Podcast: From Ireland With Love: Dervla McTiernan

Podcast: From Ireland With Love: Dervla McTiernan

Listen to the podcast

Dervla McTiernan joins us on the podcast to talk about her past career in law, her move from Ireland to Australia, and her bestselling crime novel The Ruin. This brilliant and unsettling crime debut draws us deep into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can’t – or won’t. Perfect for fans of Tana French and Jane Harper.

Podcast guest: Dervla McTiernan

Dervla McTiernan was born in County Cork, Ireland to a family of seven. She studied corporate law at the National University of Ireland, Galway and the Law Society of Ireland, and practiced as a lawyer for twelve years. Following the global financial crisis she moved with her family to Western Australia, where she now works for the Mental Health commission. In 2015 she submitted a story for the Sisters in Crime Scarlet Stiletto competition and was shortlisted. This inspired her to complete the novel that would become The Rúin. She lives in Perth with her husband and two children.

Duration: 31 minutes

Listen on iTunes ||Stitcher for Android|| Read our full review

Reviews

Spectacularly Good Mystery: read a sample chapter from Dervla McTiernan's The Ruin

Review | Extract

6 March 2018

Spectacularly Good Mystery: read a sample chapter from Dervla McTiernan's The Ruin

    Related Articles

    Dervla McTiernan’s Writing Studio - Fridays, 12pm, June 5 - 26

    News | Events & Festivals

    28 May 2020

    Dervla McTiernan’s Writing Studio - Fridays, 12pm, June 5 - 26

      Incendiary Page-Turner: The Ruin by Dervla McTiernan

      News

      6 March 2018

      Incendiary Page-Turner: The Ruin by Dervla McTiernan

        Publisher details

        The Ruin
        Author
        Dervla McTiernan
        Publisher
        HarperCollins
        Genre
        Fiction
        Released
        29 January, 2019
        ISBN
        9781460755402

        Synopsis

        The Top Ten fiction bestseller and critically acclaimed crime debut featuring everyone's favourite new detective, Cormac Reilly.

        Galway 1993: Young Garda Cormac Reilly is called to a scene he will never forget. Two silent, neglected children - fifteen-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack - are waiting for him at a crumbling country house. Upstairs, their mother lies dead.

        Twenty years later, a body surfaces in the icy black waters of the River Corrib. At first it looks like an open-and-shut case, but then doubt is cast on the investigation's findings - and the integrity of the police. Cormac is thrown back into the cold case that has haunted him his entire career - what links the two deaths, two decades apart? As he navigates his way through police politics and the ghosts of the past, Detective Reilly uncovers shocking secrets and finds himself questioning who among his colleagues he can trust.

        What really did happen in that house where he first met Maude and Jack? The Ruin draws us deep into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't.
        Dervla McTiernan
        About the author

        Dervla McTiernan

        Dervla McTiernan's debut novel, The Ruin, was a critically acclaimed international bestseller published around the world. The Ruin won the Ned Kelly Award for Best First Fiction, the Davitt Award for Best Adult Fiction and the Barry Award for Best Original Paperback, and was shortlisted for numerous other awards. It was on the Amazon US Best Book of the Year list in 2018 and screen rights were snapped up by Hopscotch Features. Dervla's second book, The Scholar, debuted into the Nielsen Bookscan Top 5 on release in 2019, and her third, The Good Turn, went straight to no.1, confirming her place as one of Australia's best crime writers. Born in County Cork, Ireland, to a family of seven, Dervla practised as a corporate lawyer for twelve years. Following the global financial crisis, she moved with her family to Western Australia, where she now lives with her husband and two children. An avid fan of crime and detective novels from childhood, Dervla now writes full time.

        Books by Dervla McTiernan

        COMMENTS

        Leave a Reply

        Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *