The Last of the Bonegilla Girls

Publisher details

Author
Victoria Purman
Publisher
Harlequin
Genre
Historical Fiction
Released
23 April, 2018
ISBN
9781489246752

The Last of the Bonegilla Girls

Buy now

Retail partners

Synopsis

For readers of The Woolgrower's Companion and The Three Miss Allens… Their friendship transcends nationality and background, but can it overcome the horrors of the past? A post-Second World War story of strong female ties and family, secrets and lies, set in the multicultural Australia of the fifties.Can the Bonegilla girls defeat their past? Or will it come to claim them?1954: When sixteen–year–old Hungarian Elizabeta arrives in Australia with her family, she is hoping to escape the hopelessness of life as a refugee in post–war Germany.Her first stop is the Bonegilla Migrant Camp on the banks of the Murray in rural Victoria, a temporary home for thousands of new arrivals, all looking for work and a better life. There, Elizabeta becomes firm friends with the feisty Greek Vasiliki; quiet Italian Iliana; and the adventurous Frances, the daughter of the camp's director.In this vibrant and growing country, the Bonegilla girls rush together towards a life that seems full of promise, even as they cope with the legacy of war, the oppressive nature of family tradition and ever–present sorrow. So when a ghost from the past reaches out for Elizabeta and threatens to pull her back into the shadows, there is nothing that her friends wouldn't do to keep her safe.But secrets have a way of making themselves known and lies have a way of changing everything they touch...
Victoria Purman
About the author

Victoria Purman

Victoria Purman is an Australian top ten and USA Today bestselling fiction author. Her most recent bestseller, The Land Girls, was published in April 2019. The Last of the Bonegilla Girls, a novel based on her mother's post-war migration to Australia, was published in 2018. Her previous novel The Three Miss Allens became a USA Today bestseller in April 2019. She is a regular guest at writers festivals, a mentor and workshop presenter and was a judge in the fiction category for the 2018 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature.

Books by Victoria Purman

Related articles

New World, New Lives: sample chapter from The Last of the Bonegilla Girls by Victoria Purman

News

15 May 2018

New World, New Lives: sample chapter from The Last of the Bonegilla Girls by Victoria Purman

    My Brilliant New Life: The Last of the Bonegilla Girls by Victoria Purman

    News

    15 May 2018

    My Brilliant New Life: The Last of the Bonegilla Girls by Victoria Purman

      COMMENTS

      Leave a Reply

      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *