Winners of the Indie Book Awards 2018 Announced

Winners of the Indie Book Awards 2018 Announced

Australian Independent Booksellers are thrilled to announce Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsend (Hachette Australia) as their favourite Australian book from last year and the winner of The Indie Book Awards 2018 Book of the Year.

This is the first time a children’s book has won the overall award, made even extra special given 2018 marks the tenth year of the awards. [see attached for more info on Nevermoor and Jessica Townsend]

The Awards recognise and celebrate the indie booksellers as the number one supporters of Australian authors. What makes our Indies uniquely placed to judge and recommend the best Aussie books of the past year to their customers and readers, is their incredible passion and knowledge, their contribution to the cultural diversity of the Australian reading public by recommending books beyond the big brands, and their love of quality writing.

The individual category winners in Fiction, Debut Fiction, Non-Fiction, Illustrated Non-Fiction, Children’s and Young Adult were also announced. From these five category winners, the independent booksellers selected the best of the best – The 2018 Indie Book of the Year.

Fiction winner:

The Choke by Sofie Laguna (Allen & Unwin)

Non-fiction winner:

Saga Land by Richard Fidler & Kári Gíslason (ABC Books, HarperCollins Australia)

Debut fiction winner:

Wimmera by Mark Brandi (Hachette Australia)

Illustrated non-fiction winner:

Native: Art & Design with Australian Plants by Kate Herd & Jela Ivankovic-Waters (Thames & Hudson Australia)

Children’s winner:

Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsend (Hachette Australia)

Non-fiction winner:

Wilder Country by Mark Smith (Text Publishing)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *