Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Read an extract from The Strangeworlds Travel Agency by L.D. Lapinski

Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Read an extract from The Strangeworlds Travel Agency by L.D. Lapinski

Chapter One

There have always been places in our world where magic gathers. 

You can see it, if you look close enough. You might see an ancient horse and cart passing down a modern high-street; or a cobbled alleyway that people walk into, but never out of. Now and again, you might see it in a person – someone who looks like they’ve stepped straight out of an old photograph. Or, perhaps, someone whose bag seems to hover off the ground catches your eye in a coffee shop. And when you look again they, and their bag, have disappeared. 

And, occasionally, you see magic in shops. 

Squashed between brand name stores and fancy displays, the shops soaked in magic are never eye-catching, or ostentatious. Their windows are stained with dirt and dust, and sometimes their signs have peeled away so much that it looks as though ghost letters are trying to work their way through. Magic does not wish to be noticed, you see. And most people are happy to pretend it does not exist.

The Strangeworlds Travel Agency was very much like a magical shop should be.

The leaded windows were dirty and cracked. There was peeling paint on the front door and it hardly ever seemed to be open. However, there was one element of the shop that refused to fade into the background: the sign over the window. It was always clearly painted, in silky gold letters embellished with black against a ruby-red background. There was one globe at the beginning of the sign and another at the end. The shop was out of its time, for certain, and yet the name was blazoned for all to see.

Continue reading here……

Reviews

A summer of secrets and sorcery: Review of The Strangeworlds Travel Agency by L.D. Lapinski

Review

28 April 2020

A summer of secrets and sorcery: Review of The Strangeworlds Travel Agency by L.D. Lapinski

Related Articles

All you have to do is step inside: Activities and worksheets for The Strangeworlds Travel Agency by L.D. Lapinski

News | Author Related

5 May 2020

All you have to do is step inside: Activities and worksheets for The Strangeworlds Travel Agency by L.D. Lapinski

Imaginary worlds and secret magic: A peek behind the story with L.D. Lapinski, author of The Strangeworlds Travel Agency

News | Author Related

1 May 2020

Imaginary worlds and secret magic: A peek behind the story with L.D. Lapinski, author of The Strangeworlds Travel Agency

Synopsis

Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of THE TRAIN TO IMPOSSIBLE PLACES and THE POLAR BEAR EXPLORERS' CLUB.At the Strangeworlds Travel Agency, each suitcase transports you to a different world. All you have to do is step inside . . .When 12-year-old Flick Hudson accidentally ends up in the Strangeworlds Travel Agency, she uncovers a fantastic secret: there are hundreds of other worlds just steps away from ours. All you have to do to visit them is jump into the right suitcase. Then Flick gets the invitation of a lifetime: join Strangeworlds' magical travel society and explore other worlds.But, unknown to Flick, the world at the very centre of it all, a city called Five Lights, is in danger. Buildings and even streets are mysteriously disappearing. Once Flick realizes what's happening she must race against time, travelling through unchartered worlds, seeking a way to fix Five Lights before it collapses into nothingness - and takes our world with it.
L.D Lapinski
About the author

L.D Lapinski

L. D. Lapinski lives just outside Sherwood Forest with her family, a lot of books, and a cat called Hector.When she isn't writing, L.D. can be found cosplaying, drinking a lot of cherry cola, and taking care of a forest of succulent plants.You can find her on Twitter @ldlapinski or at ldlapinski.com

Books by L.D Lapinski

COMMENTS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *