Podcast: From Ireland With Love: Dervla McTiernan

Podcast: From Ireland With Love: Dervla McTiernan

Listen to the podcast

Dervla McTiernan joins us on the podcast to talk about her past career in law, her move from Ireland to Australia, and her bestselling crime novel The Ruin. This brilliant and unsettling crime debut draws us deep into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can’t – or won’t. Perfect for fans of Tana French and Jane Harper.

Podcast guest: Dervla McTiernan

Dervla McTiernan was born in County Cork, Ireland to a family of seven. She studied corporate law at the National University of Ireland, Galway and the Law Society of Ireland, and practiced as a lawyer for twelve years. Following the global financial crisis she moved with her family to Western Australia, where she now works for the Mental Health commission. In 2015 she submitted a story for the Sisters in Crime Scarlet Stiletto competition and was shortlisted. This inspired her to complete the novel that would become The Rúin. She lives in Perth with her husband and two children.

Duration: 31 minutes

Listen on iTunes ||Stitcher for Android|| Read our full review

Reviews

Spectacularly Good Mystery: read a sample chapter from Dervla McTiernan's The Ruin

Review | Extract

6 March 2018

Spectacularly Good Mystery: read a sample chapter from Dervla McTiernan's The Ruin

    Related Articles

    Dervla McTiernan’s Writing Studio - Fridays, 12pm, June 5 - 26

    News | Events & Festivals

    28 May 2020

    Dervla McTiernan’s Writing Studio - Fridays, 12pm, June 5 - 26

      Incendiary Page-Turner: The Ruin by Dervla McTiernan

      News

      6 March 2018

      Incendiary Page-Turner: The Ruin by Dervla McTiernan

        Synopsis

        Cormac Reilly is about to reopen the case that took him twenty years to forget ... The stunning debut novel from your new favourite crime writer.Responding to a call that took him to a decrepit country house, young Garda Cormac Reilly found two silent, neglected children - fifteen-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack. Their mother lay dead upstairs.Since then Cormac's had twenty high-flying years working as a detective in Dublin, and he's come back to Galway for reasons of his own. As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him.What ties a recent suicide to that death from so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust?This unsettling crime debut draws us deep into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't. Perfect for fans of Tana French and Jane Harper.
        Dervla McTiernan
        About the author

        Dervla McTiernan

        Dervla McTiernan was born in County Cork, Ireland to a family of seven. She studied corporate law at the National University of Ireland, Galway and the Law Society of Ireland, and practiced as a lawyer for twelve years. Following the global financial crisis she moved with her family to Western Australia, where she now works for the Mental Health Commission. In 2015 she submitted a story for the Sisters in Crime Scarlet Stiletto competition and was shortlisted. This inspired her to complete the novel that would become The Ruin. She lives in Perth with her husband and two children.

        Books by Dervla McTiernan

        COMMENTS

        Leave a Reply

        Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *