Q&A with The Goldminer’s Sister Author, Alison Stuart

Q&A with The Goldminer’s Sister Author, Alison Stuart

Briefly tell us about your book.

For readers of The Postmistress, The Goldminer’s Sister takes you back to Maiden’s Creek, a small gold mining settlement in Gippsland. It begins with the arrival of Eliza Penrose, the sister of one of the characters in The Postmistress. Determined to solve the mystery of her brother’s death, Eliza takes on the position of the schoolmistress in the town’s only school, and soon encounters Alec McLeod, a Scottish engineer with a tragic past.

As the mysteries around her deepen, Alec becomes her closest ally and they find themselves up against men whose lust for wealth is greater than the ties of blood.

The Goldminer’s Sister crosses genres, between historical romance and historical mystery. Please don’t worry if you haven’t read The Postmistress – although the town and secondary characters continue across both books, the story itself stands alone.

Does the creative process get easier for you with each book?

This will be my eleventh published full-length novel and with my hand on my heart I can say it does not get easier. I have never been a plotter, preferring a more organic approach to my writing, but organic does not work when you are faced with contract deadlines and hungry readers, so I have had to force the process along a little to avoid the temptation of dark corridors, dead ends and rabbit holes. Unfortunately, just when I think I have worked out an efficient and effective process, the next book comes along but what worked for the last books does not work for the new book and it is back to square one! 

How does it feel to hold your book in your hands?

Can I say that this is a feeling that never grows old? We refer to our new books as ‘book babies’ and that is just how it feels. Here in my hand is the product of a tiny kernel of an idea that came to fruition over the course of the year. It is going to bookshops and libraries … people are going to read it on trains, the beach, curled up in front of the fire, and they are going to either love it or hate it. Of course, there is a terrible underlying fear that the readers are going to hate it and, like all babies, it hurts to be told it is anything less than perfect so we wait for those first reviews with bated breath!

How did you think of the title of the book?

I have to confess I did not think of the title for the book! I’d originally called it The Schoolmistress as a working title but my publisher was looking for something a little more gold related, so we brainstormed titles at short notice on a particularly fraught day when my youngest granddaughter was born and I was looking after her big sister. Between wrestling the three-year-old and my husband, I think my editor and I were still emailing each other at the hospital! Mercifully we settled on The Goldminer’s Sister and it is a complete coincidence that my youngest grandchild is called Eliza!

Are you able to switch off at the end of a day of writing? If so, how?

I have never been an evening person … even as a student I could not work late into the night. I like the routine of working through the day and switching off the computer by six in the evening. It might make me sound old and boring, but I am afraid my downtime in the evening is TV, a cat on my lap and a jigsaw on my iPad. However, during ‘iso’ I rediscovered my love of needlework, particularly quilting, and I set myself the task of finishing some of the many UFOs (UnFinished Objects) in my cupboard.  Unfortunately, I have been unable to convince the elderly cat that I require my lap for sewing not him so every evening is now a tussle between a quilt and a stubborn cat, which is not particularly relaxing.

 

 

Reviews

Try an Extract From Alison Stuart's, The Goldminer's Sister

Review | Extract

13 July 2020

Try an Extract From Alison Stuart's, The Goldminer's Sister

    Alison Stuart has Struck Gold with The Goldminer's Sister

    Review | Our Review

    13 July 2020

    Alison Stuart has Struck Gold with The Goldminer's Sister

      Related Articles

      Good Research is Like Spice to a Soup: Q&A with The Postmistress Author, Alison Stuart

      News

      18 June 2019

      Good Research is Like Spice to a Soup: Q&A with The Postmistress Author, Alison Stuart

        Going Down The Mine: Alison Stuart Writes About How she Researched her New Novel, The Postmistress

        News

        18 June 2019

        Going Down The Mine: Alison Stuart Writes About How she Researched her New Novel, The Postmistress

          A Wonderful Historical Romance Set in The Australian Bush: Review of The Postmistress by Alison Stuart

          News

          17 June 2019

          A Wonderful Historical Romance Set in The Australian Bush: Review of The Postmistress by Alison Stuart

            Synopsis

            Gold is a fever. Will it lead her to love ... or death? A suspenseful romance set on the turbulent goldfields of 1870s Australia, for readers of The Postmistress and The Woman in the Green Dress.There are people in this town with the gleam of gold in their eyes and cold steel in their hearts.'1873. Eliza Penrose arrives in the gold mining town of Maiden's Creek in search of her brother, planning to make a new life for herself. Instead she finds a tragic mystery - and hints of betrayals by those closest to her.Mining engineer Alec McLeod left Scotland to escape the memory of his dead wife and child. Despite the best efforts of the eligible ladies of Maiden's Creek, Alec is determined never to give his heart again.As lies and deceit threaten Eliza's life, Alec steps in - although he has problems of his own, as he risks his livelihood and those he holds dear to oppose the dangerous work practices at the Maiden's Creek Mine.When disaster draws the pieces of the puzzle together, Eliza and Alec must save each other - but is it too late?
            Alison Stuart
            About the author

            Alison Stuart

            Australian author Alison Stuart began her writing journey halfway up a tree in the school playground with a notebook and a dream. Her father's passion for history and her husband's love of adventure and the Australian bush led to a desire to tell stories of Australia's past. She has travelled extensively and lived in Africa and Singapore.Before turning to writing full time, she enjoyed a long and varied career as a lawyer, both in private practice and in a range of different organisations, including the military and the emergency services. Alison lives in a historic town in Victoria.

            Books by Alison Stuart

            COMMENTS

            Leave a Reply

            Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *