The Smidgens

Publisher details

Author
David O’Connell
Publisher
Bloomsbury
Genre
Children’s Fiction
Released
30 March, 2021
ISBN
9781526607768

The Smidgens

Buy now

Retail partners

Synopsis

Gafferty Sprout is a Smidgen. A Smidgen looks like a human, sounds like a human, and loves chips with curry sauce like a human – if humans were three inches tall. If you took a human and shrunk it in the washing machine on a very hot spin cycle, you might get something like a Smidgen. Generations ago there were lots of them, living in a maze of tunnels beneath the human village of Dundoodle. But then something happened and they just … disappeared. Now Gafferty, her parents and her little brothers Gobkin and Grub are the only ones left, and the tunnels are forbidden territory. And then Gafferty finds an old map. A map that shows a place deep within the maze where Smidgen tribes can go to meet. Smidgen tribes! Gafferty knows that she has to try to find them. But the tunnels are dangerous. And soon Gafferty discovers she's not the only one looking for the lost tribes, and that three inches of Smidgen hold more power than she ever imagined. The first book in a funny, magical adventures series for 7+ readers who love Terry Pratchett, Max and the Millions and The Borrowers.

Reviews

Tiny People and an Enormous Adventure: Read an Extract from The Smidgens by David O’Connell and Seb Burnett

Review | Extract

30 April 2021

Tiny People and an Enormous Adventure: Read an Extract from The Smidgens by David O’Connell and Seb Burnett

A Funny and Magical Adventure: Read our Review of The Smidgens by David O’Connell and Seb Burnett

Review | Our Review

26 April 2021

A Funny and Magical Adventure: Read our Review of The Smidgens by David O’Connell and Seb Burnett

David O'Connell
About the author

David O'Connell

David O'Connell is a writer and illustrator from South London. He works mostly in children's books (particularly humorous picture books and young fiction), writing for other illustrators or illustrating for other writers! He likes stories about magic and monsters, especially if they're silly monsters, and loves making comics too. His favourite sweets are fizzy cola bottles.

Books by David O'Connell

Related articles

Podcast: Simone Amelia Jordan on Being Australia's Most Successful Hip-Hop Journalist

Podcast

26 February 2024

Podcast: Simone Amelia Jordan on Being Australia's Most Successful Hip-Hop Journalist

    Conversations from the Vault: Tom Keneally on exploring rural Australia through fiction

    Podcast

    19 February 2024

    Conversations from the Vault: Tom Keneally on exploring rural Australia through fiction

      Activity: Countdown to Yesterday by Shirley Marr

      News | Book Life

      16 February 2024

      Activity: Countdown to Yesterday by Shirley Marr

      Colouring Activity: Emma Memma: The Wheels on the Butterfly Bus

      News | Book Life

      16 February 2024

      Colouring Activity: Emma Memma: The Wheels on the Butterfly Bus

      Colouring Activity: Bluey BBQ

      News | Book Life

      16 February 2024

      Colouring Activity: Bluey BBQ

      Podcast: Simon Rowell on Good Dogs and Oil Rigs

      Podcast

      12 February 2024

      Podcast: Simon Rowell on Good Dogs and Oil Rigs

        Delve into the Enchanting World of Fantasy Romance Novels

        News | Book Life

        9 February 2024

        Delve into the Enchanting World of Fantasy Romance Novels

          How to Pre-Order a Book

          News | Book Life

          5 February 2024

          How to Pre-Order a Book

            Podcast: Kemper Donovan on Agatha Christie, Scriptwriting and Podcasting

            Podcast

            5 February 2024

            Podcast: Kemper Donovan on Agatha Christie, Scriptwriting and Podcasting

              BE Better: Lizzie Williamson on The Active Workday Advantage

              Podcast

              2 February 2024

              BE Better: Lizzie Williamson on The Active Workday Advantage

                COMMENTS

                Leave a Reply

                Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *