Synopsis

Cormac Reilly is about to reopen the case that took him twenty years to forget ...'TheRuin is a terrific debut and a rare gem:a compelling crime thriller that delivers depth as well as twists, with everypage clearly written from the heart' Sara Foster, author of The Hidden HoursResponding to a call that took him to a decrepit country house, young Garda Cormac Reilly found two silent, neglected children - fifteen-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack. Their mother lay dead upstairs.Since then Cormac's had twenty high-flying years working as a detective in Dublin, and he's come back to Galway for reasons of his own. As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him.What ties a recent suicide to that death from so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust?This unsettling crime debut draws us deep into the dark heart of Irelandand asks who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't. Perfectfor fans of Tana French and Jane Harper.
Dervla McTiernan
About the author

Dervla McTiernan

Dervla McTiernan was born in County Cork, Ireland to a family of seven. She studied corporate law at the National University of Ireland, Galway and the Law Society of Ireland, and practiced as a lawyer for twelve years. Following the global financial crisis she moved with her family to Western Australia, where she now works for the Mental Health Commission. In 2015 she submitted a story for the Sisters in Crime Scarlet Stiletto competition and was shortlisted. This inspired her to complete the novel that would become The Ruin. She lives in Perth with her husband and two children.

Books by Dervla McTiernan

Related articles

May Book Club: The Ruin by Dervla McTiernan

News

15 May 2018

May Book Club: The Ruin by Dervla McTiernan

    Podcast: From Ireland With Love: Dervla McTiernan

    Podcast

    23 April 2018

    Podcast: From Ireland With Love: Dervla McTiernan

      'I struggled to understand why good people allow terrible things to be done in their name': Interview with Dervla McTiernan

      News

      6 March 2018

      'I struggled to understand why good people allow terrible things to be done in their name': Interview with Dervla McTiernan

        Spectacularly Good Mystery: read a sample chapter from Dervla McTiernan's The Ruin

        News

        6 March 2018

        Spectacularly Good Mystery: read a sample chapter from Dervla McTiernan's The Ruin

          Incendiary Page-Turner: The Ruin by Dervla McTiernan

          News

          6 March 2018

          Incendiary Page-Turner: The Ruin by Dervla McTiernan

            COMMENTS

            Leave a Reply

            Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *