Synopsis

Cormac Reilly is about to reopen the case that took him twenty years to forget ... The stunning debut novel from your new favourite crime writer.Responding to a call that took him to a decrepit country house, young Garda Cormac Reilly found two silent, neglected children - fifteen-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack. Their mother lay dead upstairs.Since then Cormac's had twenty high-flying years working as a detective in Dublin, and he's come back to Galway for reasons of his own. As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him.What ties a recent suicide to that death from so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust?This unsettling crime debut draws us deep into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't. Perfect for fans of Tana French and Jane Harper.
Dervla McTiernan
About the author

Dervla McTiernan

Dervla McTiernan was born in County Cork, Ireland to a family of seven. She studied corporate law at the National University of Ireland, Galway and the Law Society of Ireland, and practiced as a lawyer for twelve years. Following the global financial crisis she moved with her family to Western Australia, where she now works for the Mental Health Commission. In 2015 she submitted a story for the Sisters in Crime Scarlet Stiletto competition and was shortlisted. This inspired her to complete the novel that would become The Ruin. She lives in Perth with her husband and two children.

Books by Dervla McTiernan

Related articles

Podcast: Rachael Treasure Talks About Life, Love and Regenerative Farming

Podcast

9 December 2019

Podcast: Rachael Treasure Talks About Life, Love and Regenerative Farming

Podcast: Indigenous Elder Jack Charles Talks About his Life in this Fascinating Episode

Podcast

9 December 2019

Podcast: Indigenous Elder Jack Charles Talks About his Life in this Fascinating Episode

Top 100: Start Your Christmas Shopping

News | Awards

5 December 2019

Top 100: Start Your Christmas Shopping

    I Don't Wait For Inspiration: Q&A with Garry Disher, Author of Peace

    News | Author Related

    5 December 2019

    I Don't Wait For Inspiration: Q&A with Garry Disher, Author of Peace

      Readers will Love the Remote Tasmanian Setting: Q&A with The Great Divide Author, L.J.M. Owen

      News | Author Related

      5 December 2019

      Readers will Love the Remote Tasmanian Setting: Q&A with The Great Divide Author, L.J.M. Owen

        My Dog Listens to me Plotting: Q&A with The Poppy Wife Author, Caroline Scott

        News | Author Related

        3 December 2019

        My Dog Listens to me Plotting: Q&A with The Poppy Wife Author, Caroline Scott

          Podcast: Andrew Daddo Talks About Being a Kid and Writing For Kids

          Podcast

          3 December 2019

          Podcast: Andrew Daddo Talks About Being a Kid and Writing For Kids

          Podcast: Tricia Stringer Talks About Being a Model Wife... and Much More

          Podcast

          2 December 2019

          Podcast: Tricia Stringer Talks About Being a Model Wife... and Much More

          It Would be my Worst Nightmare: Q&A with Dani Atkins, Author of A Million Dreams

          News | Author Related

          28 November 2019

          It Would be my Worst Nightmare: Q&A with Dani Atkins, Author of A Million Dreams

            A Celebration of Resilience and Empowerment: Q&A With The Changing Room Author Christine Sykes

            News | Author Related

            28 November 2019

            A Celebration of Resilience and Empowerment: Q&A With The Changing Room Author Christine Sykes

              COMMENTS

              Leave a Reply

              Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *