Dervla McTiernan’s Writing Studio – Fridays, 12pm, June 5 – 26

Dervla McTiernan’s Writing Studio – Fridays, 12pm, June 5 – 26

Do You Dream of Writing a Book?

Bestselling author of The RuinThe Scholar and The Good Turn, Dervla McTiernan is here to help make that dream a reality. Join her online LIVE writing class, at 12pm every Friday in June, here on the Better Reading Facebook page. Who’s in?

SESSIONS

June 5 – Session One – Ideas.

June 12 – Session Two – Characters.

June 19 – Session Three – Structure & Outlining.

June 26 – Session Four – Self-Editing … and getting published!

“Over the next four weeks, I’ll be doing four Facebook Live sessions on writing, hosted by my good friends at Better Reading. These sessions will be about writing, about Ideas, Characters, Structure, and Editing. And maybe just a little bit about how to get published. I’ll show you examples from my own work and I’ll make some suggestions about different things you can do to get started or to keep your work moving in the right direction. And I’ll be delighted to answer any questions you may have. See you in the writing studio.” Dervla.

Find out more on the Better Reading Facebook page

 

 

Reviews

Try Before You Buy: Dervla McTiernan's Fabulous New Novel, The Good Turn

Review | Extract

2 March 2020

Try Before You Buy: Dervla McTiernan's Fabulous New Novel, The Good Turn

    I’m Influenced by Creative People: The Good Turn Author on What Inspires Her

    Review | Author Related

    27 February 2020

    I’m Influenced by Creative People: The Good Turn Author on What Inspires Her

      Dervla McTiernan Proves she's Here to Stay with The Good Turn

      Review | Our Review

      25 February 2020

      Dervla McTiernan Proves she's Here to Stay with The Good Turn

        Tense, Atmospheric, Astute: Read an extract from The Scholar by Dervla McTiernan

        Review | Extract

        22 February 2019

        Tense, Atmospheric, Astute: Read an extract from The Scholar by Dervla McTiernan

          McTiernan’s New Thriller Impossible To Put Down: Review of The Scholar by Dervla McTiernan

          Review | Our Review

          19 February 2019

          McTiernan’s New Thriller Impossible To Put Down: Review of The Scholar by Dervla McTiernan

            Spectacularly Good Mystery: read a sample chapter from Dervla McTiernan's The Ruin

            Review | Extract

            6 March 2018

            Spectacularly Good Mystery: read a sample chapter from Dervla McTiernan's The Ruin

              Related Articles

              Do You Dream of Writing a Book? Watch Dervla's Writing Studio

              News | Events & Festivals

              29 June 2020

              Do You Dream of Writing a Book? Watch Dervla's Writing Studio

                Are Your Favourites on Here? The Longlist for the 2020 Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIAs) has Been Announced

                News | Awards

                2 March 2020

                Are Your Favourites on Here? The Longlist for the 2020 Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIAs) has Been Announced

                  Writing the Follow-Up to a Bestseller: Q&A with Dervla McTiernan on her latest novel, The Scholar

                  News | Author Related

                  26 February 2019

                  Writing the Follow-Up to a Bestseller: Q&A with Dervla McTiernan on her latest novel, The Scholar

                    Podcast: From Ireland With Love: Dervla McTiernan

                    Podcast

                    23 April 2018

                    Podcast: From Ireland With Love: Dervla McTiernan

                      Incendiary Page-Turner: The Ruin by Dervla McTiernan

                      News

                      6 March 2018

                      Incendiary Page-Turner: The Ruin by Dervla McTiernan

                        Publisher details

                        The Good Turn
                        Author
                        Dervla McTiernan
                        Publisher
                        HarperCollins
                        Genres
                        Australian Fiction, Crime Fiction
                        Released
                        24 February, 2020

                        Synopsis

                        With her third novel Dervla McTiernan confirms she's a born storyteller' – Val McDermidThe unputdownable new novel from the bestselling author of The Ruin and The Scholar.Police corruption, an investigation that ends in tragedy and the mystery of a little girl's silence - three unconnected events that will prove to be linked by one small town.While Detective Cormac Reilly faces enemies at work and trouble in his personal life, Garda Peter Fisher is relocated out of Galway with the threat of prosecution hanging over his head. But even that is not as terrible as having to work for his overbearing father, the local copper for the pretty seaside town of Roundstone.For some, like Anna and her young daughter Tilly, Roundstone is a refuge from trauma. But even this village on the edge of the sea isn't far enough to escape from the shadows of evil men.

                        Synopsis

                        Cormac Reilly is about to reopen the case that took him twenty years to forget ... The stunning debut novel from your new favourite crime writer.Responding to a call that took him to a decrepit country house, young Garda Cormac Reilly found two silent, neglected children - fifteen-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack. Their mother lay dead upstairs.Since then Cormac's had twenty high-flying years working as a detective in Dublin, and he's come back to Galway for reasons of his own. As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him.What ties a recent suicide to that death from so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust?This unsettling crime debut draws us deep into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't. Perfect for fans of Tana French and Jane Harper.

                        Synopsis

                        From the author of the critically acclaimed bestseller The Ruin comes a compulsive new crime thriller featuring DS Cormac Reilly.Being brilliant has never been this dangerous ...When Dr Emma Sweeney stumbles across the victim of a hit and run outside Galway University late one evening, she calls her partner, Detective Cormac Reilly, bringing him first to the scene of a murder that would otherwise never have been assigned to him.A security card in the dead woman's pocket identifies her as Carline Darcy, a gifted student and heir apparent to Irish pharmaceutical giant Darcy Therapeutics. The multi-billion-dollar company, founded by her grandfather, has a finger in every pie, from sponsoring university research facilities to funding political parties to philanthropy - it has funded Emma's own ground-breaking research. The enquiry into Carline's death promises to be high profile and high pressure.As Cormac investigates, evidence mounts that the death is linked to a Darcy laboratory and, increasingly, to Emma herself. Cormac is sure she couldn't be involved, but as his running of the case comes under scrutiny from the department and his colleagues, he is forced to question his own objectivity. Could his loyalty to Emma have led him to overlook evidence? Has it made him a liability?
                        Dervla McTiernan
                        About the author

                        Dervla McTiernan

                        Dervla McTiernan was born in County Cork, Ireland to a family of seven. She studied corporate law at the National University of Ireland, Galway and the Law Society of Ireland, and practiced as a lawyer for twelve years. Following the global financial crisis she moved with her family to Western Australia, where she now works for the Mental Health Commission. In 2015 she submitted a story for the Sisters in Crime Scarlet Stiletto competition and was shortlisted. This inspired her to complete the novel that would become The Ruin. She lives in Perth with her husband and two children.

                        Books by Dervla McTiernan

                        COMMENTS

                        Leave a Reply

                        Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *