and threatens to pull her back into the shadows, there is nothing that her friends wouldn't do to keep her safe.But secrets have a way of making themselves known and lies have a way of changing everything they touch...
Victoria Purman
About the author

Victoria Purman

Victoria Purman is a multi-published, award-nominated, Amazon Kindle-bestselling author. She has worked in and around the Adelaide media for nearly thirty years as an ABC television and radio journalist, a speechwriter to a premier, political adviser, editor, media adviser and private-sector communications consultant. She is a regular guest at writers’ festivals, has been nominated for a number of readers choice awards and was a judge in the fiction category for the 2018 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature. Her most recent novels are The Three Miss Allens, published in 2016, The Last of the Bonegilla Girls (2018) and The Land Girls (2019).

Books by Victoria Purman

Related articles

I Read Memoirs on Women's Rights in India: Q&A with A Murder at Malabar Hill's Author, Sujata Massey

News | Author Related

16 January 2020

I Read Memoirs on Women's Rights in India: Q&A with A Murder at Malabar Hill's Author, Sujata Massey

    I'm Fascinated by Cults: Q&A with In the Clearing Author, J.P. Pomare

    News | Author Related

    16 January 2020

    I'm Fascinated by Cults: Q&A with In the Clearing Author, J.P. Pomare

      The Better Reading Team's 2020 Reading Resolutions

      News | Book Life

      16 January 2020

      The Better Reading Team's 2020 Reading Resolutions

        2020 Indie Book Awards Shortlist Announced: Focus on Kids and YA

        News | Awards

        15 January 2020

        2020 Indie Book Awards Shortlist Announced: Focus on Kids and YA

        Remarkable Friendships: Better Reading on the Special Friendships Our Favourite Characters Shared

        News | Book Life

        15 January 2020

        Remarkable Friendships: Better Reading on the Special Friendships Our Favourite Characters Shared

        I’m Fascinated by the Journey to Adulthood: Q&A with Such a Fun Age Author, Kiley Reid

        News | Author Related

        14 January 2020

        I’m Fascinated by the Journey to Adulthood: Q&A with Such a Fun Age Author, Kiley Reid

          The Votes Are In and Bookmarks Win!

          News | Book Life

          14 January 2020

          The Votes Are In and Bookmarks Win!

            Podcast: James Phelps Talks About Sports, Writing and the Bushrangers in his Book, Australian Heist

            Podcast

            14 January 2020

            Podcast: James Phelps Talks About Sports, Writing and the Bushrangers in his Book, Australian Heist

              Book News: Updates on Awards & #AuthorsForFireys & 2019 Book Sales in Australia and New Zealand

              News | Book Life

              14 January 2020

              Book News: Updates on Awards & #AuthorsForFireys & 2019 Book Sales in Australia and New Zealand

                Podcast: House of Brides Author Jane Cockram on Working in the Books Industry

                Podcast

                13 January 2020

                Podcast: House of Brides Author Jane Cockram on Working in the Books Industry

                  COMMENTS

                  Leave a Reply

                  Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *