Tea Cooper’s The Cartographer’s Secret is an Excellent Australian Historical

Tea Cooper’s The Cartographer’s Secret is an Excellent Australian Historical

A young woman’s quest to heal a family rift entangles her in one of Australia’s greatest historical puzzles when an intricately illustrated map offers a clue to the fate of a long-lost girl. A mesmerising historical mystery set in the Hunter Valley from bestselling author Tea Cooper.

1880. The Hunter Valley. Evie Ludgrove loves to map the landscape around her home – hardly surprising since she grew up in the shadow of her father’s obsession with the great Australian explorer Dr Ludwig Leichhardt. So when an advertisement appears in The Bulletin magazine offering a one thousand pound reward for proof of where Leichhardt met his fate, Evie is determined to figure it out – after all, there are clues in her father’s papers and in the archives of The Royal Geographical Society. But when Evie sets out to prove her theory she vanishes without a trace, leaving behind a mystery that taints everyone’s lives for 30 years.

1911. When Letitia Rawlings arrives at the family estate in her Model T Ford, her purpose is to inform her great aunt Olivia of a bereavement. But Letitia is also escaping her own problems – her brother’s sudden death, her mother’s scheming and her own dissatisfaction with the life planned out for her. So when Letitia discovers a beautifully illustrated map that might hold a clue to the fate of her missing aunt, Evie Ludgrove, her curiosity is aroused and she sets out to discover the truth of Evie’s disappearance.

But all is not as it seems at Yellow Rock estate and as events unfold, Letitia begins to realise that solving the mystery of her family’s past could offer as much peril as redemption.

Tea Cooper has quickly become one of my favourite authors. The release of each new novel is something I really look forward to. Her last novel, The Girl in the Painting, was an atmospheric and richly detailed Australian historical mystery, and one of my standout reads of the year.

Weaving together historical facts with fabulous fiction, Tea delivers a richly imagined world. Her research is impeccable and the era vividly drawn. Once again, the Hunter Valley setting comes to life. Her author notes at the back of the book are also fascinating: “When I discovered that most of those early cartographers were women, working in their family business and obliged to sign their maps with their husband’s name, I was more than a little outraged!”

Tea excels at writing complex, strong female characters. Evie and Lettie, and their dual timelines and tales, are completely mesmerising. I devoured this novel over the weekend and haven’t stopped thinking about it since. The Cartographer’s Secret is an excellent Australian historical.

 

 

 

 

Related Articles

Podcast: Tea Cooper on her Journey from Boarding School to Bestselling Author

Podcast

9 March 2020

Podcast: Tea Cooper on her Journey from Boarding School to Bestselling Author

    I'm Fascinated by Family History: Q&A with The Girl in the Painting Author, Tea Cooper

    News | Author Related

    17 December 2019

    I'm Fascinated by Family History: Q&A with The Girl in the Painting Author, Tea Cooper

      The Girl in the Painting Author, Tea Cooper's Best Books of the Year

      News | Author Related

      17 December 2019

      The Girl in the Painting Author, Tea Cooper's Best Books of the Year

        A Timeless Land: Author Tea Cooper on how Australia inspires her writing

        News

        19 December 2018

        A Timeless Land: Author Tea Cooper on how Australia inspires her writing

          Inspired by Australia: Tea Cooper on writing The Woman in the Green Dress

          News

          19 December 2018

          Inspired by Australia: Tea Cooper on writing The Woman in the Green Dress

            Rich Historical Fiction: Read an extract from The Woman in the Green Dress by Tea Cooper

            News

            19 December 2018

            Rich Historical Fiction: Read an extract from The Woman in the Green Dress by Tea Cooper

              For history and mystery fans: Why The Woman in the Green Dress is a wonderful Christmas gift

              News

              18 December 2018

              For history and mystery fans: Why The Woman in the Green Dress is a wonderful Christmas gift

                Jealousy, Envy, Desire: Review of The Woman in the Green Dress by Tea Cooper

                News

                17 December 2018

                Jealousy, Envy, Desire: Review of The Woman in the Green Dress by Tea Cooper

                  Blending Historical Fiction and Mystery: read a sample chapter from The Naturalist's Daughter by Tea Cooper

                  News

                  12 March 2018

                  Blending Historical Fiction and Mystery: read a sample chapter from The Naturalist's Daughter by Tea Cooper

                    Platypus or Platypii: The Naturalist's Daughter by Tea Cooper

                    News

                    23 January 2018

                    Platypus or Platypii: The Naturalist's Daughter by Tea Cooper

                      Synopsis

                      A young woman's quest to heal a family rift entangles her in one of Australia's greatest historical puzzles when an intricately illustrated map offers a clue to the fate of a long-lost girl. A mesmerising historical mystery set in the Hunter Valley from bestselling author Tea Cooper for readers of Natasha Lester and Kate Morton. 1880 The Hunter Valley Evie Ludgrove loves to map the landscape around her home - hardly surprising since she grew up in the shadow of her father's obsession with the great Australian explorer Dr Ludwig Leichhardt. So when an advertisement appears in The Bulletin magazine offering a one thousand pound reward for proof of where Leichhardt met his fate, Evie is determined to figure it out - after all, there are clues in her father's papers and in the archives of The Royal Geographical Society. But when Evie sets out to prove her theory she vanishes without a trace, leaving behind a mystery that taints everyone's lives for 30 years. 1911 When Letitia Rawlings arrives at the family estate in her Model T Ford, her purpose is to inform her Great Aunt Olivia of a bereavement. But Letitia is also escaping her own problems - her brother's sudden death, her mother's scheming and her own dissatisfaction with the life planned out for her. So when Letitia discovers a beautifully illustrated map that might hold a clue to the fate of her missing aunt, Evie Ludgrove, her curiosity is aroused and she sets out to discover the truth of Evie's disappearance. But all is not as it seems at Yellow Rock estate and as events unfold, Letitia begins to realise that solving the mystery of her family's past could offer as much peril as redemption.
                      Tea Cooper
                      About the author

                      Tea Cooper

                      Tea Cooper lives in a stone cottage on one hundred acres of bushland, just outside the time-warp village of Wollombi, NSW Australia. When she isn't writing, Tea can be found haunting the local museum or chatting to the locals, who provide her with a never-ending source of inspiration.

                      Books by Tea Cooper

                      COMMENTS

                      Leave a Reply

                      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *