Return of the Reluctant Superhero: Read our Review of Pizazz #3: Pizazz vs Perfecto by Sophy Henn

Return of the Reluctant Superhero: Read our Review of Pizazz #3: Pizazz vs Perfecto by Sophy Henn

Being a superhero is the best thing ever, right? Wrong! Pizazz is a superhero, and while it sounds pretty awesome and while it can be, Pizazz finds it REALLY annoying! She doesn’t like her name and thinks her superpower isn’t cool at all.

Pizazz is now 9½. She thinks her superhero status is actually un-super. For starters, although she can decide how she defeats evil baddies (even if she’d much rather be at a roller disco or reading a book) her mum still decides what clothes she wears, and she has to get her homework done on time.

Even though she’s saving the world ALL THE TIME, there are still LOADS of bad guys about. Like super baddie Perfecto! She’s younger than Pizazz, and just … well, perfect! But Pizazz has a plan. Maybe she just needs to be perfect too—even more perfect than Perfecto. Easy-peasy, right?!

Sophy Henn is an award-winning picture book author and illustrator. She’s the creator of the much-loved Bad Nana series and Pom Pom series, among others. Her debut picture book Where Bear? was nominated for the Kate Greenaway Medal and shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize. Henn was also the World Book Day Illustrator in 2015 and 2016. Through the Pizazz series, we can clearly see why she is deserving of these titles and nominations.

I’ve been eagerly awaiting this third instalment in the Pizazz series, and it did not disappoint! From a fire-farting granddad to a band called Cheese Squares, I was left in stitches from the book’s many laugh-out-loud moments. As always, Henn’s signature blend of text and comic-strip panels created a seamless read from start to finish—I read it in only two days!

While the Pizazz series is hilarious and witty, Henn’s constant ability to send out important lessons of unity, friendship, and growth never ceases to amaze me. Pizazz vs Perfecto’s emphasis on perfection and the struggle to fit in is significant, showing readers that no one is perfect—not even superheroes—and sometimes our mistakes can turn into our biggest successes.

Hilariously narrated by reluctant superhero Pizazz, Pizazz vs Perfecto is the third book in the laugh-out-loud series for 7+ readers. Brimming with Henn’s hilarious signature illustrations, this is the perfect read for fans of Dork Diaries, Tom Gates, Amelia Fang, Wimpy Kid and Dog Man.

Reviews

Laugh-Out-Loud Funny: Extract from Pizazz vs Perfecto by Sophy Henn

Review | Extract

30 July 2021

Laugh-Out-Loud Funny: Extract from Pizazz vs Perfecto by Sophy Henn

Related Articles

Illustrate Your Own Comic Strip! Activity from Pizazz vs Perfecto by Sophy Henn

News | Book Life

26 July 2021

Illustrate Your Own Comic Strip! Activity from Pizazz vs Perfecto by Sophy Henn

Publisher details

Pizazz #3: Pizazz vs Perfecto
Author
Sophy Henn
Publisher
Simon and Schuster
Genre
Children’s Fiction
Released
28 July, 2021
ISBN
9781471194177

Synopsis

The third book in the new series for 7+ readers from the amazingly talented illustrator and author Sophy Henn! Brimming with Sophy's hilarious signature illustrations, this is the perfect read for fans of Dork Diaries, Tom Gates, Amelia Fang, Wimpy Kid and Dog Man. HELLO! My name is PIZAZZ and I’m a superhero . . . You probably think that’s really AWESOME, and while it can be, it’s also REEEEEEEAAALLLLY annoying. Even though I’m saving the world ALL THE TIME, there are still LOADS of bad guys about. Like super baddie PERFECTO! She’s younger than me, and just . . . well, PERFECT! But I have a plan. Maybe I just need to be perfect too – even more perfect than Perfecto. Easy-peasy, right?! Hilariously narrated by reluctant superhero Pizazz, and brimming with Sophy’s distinctive illustrations and comic-book strips, this is the third book in the laugh-out-loud PIZAZZ series.
Sophy Henn
About the author

Sophy Henn

Sophy Henn is the acclaimed picture book maker behind Where Bear?, Pass It On, Edie, and the adorable Pom Pom series. She studied at Camberwell and Central Saint Martins, and is a graduate of the MA in Sequential Illustration at the University of Brighton. Her debut title, Where Bear?, was shortlisted for the AOI Illustration Awards 2014 and the Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2015. Her subsequent titles have gone on to great success, and Sophy was chosen as the World Book Day illustrator in 2015. Sophy is letting her wicked side out in this exciting new series for slightly older readers!

Books by Sophy Henn

COMMENTS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *