Alexandra Joel’s The Royal Correspondent is, Quite Simply, Fabulous

Alexandra Joel’s The Royal Correspondent is, Quite Simply, Fabulous

From Alexandra Joel, the bestselling author of The Paris Model, comes another breathtaking story of glamour, romance and espionage.

Success would depend on taking a dangerous risk.

When Blaise Hill, a feisty young journalist from one of Sydney’s toughest neighbourhoods, is dispatched to London at the dawn of the swinging sixties to report on Princess Margaret’s controversial marriage to an unconventional photographer, she is drawn into an elite realm of glamour and intrigue.

As the nation faces an explosive upheaval, Blaise must grapple with a series of shocking scandals at the pinnacle of British society. Yet, haunted by a threat from her past and torn between two very different men, who can she trust in a world of hidden motives and shifting alliances? If she makes the wrong choice, she will lose everything.

Inspired by real events, The Royal Correspondent is a compelling story of love and betrayal, family secrets and conspiracy that takes you from the gritty life of a daily newspaper to the opulent splendour of Buckingham Palace.

If you’ve finished binging on The Crown and need a royal fix, then look no further. The Royal Correspondent is the perfect salve for fans of the series. It will sweep you up with its winning combination of historical facts and fabulous fiction, as well as some great references to author Alexandra Joel’s last novel, The Paris Model. It’s perfect for fans of Fiona McIntosh and Natasha Lester, but also for readers who enjoy great historical romance writers like Barbara Taylor Bradford.

Joel’s debut The Paris Model, which was extremely popular with our readers, was inspired by an astonishing true story, told to Joel by a good friend. In this new novel, Joel is once again inspired by real-life; Joel is the former editor of Harper’s Bazaar and her father was a journalist, and she combines that experience in The Royal Correspondent, along with exceptional research and great storytelling. While this is only her second novel, her vast experience as a writer is evident, but most significantly, she has that rare flair for drawing the reader into sumptuous worlds from glamorous bygone eras.

The Royal Correspondent is, quite simply, a fabulous story, with an extremely compelling protagonist at its heart. We follow Blaise’s journey from the gritty, inner-city suburb of Enmore, to 1960s swinging London, where she covers the wedding of Princess Margaret, and the secrets of London’s high society. She’s a gutsy, modern woman, with complex layers that make for an interesting read. Alexandra Joel has hit her stride here. Stay tuned for more from this fabulous author.

Reviews

Glamour, Romance and Espionage: Read an Extract From The Royal Correspondent by Alexandra Joel

Review | Extract

22 February 2021

Glamour, Romance and Espionage: Read an Extract From The Royal Correspondent by Alexandra Joel

    Related Articles

    ‘Would you let me write Grace’s story?’ Interview with The Paris Model Author, Alexandra Joel

    News | Author Related

    21 January 2020

    ‘Would you let me write Grace’s story?’ Interview with The Paris Model Author, Alexandra Joel

      Publisher details

      The Royal Correspondent
      Author
      Alexandra Joel
      Publisher
      HarperCollins
      Genre
      Historical Fiction
      Released
      03 February, 2021

      Synopsis

      Success would depend on taking a dangerous risk. When Blaise Hill, a feisty young journalist from one of Sydney's toughest neighbourhoods, is dispatched to London at the dawn of the swinging sixties to report on Princess Margaret's controversial marriage to an unconventional photographer, she is drawn into an elite realm of glamour and intrigue. As the nation faces an explosive upheaval, Blaise must grapple with a series of shocking scandals at the pinnacle of British society. Yet, haunted by a threat from her past and torn between two very different men, who can she trust in a world of hidden motives and shifting alliances? If she makes the wrong choice, she will lose everything. Inspired by real events, The Royal Correspondent is a compelling story of love and betrayal, family secrets and conspiracy that takes you from the gritty life of a daily newspaper to the opulent splendour of Buckingham Palace.
      Alexandra Joel
      About the author

      Alexandra Joel

      Alexandra Joel is the author of Parade: the Story of Fashion in Australia, a social history detailing the development of fashion, style and national identity. She is a former editor of the Australian edition of the international magazine Harper's Bazaar, and of Portfolio, Australia's first magazine for working women. She has also been a regular contributor of feature articles, interviews and reviews to a number of national and metropolitan publications including The Australian and the Sydney Morning Herald Good Weekend Magazine.More recently, Alexandra has been a practising counsellor and psychotherapist. She is an honours graduate from the University of Sydney and has a Graduate Diploma in Applied Psychology.

      Books by Alexandra Joel

      COMMENTS

      Leave a Reply

      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *