Riptides by Kirsten Alexander is a Stunning Achievement

Riptides by Kirsten Alexander is a Stunning Achievement

Friday 6 December 1974

Charlie

I wake when Abby shouts. She reaches across me and grabs the steering wheel. A car horn brays. White beams flare at us then pitch to the right. For an instant, a rump of blue metal shines in our headlights. I elbow my sister out of the way and take the wheel, leaning back hard so I don’t slam my head into it. Abby flattens her hands against the dashboard as I brake and strain to control our sideways skid. She screams my name. We sling to one side of the narrow dirt road and the other car slings the opposite way, like wrong ends of magnets made to meet. We slide to an angled stop, pointing into scrappy bushland.

Continue reading the Riptides extract here…

Reviews

Riptides Author, Kirsten Alexander says Researching the 1970s was Great Fun

Review | Author Related

18 February 2020

Riptides Author, Kirsten Alexander says Researching the 1970s was Great Fun

    Riptides by Kirsten Alexander: Your Preview Verdict

    Review | Preview

    12 February 2020

    Riptides by Kirsten Alexander: Your Preview Verdict

      Preview Reviews: Riptides by Kirsten Alexander

      Review | Preview

      11 February 2020

      Preview Reviews: Riptides by Kirsten Alexander

        Riptides by Kirsten Alexander is a Riveting Page-Turner

        Review | Our Review

        10 February 2020

        Riptides by Kirsten Alexander is a Riveting Page-Turner

          Better Reading Preview: Riptides by Kirsten Alexander

          Review | Preview

          13 November 2019

          Better Reading Preview: Riptides by Kirsten Alexander

            Related Articles

            Never Alone: Writing advice from Kirsten Alexander, author of Half Moon Lake

            News

            21 January 2019

            Never Alone: Writing advice from Kirsten Alexander, author of Half Moon Lake

              Writing About The Human Experience: Q&A with author of Half Moon Lake, Kirsten Alexander

              News

              9 January 2019

              Writing About The Human Experience: Q&A with author of Half Moon Lake, Kirsten Alexander

                A Child's Suspicious Disappearance: Read an extract from Half Moon Lake by Kirsten Alexander

                News

                9 January 2019

                A Child's Suspicious Disappearance: Read an extract from Half Moon Lake by Kirsten Alexander

                  Family, Identity, Loss: Review of Half Moon Lake by Kirsten Alexander

                  News

                  8 January 2019

                  Family, Identity, Loss: Review of Half Moon Lake by Kirsten Alexander

                    Publisher details

                    Riptides
                    Author
                    Kirsten Alexander
                    Publisher
                    Penguin
                    Genres
                    Australian Fiction, Crime Fiction
                    Released
                    04 February, 2020

                    Synopsis

                    Set in Queensland during a time of tremendous social upheaval, Riptides is a gripping family drama about dreams, choices and consequences, from the author of the acclaimed Half Moon Lake.One bad decision can tear your world apart . . .December 1974. Abby Campbell and her brother Charlie are driving to their father’s farm on a dark country road when they swerve into the path of another car, forcing it into a tree. The pregnant driver is killed instantly.In the heat of the moment, Abby and Charlie make a fateful decision. They flee, hoping heavy rain will erase the fact they were there. They both have too much to lose.But they have no idea who they’ve just killed or how many lives will be affected by her death. Soon the truth is like a riptide they can’t escape, as their terrible secret pulls them down deeper by the day.
                    Kirsten Alexander
                    About the author

                    Kirsten Alexander

                    Kirsten Alexander was born in San Francisco, raised in Brisbane, and now lives in Melbourne with her partner and two sons. Half Moon Lake is her first published novel.

                    Books by Kirsten Alexander

                    COMMENTS

                    Leave a Reply

                    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *