Podcast: From Ireland With Love: Dervla McTiernan

Podcast: From Ireland With Love: Dervla McTiernan

Listen to the podcast

Dervla McTiernan joins us on the podcast to talk about her past career in law, her move from Ireland to Australia, and her bestselling crime novel The Ruin. This brilliant and unsettling crime debut draws us deep into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can’t – or won’t. Perfect for fans of Tana French and Jane Harper.

Podcast guest: Dervla McTiernan

Dervla McTiernan was born in County Cork, Ireland to a family of seven. She studied corporate law at the National University of Ireland, Galway and the Law Society of Ireland, and practiced as a lawyer for twelve years. Following the global financial crisis she moved with her family to Western Australia, where she now works for the Mental Health commission. In 2015 she submitted a story for the Sisters in Crime Scarlet Stiletto competition and was shortlisted. This inspired her to complete the novel that would become The Rúin. She lives in Perth with her husband and two children.

Duration: 31 minutes

Listen on iTunes ||Stitcher for Android|| Read our full review

Related Articles

Podcast: James Phelps Talks About Sports, Writing and the Bushrangers in his Book, Australian Heist

Podcast

14 January 2020

Podcast: James Phelps Talks About Sports, Writing and the Bushrangers in his Book, Australian Heist

    Podcast: House of Brides Author Jane Cockram on Working in the Book Industry

    Podcast

    13 January 2020

    Podcast: House of Brides Author Jane Cockram on Working in the Book Industry

      Summer Podcast Playlist: 4 Great Aussie Children's Authors

      Podcast

      7 January 2020

      Summer Podcast Playlist: 4 Great Aussie Children's Authors

        Dion Leonard on Running Ultra Marathons and Meeting Gobi the Chinese Stray Desert Dog

        Podcast

        7 January 2020

        Dion Leonard on Running Ultra Marathons and Meeting Gobi the Chinese Stray Desert Dog

          Podcast: A Powerful, Moving Conversation with Christos Tsiolkas

          Podcast

          18 December 2019

          Podcast: A Powerful, Moving Conversation with Christos Tsiolkas

            Podcast: Blanche d'Alpuget on life with Bob Hawke

            Podcast

            17 December 2019

            Podcast: Blanche d'Alpuget on life with Bob Hawke

              Podcast: Joy Rhoades on Living Overseas While Setting her Novels in Australia

              Podcast

              16 December 2019

              Podcast: Joy Rhoades on Living Overseas While Setting her Novels in Australia

                Podcast: Tara Moss talks Life, Being a Private Investigator and her new novel, Dead Man Switch

                Podcast

                16 December 2019

                Podcast: Tara Moss talks Life, Being a Private Investigator and her new novel, Dead Man Switch

                  Podcast: Rachael Treasure Talks About Life, Love and Regenerative Farming

                  Podcast

                  9 December 2019

                  Podcast: Rachael Treasure Talks About Life, Love and Regenerative Farming

                  Podcast: Indigenous Elder Jack Charles Talks About his Life in this Fascinating Episode

                  Podcast

                  9 December 2019

                  Podcast: Indigenous Elder Jack Charles Talks About his Life in this Fascinating Episode

                  Synopsis

                  Cormac Reilly is about to reopen the case that took him twenty years to forget ...'TheRuin is a terrific debut and a rare gem:a compelling crime thriller that delivers depth as well as twists, with everypage clearly written from the heart' Sara Foster, author of The Hidden HoursResponding to a call that took him to a decrepit country house, young Garda Cormac Reilly found two silent, neglected children - fifteen-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack. Their mother lay dead upstairs.Since then Cormac's had twenty high-flying years working as a detective in Dublin, and he's come back to Galway for reasons of his own. As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him.What ties a recent suicide to that death from so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust?This unsettling crime debut draws us deep into the dark heart of Irelandand asks who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't. Perfectfor fans of Tana French and Jane Harper.
                  Dervla McTiernan
                  About the author

                  Dervla McTiernan

                  Dervla McTiernan was born in County Cork, Ireland to a family of seven. She studied corporate law at the National University of Ireland, Galway and the Law Society of Ireland, and practiced as a lawyer for twelve years. Following the global financial crisis she moved with her family to Western Australia, where she now works for the Mental Health Commission. In 2015 she submitted a story for the Sisters in Crime Scarlet Stiletto competition and was shortlisted. This inspired her to complete the novel that would become The Ruin. She lives in Perth with her husband and two children.

                  Books by Dervla McTiernan

                  COMMENTS

                  Leave a Reply

                  Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *