GIVEAWAY: Keep Busy In The Easter Holidays With This Pack From Bloomsbury!

GIVEAWAY: Keep Busy In The Easter Holidays With This Pack From Bloomsbury!

fb shareable

Kids bored in the Easter holidays? Rolling around the house with nothing to do? Are you getting antsy, looking for something for them to delve into and give you a few moments peace and quiet?

Well, don’t worry, because Better Reading, with help from our friends at Bloomsbury, had THREE PACKS of THREE BOOKS to give away for your kids! Featuring Spy Toys by Mark Powers, How To Outsmart A Billion Robot Bees by Paul Tobin, and The Great Shelby Holmes: Girl Detective by Elizabeth Eulberg, there’s something here for everyone.

All you have to do is follow Better Reading Kids on Facebook, and reply to this post with what sort of book your kid loves most and why, and you’ll go into the running to win one of three amazing Bloomsbury packs.

While you’re waiting to hear the results, why not download the Spy Toys apps, packed with all sorts of games? You can download it on iTunes and Google Play.

Competition entries close Monday 10th April at 4pm, and the three winners will be announced via Facebook Tuesday 11th April at 2pm. Note: this is a game of skill, and winners will be chosen by best entries.

Related Articles

Calling All Harry Potter Fans

News | Events & Festivals

27 January 2020

Calling All Harry Potter Fans

Building the Imagination: T. C. Shelley on Children's Book Week

Kids & Ya

19 August 2019

Building the Imagination: T. C. Shelley on Children's Book Week

Brownies, Leprechauns and Ogres: Read an extract from The Monster Who Wasn't

Kids & Ya

15 August 2019

Brownies, Leprechauns and Ogres: Read an extract from The Monster Who Wasn't

Street Library Giveaway

News

13 August 2019

Street Library Giveaway

    The Choices We Make: Review of The Monster Who Wasn't

    Kids & Ya

    13 August 2019

    The Choices We Make: Review of The Monster Who Wasn't

    New York Adventure: Review of The Good Thieves

    Kids & Ya

    9 July 2019

    New York Adventure: Review of The Good Thieves

    Friends, Loyalty and Family: Extract from The Good Thieves

    Kids & Ya

    9 July 2019

    Friends, Loyalty and Family: Extract from The Good Thieves

    A Sparkling Whirl of a Story: Jessie Burton on why she chose to revise The Twelve Dancing Princesses

    Kids & Ya

    30 October 2018

    A Sparkling Whirl of a Story: Jessie Burton on why she chose to revise The Twelve Dancing Princesses

    Feminist Fairy Tale: Read an extract from The Restless Girls by Jessie Burton

    Kids & Ya

    30 October 2018

    Feminist Fairy Tale: Read an extract from The Restless Girls by Jessie Burton

    Liberating The Princesses! : Review of The Restless Girls by Jessie Burton, illustrated by Angela Barrett

    Kids & Ya

    30 October 2018

    Liberating The Princesses! : Review of The Restless Girls by Jessie Burton, illustrated by Angela Barrett

    Synopsis

    Shelby Holmes is not your average nine-year-old. For one, she happens to be the best detective her neighbourhood has ever seen, using her uncanny analytical mind and sassy attitude to solve crimes which stump even the police department...But when eleven-year-old John Watson moves in to her block of flats, Shelby finds a solution to the one puzzle that's eluded her up until now: friendship. This dynamic duo find themselves swept up in a dog-napping case that'll take both their talents to crack.

    Publisher details

    Spy Toys
    Author
    Mark Powers
    Publisher
    Bloomsbury
    Genre
    Children’s Fiction
    Released
    01 February, 2017

    Synopsis

    The world's leading toy manufacturer makes playthings for the rich and famous, and every toy they create contains a tiny computerised brain and a unique personality. These toys are seriously awesome! But every so often there's a faulty toy...Dan is a Snugliffic Cuddlestar bear – he should be perfect for hugging. But because of a faulty chip, Dan is so strong he could crush a car. Thrown on to the rejects pile, he meets Arabella, a Loadsasmiles Sunshine Doll, who has a very short temper and is absolutely NOT good with children. Soon Dan, Arabella and Flax (a custom-made police robot rabbit gone AWOL) are recruited by the mysterious Auntie Roz, and together they make up THE SPY TOYS.Their first mission: to protect the prime minister's son from being kidnapped...Featuring hilarious, action-packed illustrations by Tim Wesson throughout, this series is perfect for fans of Pam Butchart and David Solomons' My Brother is a Superhero.Why not download the Spy Toys apps, packed with all sorts of games? You can download it on iTunes and Google Play.

    Publisher details

    How To Outsmart A Billion Robot Bees
    Author
    Paul Tobin
    Publisher
    Bloomsbury
    Genre
    Children’s Fiction
    Released
    01 April, 2017

    Synopsis

    It's Friday the 13th again, and for sixth grade genius Nate Bannister, that means doing three more not-so-smart things to keep life interesting. But he has bigger problems than his own experiments. His nemesis, the Red Death Tea Society, is threatening to unleash a swarm of angry bees on the city of Polt if Nate doesn't join their ranks. But then a new group of people with murky intentions shows up -- the League of Ostracized Fellows -- and they want Nate as their own, too. To top it all of, he's convinced there's a spy in his very own school.Nate must once again team up with his new, resourceful, friend Delphine to save the day. They'll need the help of Nate's crazy gadgets, such as his talking car Betsy and super-powered pets Bosper the Scottish terrier and Sir William the gull, if they hope to see another Friday the 13th. Because they might be battling more than just sting-happy bees and villains with a penchant for tea this time around.
    Elizabeth Eulberg
    About the author

    Elizabeth Eulberg

    Elizabeth Eulberg is not a detective (or so she claims). She is, however, the internationally bestselling author of The Lonely Hearts Club, Prom & Prejudice, Take a Bow, Revenge of the Girl with the Great Personality, Better Off Friends, and We Can Work it Out. Elizabeth lives outside Manhattan, where she spends her free time stalking English bulldogs in her neighborhood and filling her brain attic with random pop-culture facts. The Great Shelby Holmes is her first middle-grade novel.

    Books by Elizabeth Eulberg

    Mark Powers
    About the author

    Mark Powers

    Mark Powers has been making up ridiculous stories since primary school and is slightly shocked to find that people now pay him to do it. As a child he always daydreamed that his teddy bear went off on top secret missions when he was at school, so a team of toys recruited as spies seemed a great idea for a story. He grew up in north Wales and now lives in Manchester. His favourite animals are the binturong, the aye-aye and the dodo.

    Books by Mark Powers

    Paul Tobin
    About the author

    Paul Tobin

    Paul Tobin lives in Portland, Oregon, and is one of the two head writers for the Angry Birds comics, along with other comics for Marvel, Dark Horse and DC Comics. He is also writing episodes for the upcoming season of Angry Birds cartoon shorts. (He further rounds out his domination of iPhone games by writing the Plants vs. Zombies comics.) His other current writing credits include the Adventure Time: Flip Side series, the novel Prepare to Die! and, with his wife, artist Colleen Coover, the ongoing series Bandette, which placed on YALSA's 2014 Best Graphic Novels for Teens list.

    Books by Paul Tobin

    COMMENTS

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    1. Sharni says:

      My kid loves Juliet nearly a vet books, because she adores animals and is an aspiring vet!

    2. Kate Adams says:

      My kids love the dr Seuss books and how clever and funny they are

    3. Liz Foster says:

      One of my boys loves any boys that he can choose different endings. Another loves listening to books especially with adventure Space Case, Magisterium, Sky raiders.
      My oldest child of 12 reads easily. He has now discovered biographies of sports stars esp. Cricketers. Listening to books from the library or a App Store is a family event in the car. Thankfully we all love fantasy and science fiction. Brandon Mull has kept our attention riveted for some time with Fablehaven series and Outworlders series.