See Why We’re all Talking About A Good Neighbourhood by Therese Anne Fowler

See Why We’re all Talking About A Good Neighbourhood by Therese Anne Fowler

1.

An upscale new house in a simple old neighborhood. A girl on a chaise beside a swimming pool, who wants to be left alone. We begin our story here, in the minutes before the small event that will change everything. A Sunday afternoon in May when our neighborhood is still maintaining its tenuous peace, a loose balance between old and new, us and them. Later this summer when the funeral takes place, the media will speculate boldly on who’s to blame. They’ll challenge attendees to say on camera whose side they’re on.

For the record: we never wanted to take sides.

Continue reading the extract here…

Reviews

A Good Neighbourhood Author, Therese Anne Fowler on Being Inspired by an Oak Tree

Review | Author Related

16 March 2020

A Good Neighbourhood Author, Therese Anne Fowler on Being Inspired by an Oak Tree

    A Good Neighbourhood by Therese Anne Fowler is a Powerful Novel that I Read in One Sitting

    Review | Our Review

    16 March 2020

    A Good Neighbourhood by Therese Anne Fowler is a Powerful Novel that I Read in One Sitting

      Publisher details

      A Good Neighbourhood
      Released
      10 March, 2020

      Synopsis

      A provocative novel about class, race and star-crossed love in modern America from New York Times bestselling author Therese Anne Fowler that implicates us all in its damning, heart-wrenching conclusion.A Good Neighbourhood explores how class, race and star-crossed love will change two families' lives forever. Perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Jodi Picoult.In Oak Knoll, a tight-knit North Carolina neighbourhood, professor of forestry and ecology Valerie Alston-Holt is raising her bright and talented biracial son. All is well until the Whitmans move in next door - an apparently traditional family with new money, ambition, and a secretly troubled teenage daughter.With little in common except a property line, these two very different families quickly find themselves at odds over an historic oak tree in Valerie's yard.But as they fight, they fail to notice that there is a romance blossoming between their two teenagers. A romance that will challenge the carefully constructed concepts of class and race in this small community. A romance that might cause everything to shatter...
      Therese Anne Fowler
      About the author

      Therese Anne Fowler

      Therese Anne Fowler was born in Illinois and is a graduate of North Carolina State University, where she earned a BA in sociology and an MFA in creative writing.ThereseAnneFowler.com twitter.com/ThereseFowler facebook.com/thereseannefowler.books

      COMMENTS

      Leave a Reply

      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *