Hopeful and Heartfelt: Review of Love Song by Sasha Wasley

Hopeful and Heartfelt: Review of Love Song by Sasha Wasley

Beth Paterson leads a busy, well ordered life. A respected general practitioner in Mount Clair, one of the bigger towns in the Kimberley, Beth is also a fly-in, fly-out doctor for Madjinbarra, one of the region’s more remote communities, and her days are filled with home visits, clinic appointments and community meetings. In between, Beth squeezes in visits to her family, who still live on the sprawling property where Beth grew up, about an hour’s drive from Mount Clair.

But when Beth is asked to attend a special stakeholder meeting for Madjinbarra, to discuss alarming plans for a corporate mine on community land, her carefully structured life comes tumbling down around her. At the meeting is a man Beth hasn’t seen in 17 years – it’s Charlie Campbell, and he’s flown in to put his voice behind the community where he was born and raised.

Back when they were both 17, Beth was a hot shot student at Mount Clair High, and Charlie had spun like a cyclone into her neat little life. Charlie’s school in Madjinbarra hadn’t offered tertiary pathways, so he’d come to Mount Clair to prepare for university and Beth had quickly become his tutor, falling deeply in love in the process. But then Charlie’s plans had changed – he wanted to become a musician, not go to university. He left town abruptly, breaking Beth’s heart.

These days, Charlie is a big star on the alternative rock scene, and Beth has been conscientiously avoiding his music, his face and her thoughts of him for years. But now Charlie’s back, impossible to avoid, and although there’s tension at first, he and Beth gradually get reacquainted. Then they join forces to save Madjinbarra from the mining threat, and their old, wild attraction rekindles… with life-changing, and utterly joyous results.

The third instalment in Sasha Wasley’s Daughters of the Outback series, following bestsellers Dear Banjo and True Blue, Love Song is a heartwarming and deeply moving tale of grief, love and second chances. Film rights to the series have already been acquired, and it’s not hard to see why – the rugged, wild beauty of the Kimberley is a stunning, atmospheric and refreshingly original setting, and Wasley’s characters are profoundly engaging and believably drawn. In Love Song, our heroine Beth is particularly well rounded, and you’ll find yourself connecting instantly to her story, hoping against hope that she finds the happiness she deserves.

Wasley has a real knack for depicting the unique dynamics of rural Australian communities, and this is done particularly well in Love Song, with Mount Clair and Madjinbarra both characters in their own right. Love Song is also a novel of compelling depth, intelligently exploring various issues faced by remote Indigenous communities, including the struggle for land rights and the reality of limited healthcare and education options.

A hopeful, heartfelt and compassionately told story about the strength and resilience of women, the power of love, and the complexities of rural living, Love Song is a perfect read for fans of Fiona Palmer, Nicole Alexander and Rachael Johns.

About the author:

Sasha Wasley was born and raised in Perth, Western Australia. She has completed a PhD in cultural theory and loves nature, Jane Austen and puns. Sasha is a farming wannabe, with a passion for animals and the land. Although she’s in her forties now, she still wants a pony. Her debut novel, a young adult paranormal, was published in 2014. Today, she lives and writes in the Perth hills region with her partner and two daughters, surrounded by dogs, cats and chickens. Sasha writes mystery, paranormal and young adult novels as S.D. Wasley.

Buy a copy of Love Song here

Related Articles

An Exquisite Exploration into Memory, Imagination and the Books that Shape us: Read a Review of Storytime by Jane Sullivan

News

12 August 2019

An Exquisite Exploration into Memory, Imagination and the Books that Shape us: Read a Review of Storytime by Jane Sullivan

    One of the Best Thrillers of the Year: Read a Review of State of Fear by Tim Ayliffe

    News

    6 August 2019

    One of the Best Thrillers of the Year: Read a Review of State of Fear by Tim Ayliffe

      An Excellent Tribute to a Fascinating Australian Figure: Read a Review of Major Thomas by Greg Growden

      News

      6 August 2019

      An Excellent Tribute to a Fascinating Australian Figure: Read a Review of Major Thomas by Greg Growden

        It is Heartbreaking, and Beautiful: Review of Confession with Blue Horses by Sophie Hardach

        News

        23 July 2019

        It is Heartbreaking, and Beautiful: Review of Confession with Blue Horses by Sophie Hardach

          Australian to the Core: Review of Taking Tom Murray Home by Tim Slee

          News

          23 July 2019

          Australian to the Core: Review of Taking Tom Murray Home by Tim Slee

            Wonderful. A Real Treat: Review of The Shelly Bay Ladies Swimming Circle by Sophie Green

            News

            23 July 2019

            Wonderful. A Real Treat: Review of The Shelly Bay Ladies Swimming Circle by Sophie Green

              A Highly Entertaining Debut: Read a Review of The One by Kaneana May

              News

              23 July 2019

              A Highly Entertaining Debut: Read a Review of The One by Kaneana May

                A Nail-biting Thriller: Read a Review of Karin Slaughter's The Last Widow

                News

                15 July 2019

                A Nail-biting Thriller: Read a Review of Karin Slaughter's The Last Widow

                  Romantic, Clever and Thought-provoking: Review of Nailed It! by Mel Campbell and Anthony Morris

                  News

                  15 July 2019

                  Romantic, Clever and Thought-provoking: Review of Nailed It! by Mel Campbell and Anthony Morris

                    Topical, Gripping, Perfectly Paced: Review of The Rip by Mark Brandi

                    News

                    10 July 2019

                    Topical, Gripping, Perfectly Paced: Review of The Rip by Mark Brandi

                      Synopsis

                      There was something about Charlie. Something about the way he questioned and teased her, brought her outside of herself … the way he’d made her crash headlong into love just by singing to her.At age seventeen, Beth Paterson was determined to study medicine at university, despite the heartache of losing her mother. Tutoring Charlie Campbell worked well with her plan – but falling in love with him sure didn’t, and neither did getting her heart broken when he abruptly left town.Now Charlie is a big star on the alternative rock scene, while Beth is a respected doctor in her hometown. When Charlie comes back to fight for the tiny community where he was raised, neither one of them can ignore the resurgence of wild attraction they once shared.Beth swore no man would ever hurt her again – least of all this man. But some love songs can never be forgotten, especially when they were written for you …From the author of Dear Banjo comes a book to make your heart sing and your spirits soar.
                      Sasha Wasley
                      About the author

                      Sasha Wasley

                      Sasha Wasley was born and raised in Perth, Western Australia. She has completed a PhD in cultural theory and loves nature, Jane Austen and puns. Sasha is a farming wannabe, with a passion for animals and the land. Although she’s in her forties now, she still wants a pony. Her debut novel, a young adult paranormal, was published in 2014. Today, she lives and writes in the Perth hills region with her partner and two daughters, surrounded by dogs, cats and chickens. Sasha writes mystery, paranormal and young adult novels as S.D. Wasley.

                      Books by Sasha Wasley

                      COMMENTS

                      Leave a Reply

                      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *