Gripping and Thought-Provoking: Read Our Review of One Punch by Julie Fison

Gripping and Thought-Provoking: Read Our Review of One Punch by Julie Fison

Yasmin Weston is on holiday when she learns that her son Daniel has been assaulted at home in Australia, leaving him with a debilitating brain injury. She vows to hunt down his attacker.

Evie MacIntyre knows the Westons from school. She’s never had much time for Yasmin and she dislikes Daniel because he bullied her son, Brody. When Evie discovers evidence that Brody was involved in the attack, she is torn but decides there is no way she will let her only son go to jail.

As two mothers wrestle with the consequences of their actions, two families suffer the shockwaves of one catastrophic night and a punch that changes everything. A contemporary family drama following two mothers at the centre of a tragedy, One Punch is perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult and Celeste Ng’s Little Fires Everywhere.

Australians will remember the introduction of ‘one punch’ or ‘coward punch’ laws to attempt to curb the alcohol-fuelled violence that led to multiple deaths in the early 2010s. Author Julie Fison has seen the impact of such violence first-hand, when a close friend’s son was knocked unconscious in Brisbane. As a mother of two sons herself, she was moved to write One Punch, her first novel for adults, which delves into the ramifications of a one punch incident and the ethical questions that two sons and two mothers grapple with in its aftermath. The result is a gripping and thought-provoking read.

One Punch is told in a dual narrative from the perspectives of Yasmin, whose son was injured, and Evie, whose son becomes implicated in the incident. By telling the story from both women’s perspectives, Fison weaves a fascinating story that asks important questions about the lengths parents will go to protect their children, whether they are victims or perpetrators of violence. The local settings in Brisbane are vividly portrayed and the characters are believable; it’s clear that Fison has written a story that hits close to home for her – and it will for many readers too.

One Punch is not only a gripping domestic drama but digs deep into controversial questions about violence in the community, especially amongst teenagers, and how it affects families. A compelling, must-read from Fison.

Buy a copy of One Punch here.

Reviews

Your Preview Verdict: One Punch by Julie Fison

Review | Preview

27 June 2022

Your Preview Verdict: One Punch by Julie Fison

    Compelling Family Drama: Read an Extract from One Punch by Julie Fison

    Review | Extract

    26 May 2022

    Compelling Family Drama: Read an Extract from One Punch by Julie Fison

      Publisher details

      One Punch
      Author
      Julie Fison
      Publisher
      Affirm Press
      Genre
      Fiction
      Released
      31 May, 2022
      ISBN
      9781922711458

      Synopsis

      A contemporary family drama following two mothers at the centre of a tragedy, One Punch is for fans of Jodi Picoult and Celeste Ng s Little Fires Everywhere.Jasmine Weston is on holiday when she learns that her son Daniel has been assaulted at home in Australia, leaving him with a debilitating brain injury. She vows to hunt down her son s attacker.Evie MacIntyre knows the Westons from school. She s never had much time for Jasmine, and she dislikes Daniel because he bullied her son, Brody. When Evie discovers evidence that Brody was involved in the attack, she is torn but decides there is no way she will let her only son go to jail.As two mothers wrestle with the consequences of their actions, two families suffer the shockwaves of one catastrophic night and a punch that changes everything.
      Julie Fison
      About the author

      Julie Fison

      Books by Julie Fison

      COMMENTS

      Leave a Reply

      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *