Heartbreaking and Uplifting: Read our review of The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien Charles

Heartbreaking and Uplifting: Read our review of The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien Charles

A story of courage, defiance and betrayal in Occupied Paris, perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Book Thief and The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society.

Paris, 1939

Odile Souchet is obsessed with books, and her new job at the American Library in Paris – with its thriving community of students, writers and book lovers – is a dream come true. When war is declared, the Library is determined to remain open. But then the Nazis invade Paris and everything changes.

In Occupied Paris, choices as black and white as the words on a page become a murky shade of grey – choices that will put many on the wrong side of history, and the consequences of which will echo for decades to come.

Montana, 1983

Lily is a lonely teenager desperate to escape small-town Montana. She grows close to her neighbour Odile, discovering they share the same love of language, the same longings. But as Lily uncovers more about Odile’s mysterious past, she discovers a dark secret, closely guarded and long hidden.

Based on the true Second World War story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris who risked their lives during the Nazi’s war on words, The Paris Library by award-winning novelist Janet Skeslien Charles is an unforgettable story of romance, friendship, family, and of heroism found in the quietest of places.

For those of you who aren’t aware, I’m an avid reader of historical fiction, and as such, I’ve read plenty of WWII historical novels, particularly those set in Occupied Paris. The Paris Library was unlike any of these. Following Odile in her new job at the American Library in Paris, the novel offers a unique and refreshing take on the events of WWII, as seen through the lens of the library, its staff and subscribers.

The Paris setting was vividly imagined and beautifully wrought, especially the library, which is depicted as a warm, happy, safe and enlightened place. Charles herself actually lived in Paris for over a decade and even worked at The American Library in Paris, which is certainly evident when you follow her detailed descriptions of this building and the different kinds of people who occupied it.

While the novel is filled with gorgeous settings and a delightful cast of characters – some of whom actually existed in real life – what I loved the most about The Paris Library is the way it celebrates the power of books, libraries and storytelling.

Meticulously researched, moving and utterly enchanting, The Paris Library is a heart-breaking and uplifting story that is an absolute must-read for book lovers and fans of historical fiction. Books, libraries, Paris… what’s not to love?

Reviews

Charming and Unforgettable: Read an Extract of The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien Charles

Review | Extract

9 February 2021

Charming and Unforgettable: Read an Extract of The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien Charles

    5 Quick Questions with Janet Skeslien Charles, Author of The Paris Library

    Review | Author Related

    9 February 2021

    5 Quick Questions with Janet Skeslien Charles, Author of The Paris Library

      Related Articles

      Podcast: Janet Skeslien Charles on the Unusual Woman Who Sparked Her Love of France‬

      Podcast

      18 March 2021

      Podcast: Janet Skeslien Charles on the Unusual Woman Who Sparked Her Love of France‬

        Synopsis

        Inspired by the true story of the librarians who risked their lives during the Nazis' war on words: a story of courage and betrayal inspired by real-life defiance in Occupied Paris, perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Book Thief and The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie SocietyPARIS, 1939 Odile Souchet is obsessed with books, and her new job at the American Library in Paris - with its thriving community of students, writers and book lovers - is a dream come true. When war is declared, the Library is determined to remain open. But then the Nazis invade Paris, and everything changes. In Occupied Paris, choices as black and white as the words on a page become a murky shade of grey - choices that will put many on the wrong side of history, and the consequences of which will echo for decades to come.MONTANA, 1983 Lily is a lonely teenage desperate to escape small-town Montana. She grows close to her neighbour Odile, discovering they share the same love of language, the same longings. But as Lily uncovers more about Odile's mysterious past, she discovers a dark secret, closely guarded and long hidden.Based on the true Second World War story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris, this is an unforgettable novel of romance, friendship, family, and of heroism found in the quietest of places.
        Janet Skeslien Charles
        About the author

        Janet Skeslien Charles

        Janet Skeslien Charles is an award-winning author with over a decade's worth of roaming the streets of Paris and researching in its libraries. Her debut novel, Moonlight in Odessa, was published in ten languages and was awarded the Melissa Nathan prize and the Completement Livre prize in Strasbourg.Originally from Montana, as a child she lived on the same street as a French war bride and was fascinated by the war stories of her French professor. Janet began to research The Paris Library when she worked as Programs Manager at the American Library in Paris. Until recently she taught in Paris, where she still lives.

        Books by Janet Skeslien Charles

        COMMENTS

        Leave a Reply

        Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *