Heartrending, Uplifting, Absorbing: Review of Messy, Wonderful Us by Catherine Isaac

Heartrending, Uplifting, Absorbing: Review of Messy, Wonderful Us by Catherine Isaac

Allie Culpepper leads a carefully ordered life. An academic research scientist at a prestigious university in Liverpool, Allie is trying to find a cure for cystic fibrosis, and when she’s not working she enjoys running and tennis. Things have been quiet on the romance front since she split from her long-term boyfriend a few years back, but Allie has her family and friends, and most particularly, she has Ed, her best friend since school days.

But when Allie stumbles upon an old letter at her grandparent’s house one day, her neat little life is turned on its head. The letter is about her mother, who died when Allie was little, and if it means what Allie thinks, it could change everything she knows about her family and herself. Reeling, Allie decides she must uncover the truth, and journeys with Ed to Northern Italy, where it seems the answers to her questions may lie.

As Allie and Ed make their way through Italy, however, it turns out Allie isn’t the only one going through a life crisis. In an unexpected turn of events, Ed reveals that he is separating from his wife, Julia, even though they seemed like the world’s most perfect couple, and he’s reluctant to say why. As Allie searches for answers about her family’s tangled past, other long-buried secrets and unspoken truths bubble to the surface, and she is forced to confront not only her past, but the reality of her relationship with Ed…

The latest novel from Catherine Isaac, Messy, Wonderful Us is a poignant, emotional and utterly absorbing tale of one woman’s hunt for answers about her past and her future. Isaac’s previous novel, You Me Everything, saw the author compared to Cecelia Ahern and Jojo Moyes, and this latest release cements Isaac’s talent for crafting heartrending yet deeply uplifting stories about loss and love, grief and hope, and the endless complexity of human relationships.

A story that seesaws between past and present and unfolds through the eyes of three characters, Messy, Wonderful Us is perfectly paced. As Allie works to find out the truth about her family, each chapter adds a new layer of detail and intrigue, until the decades-old secret at the heart of the story is finally revealed. All the characters are well-crafted, but Allie is particularly compelling. Although she’s confronted with some unexpected, hard-hitting truths, her journey ultimately shows how much a person can grow and blossom when they discover more about their background and origins.

Isaac’s dialogue flows beautifully, and the setting is another real highlight of this story. Isaac brings Northern Italy to vivid and convincing life—you can practically see the golden afternoon light reflecting off the old buildings in the bustling town squares, and if you close your eyes you can almost feel the cobblestoned streets beneath your feet, and taste the delicious food and wine.

A deeply moving, gently funny tale of self-discovery, family and the power of love, Messy, Wonderful Us is a perfect read for fans of Me Before You, PS, I Love You, and Marian Keyes’s Anybody Out There.

About the author:

Catherine Isaac was born in 1974 in Liverpool, England. She studied History at the University of Liverpool, before completing a postgraduate diploma in Journalism at Glasgow Caledonian University. She began her career as graduate trainee at the Liverpool Echo. At 27, she was appointed Editor of the Liverpool Daily Post and held the position for five years.

She wrote her first book, Bridesmaids, while on maternity leave and under the pseudonym Jane Costello. She has since written nine books, all Sunday Times bestsellers in the UK. You, Me, Everything is her first novel writing as Catherine Isaac. Film rights to this novel have been optioned by Lionsgate, and foreign rights have sold around the world. Her latest novel is Messy, Wonderful Us.

Catherine lives in Liverpool with her husband Mark and three sons. In her spare time she likes to run, walk up mountains in the Lake District and win at pub quizzes, though the latter rarely happens.

Buy a copy of Messy, Wonderful Us here

Related Articles

An Exquisite Exploration into Memory, Imagination and the Books that Shape us: Read a Review of Storytime by Jane Sullivan

News

12 August 2019

An Exquisite Exploration into Memory, Imagination and the Books that Shape us: Read a Review of Storytime by Jane Sullivan

    One of the Best Thrillers of the Year: Read a Review of State of Fear by Tim Ayliffe

    News

    6 August 2019

    One of the Best Thrillers of the Year: Read a Review of State of Fear by Tim Ayliffe

      An Excellent Tribute to a Fascinating Australian Figure: Read a Review of Major Thomas by Greg Growden

      News

      6 August 2019

      An Excellent Tribute to a Fascinating Australian Figure: Read a Review of Major Thomas by Greg Growden

        It is Heartbreaking, and Beautiful: Review of Confession with Blue Horses by Sophie Hardach

        News

        23 July 2019

        It is Heartbreaking, and Beautiful: Review of Confession with Blue Horses by Sophie Hardach

          Australian to the Core: Review of Taking Tom Murray Home by Tim Slee

          News

          23 July 2019

          Australian to the Core: Review of Taking Tom Murray Home by Tim Slee

            Wonderful. A Real Treat: Review of The Shelly Bay Ladies Swimming Circle by Sophie Green

            News

            23 July 2019

            Wonderful. A Real Treat: Review of The Shelly Bay Ladies Swimming Circle by Sophie Green

              A Highly Entertaining Debut: Read a Review of The One by Kaneana May

              News

              23 July 2019

              A Highly Entertaining Debut: Read a Review of The One by Kaneana May

                A Nail-biting Thriller: Read a Review of Karin Slaughter's The Last Widow

                News

                15 July 2019

                A Nail-biting Thriller: Read a Review of Karin Slaughter's The Last Widow

                  Romantic, Clever and Thought-provoking: Review of Nailed It! by Mel Campbell and Anthony Morris

                  News

                  15 July 2019

                  Romantic, Clever and Thought-provoking: Review of Nailed It! by Mel Campbell and Anthony Morris

                    Topical, Gripping, Perfectly Paced: Review of The Rip by Mark Brandi

                    News

                    10 July 2019

                    Topical, Gripping, Perfectly Paced: Review of The Rip by Mark Brandi

                      Publisher details

                      Messy, Wonderful Us
                      Author
                      Catherine Isaac
                      Publisher
                      Simon and Schuster
                      Released
                      01 June, 2019
                      ISBN
                      9781471178054

                      Synopsis

                      One morning in early summer, a man and woman wait to board a flight to Italy. Allie has lived a careful, focused existence. But now she has unexpectedly taken leave from her job as an academic research scientist to fly to a place she only recently heard about in a letter. Her father, Joe, doesn’t know the reason for her trip, and Allie can’t bring herself to tell him that she’s flying to Italy to unpick the truth about what her mother did all those years ago.Beside her is her best friend since schooldays, Ed. He has just shocked everyone with a sudden separation from his wife, Julia. Allie hopes that a break will help him open up.But the secrets that emerge as the sun beats down on Lake Garda and Liguria don’t merely concern her family’s tangled past. And the two friends are forced to confront questions about their own life-long relationship that are impossible to resolve.The dazzling new novel from Richard & Judy book club author Catherine Isaac, Messy, Wonderful Us is a story about the transforming power of love, as one woman journeys to uncover the past and reshape her future.
                      Catherine Isaac
                      About the author

                      Catherine Isaac

                      Catherine Isaac was born in 1974 in Liverpool, England. She studied History at the University of Liverpool, before completing a postgraduate diploma in Journalism at Glasgow Caledonian University. She began her career as graduate trainee at the Liverpool Echo. At 27, she was appointed Editor of the Liverpool Daily Post and held the position for five years. She wrote her first book, Bridesmaids, while on maternity leave and under the pseudonym Jane Costello. She has since written nine books, all Sunday Times bestsellers in the UK. You, Me, Everything is her first novel writing as Catherine Isaac. She lives in Liverpool with her husband Mark and three sons. In her spare time she likes to run, walk up mountains in the Lake District and win at pub quizzes, though the latter rarely happens. Film rights to this novel have been optioned by Lionsgate, and foreign rights have sold around the world.

                      Books by Catherine Isaac

                      COMMENTS

                      Leave a Reply

                      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

                      1. Peter Dean says:

                        I cannot wait to read this story. Thank goodness for my regular “Better Reading” emails and thank goodness for wonderful writers who can get something all the way from their hearts into a bound sheaf of papers. Thank you all 🙂