Rich with Atmosphere and Detail: Read an Extract From The Girl in the Painting by Tea Cooper

Rich with Atmosphere and Detail: Read an Extract From The Girl in the Painting by Tea Cooper

Start reading now

Maitland 1913 Miss Elizabeth Quinn is something of an institution in Maitland Town. For longer than anyone could remember she and her brother, businessman Michael, have lived in the impressive two-storey stone house next to the church. When she is discovered cowering in the corner of the exhibition gallery at the Technical College the entire town knows something strange has come to pass.

Was it the prehistoric remains or perhaps the taxidermy exhibition that had reduced the whale-boned encased pillar of society to a quivering mess? Or is there something odd about a striking painting on loan from the National Gallery?

Mathematical savant Jane Piper is determined to find out. Deposited on the doorstep of the local orphanage as a baby, she owes her life and education to the Quinn’s philanthropic ventures. Jane had been in the orphanage for years before the siblings recognised her genius and took her to live with them while she went to school. Now Jane feels a responsibility to find out what’s going on with Elizabeth.

As the past and the present converge, Elizabeth’s grip on reality loosens. Can Jane, with her logical brain and penchant for puzzles, unravel Elizabeth’s story before it is too late?

The novel is told through different narrators over two timelines, fifty years apart and in both Australia and in England. We witness brother and sister Michael and Elizabeth Quinn’s journey to Australia in the late 1800s, to join their parents. When their parents don’t meet them as expected, Michael leaves Elizabeth in the care of a woman they met on the ship. Did something happen to Elizabeth in Mrs Cameron’s care? Or did something happen before then? And will Jane be able to work it out.

Without giving anything away, this is a fantastic historical mystery, cleverly told around a number of unrelated historical events. Tea Cooper has a reputation for writing strong, complex female characters and here is no different. Jane is especially fascinating.

Ranging from the gritty reality of the Australian goldfields to the grand institutions of Sydney, the bucolic English countryside to the charm of Maitland Town, this compelling historical mystery, with an eccentric and original heroine, is rich with atmosphere and detail.

I found it difficult to put this book down and had just-one-more-chapter-itis well into the early hours. Truly one of my favourite reads of the year. I’m now off to immerse myself in Tea Cooper’s backlist over the holidays. Don’t miss this one!

Buy a copy of The Girl in the Painting here.

About the author:

Tea Cooper is an established Australian author of contemporary and historical fiction. In a past life she was a teacher, a journalist and a farmer. These days she haunts museums and indulges her passion for storytelling. She is the bestselling author of several novels, including The Horse ThiefThe Cedar CutterThe Currency LassThe Naturalist’s Daughter and The Woman in the Green Dress.

To find out more, visit Tea on her website. 

You can also follow Tea on FacebookInstagram, and Twitter.

 

Reviews

The Girl in the Painting by Tea Cooper: Your Preview Verdict

Review | Preview

16 December 2019

The Girl in the Painting by Tea Cooper: Your Preview Verdict

    Preview Reviews: The Girl in the Painting by Tea Cooper

    Review | Preview

    16 December 2019

    Preview Reviews: The Girl in the Painting by Tea Cooper

      A Compelling Historical Mystery: Read a Review of The Girl in the Painting by Tea Cooper

      Review | Our Review

      16 December 2019

      A Compelling Historical Mystery: Read a Review of The Girl in the Painting by Tea Cooper

        Related Articles

        Podcast: Tea Cooper on her Journey from Boarding School to Bestselling Author

        Podcast

        9 March 2020

        Podcast: Tea Cooper on her Journey from Boarding School to Bestselling Author

          I'm Fascinated by Family History: Q&A with The Girl in the Painting Author, Tea Cooper

          News | Author Related

          17 December 2019

          I'm Fascinated by Family History: Q&A with The Girl in the Painting Author, Tea Cooper

            The Girl in the Painting Author, Tea Cooper's Best Books of the Year

            News | Author Related

            17 December 2019

            The Girl in the Painting Author, Tea Cooper's Best Books of the Year

              Publisher details

              The Girl in the Painting
              Author
              Tea Cooper
              Publisher
              Harlequin
              Genres
              Australian Fiction, Fiction, Historical Fiction
              Released
              16 December, 2019

              Synopsis

              For readers of The True Story of Maddie Bright, The Woman in the Green Dress and The Birdman's Wife comes this atmospheric and richly detailed Australian historical mystery from a bestselling Australian author.Maitland 1913 Miss Elizabeth Quinn is something of an institution in Maitland Town. For longer than anyone could remember she and her brother, businessman Michael, have lived in the impressive two-storey stone house next to the church. When she is discovered cowering in the corner of the exhibition gallery at the Technical College the entire town knows something strange has come to pass.Was it the prehistoric remains or perhaps the taxidermy exhibition that had reduced the whale-boned encased pillar of society to a quivering mess? Or is there something odd about a striking painting on loan from the National Gallery?Mathematical savant Jane Piper is determined to find out. Deposited on the doorstep of the local orphanage as a baby, she owes her life and education to the Quinns' philanthropic ventures and Elizabeth has no one else to turn to.As the past and the present converge, Elizabeth's grip on reality loosens. Can Jane, with her logical brain and penchant for puzzles, unravel Elizabeth's story before it is too late?Ranging from the gritty reality of the Australian goldfields to the grand institutions of Sydney, the bucolic English countryside to the charm of Maitland Town, this compelling historical mystery in the company of an eccentric and original heroine is rich with atmosphere and detail.
              Tea Cooper
              About the author

              Tea Cooper

              Tea Cooper lives in a stone cottage on one hundred acres of bushland, just outside the time-warp village of Wollombi, NSW Australia. When she isn't writing, Tea can be found haunting the local museum or chatting to the locals, who provide her with a never-ending source of inspiration.

              Books by Tea Cooper

              COMMENTS

              Leave a Reply

              Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *