Reviews

Spectacularly Good Mystery: read a sample chapter from Dervla McTiernan's The Ruin

Review | Extract

6 March 2018

Spectacularly Good Mystery: read a sample chapter from Dervla McTiernan's The Ruin

    Synopsis

    Cormac Reilly is about to reopen the case that took him twenty years to forget ... The stunning debut novel from your new favourite crime writer.Responding to a call that took him to a decrepit country house, young Garda Cormac Reilly found two silent, neglected children - fifteen-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack. Their mother lay dead upstairs.Since then Cormac's had twenty high-flying years working as a detective in Dublin, and he's come back to Galway for reasons of his own. As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him.What ties a recent suicide to that death from so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust?This unsettling crime debut draws us deep into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't. Perfect for fans of Tana French and Jane Harper.
    Dervla McTiernan
    About the author

    Dervla McTiernan

    Dervla McTiernan was born in County Cork, Ireland to a family of seven. She studied corporate law at the National University of Ireland, Galway and the Law Society of Ireland, and practiced as a lawyer for twelve years. Following the global financial crisis she moved with her family to Western Australia, where she now works for the Mental Health Commission. In 2015 she submitted a story for the Sisters in Crime Scarlet Stiletto competition and was shortlisted. This inspired her to complete the novel that would become The Ruin. She lives in Perth with her husband and two children.

    Books by Dervla McTiernan

    Related articles

    Dervla McTiernan’s Writing Studio - Fridays, 12pm, June 5 - 26

    News | Events & Festivals

    28 May 2020

    Dervla McTiernan’s Writing Studio - Fridays, 12pm, June 5 - 26

      Podcast: From Ireland With Love: Dervla McTiernan

      Podcast

      23 April 2018

      Podcast: From Ireland With Love: Dervla McTiernan

        Incendiary Page-Turner: The Ruin by Dervla McTiernan

        News

        6 March 2018

        Incendiary Page-Turner: The Ruin by Dervla McTiernan

          COMMENTS

          Leave a Reply

          Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *