Secrets, Lies and Scandal: Read our Review of Where the Grass is Green by Lauren Weisberger

Secrets, Lies and Scandal: Read our Review of Where the Grass is Green by Lauren Weisberger

Peyton Marcus is the woman New York wakes up to, anchor of the most-watched morning show in the city. With a husband who adores her and a daughter who’s headed to one of the best Ivy League schools, Peyton Marcus is that woman, and she’s damn good at it…

Skye, her sister, is a stay-at-home mom in Paradise, the idyllic NY suburb that’s home to designer boutiques and people who fly private. She has a knack for helicopter-parenting with the best of them. But she’s not like them. She’s looking for something real and it’s within touching distance…

Max, Peyton’s bright and quirky seventeen-year-old daughter, is poised to kiss the fancy private school she hates goodbye – and all of its spoiled rich kids – and head off to pursue her dreams in film. She’s waited her entire life for this opportunity…

One little lie. That’s all it takes. For the illusions to crack. For resentments to surface. Suddenly the grass doesn’t look so green. And they’re left wondering: will they have what it takes to survive the truth?

Lauren Weisberger is the international bestselling author of The Devil Wears Prada, a hugely popular novel which spent more than a year on the New York Times bestsellers list, and was adapted into a successful film. Her other bestsellers include When Life Gives You Lululemons, The Singles Game and Revenge Wears Prada. Now she’s back with Where the Grass is Green, a highly entertaining, sharply observed novel about two sisters, their perfect lives… and their perfect lies.

I should start by saying that I LOVED The Devil Wears Prada (I think we all did, right?). So naturally, I had high expectations when I picked up Weisberger’s latest novel, Where the Grass is Green, and I was not disappointed. What a fabulous read! It’s a gripping, smart and hilarious domestic drama, perfect for fans of The Morning Show and The Good Wife.

The novel follows sisters Peyton and Skye, who are polar opposites: Peyton is a polished, successful news anchor who wears designer clothes and spends ridiculous amounts of money on perfecting her appearance. Whereas Skye is a stay-at-home suburban mum, who wears flowy maxi skirts and puts all her energy into parenting and charity work. Though vastly different, it’s clear these sisters care about each other a lot, and I enjoyed following their relationship dynamics throughout the novel. Peyton’s daughter Max was also a fantastic character: she’s a smart, quirky and extremely relatable young woman, who struggles under the pressure her parents place on her.

Though the novel was wildly entertaining, with plenty of laugh-out-loud moments, it also touches on some important and timely issues, such as a college admissions scandal, which plays a big role here.

Hilarious, witty and very addictive, Where the Grass is Green is yet another fabulous read from Lauren Weisberger. Do yourself a favour and pop it at the top of your TBR pile – it’s the perfect weekend read.

Reviews

Glamorous and Addictive: Read an Extract from Where The Grass is Green by Lauren Weisberger

Review | Extract

27 April 2021

Glamorous and Addictive: Read an Extract from Where The Grass is Green by Lauren Weisberger

    Related Articles

    Rich People, Scandals, Revenge: Read a sample chapter from When Life Gives You Lululemons by Lauren Weisberger

    News

    12 June 2018

    Rich People, Scandals, Revenge: Read a sample chapter from When Life Gives You Lululemons by Lauren Weisberger

      The Devil Wears Prada Spin-Off: Review of When Life Gives You Lululemons by Lauren Weisberger

      News

      12 June 2018

      The Devil Wears Prada Spin-Off: Review of When Life Gives You Lululemons by Lauren Weisberger

        Publisher details

        Where The Grass Is Green
        Author
        Lauren Weisberger
        Publisher
        HarperCollins
        Genre
        Fiction
        Released
        21 April, 2021

        Synopsis

        Perfect lives. Perfect lies. The brand new novel from the global bestselling author of The Devil Wears Prada Peyton Marcus is the woman New York wakes up to, anchor of the most-watched morning show in the city. With a husband who adores her and a daughter who’s headed to one of the best Ivy League schools, Peyton Marcus is that woman, and she’s damn good at it… Skye, her sister, is a stay-at-home mom in Paradise, the idyllic NY suburb that’s home to designer boutiques and people who fly private. She has a knack for helicopter-parenting with the best of them. But she’s not like them. She’s looking for something real and it’s within touching distance… Max, Peyton’s bright and quirky seventeen-year-old daughter, is poised to kiss the fancy private school she hates goodbye – and all of its spoiled rich kids – and head off to pursue her dreams in film. She’s waited her entire life for this opportunity… But suddenly the grass isn’t looking so green. One little lie. That was all it took. Will any of them survive the truth?
        Lauren Weisberger
        About the author

        Lauren Weisberger

        Books by Lauren Weisberger

        COMMENTS

        Leave a Reply

        Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *