The Smidgens

Reviews

Tiny People and an Enormous Adventure: Read an Extract from The Smidgens by David O’Connell and Seb Burnett

Review | Extract

30 April 2021

Tiny People and an Enormous Adventure: Read an Extract from The Smidgens by David O’Connell and Seb Burnett

A Funny and Magical Adventure: Read our Review of The Smidgens by David O’Connell and Seb Burnett

Review | Our Review

26 April 2021

A Funny and Magical Adventure: Read our Review of The Smidgens by David O’Connell and Seb Burnett

Synopsis

Gafferty Sprout is a Smidgen. A Smidgen looks like a human, sounds like a human, and loves chips with curry sauce like a human – if humans were three inches tall. If you took a human and shrunk it in the washing machine on a very hot spin cycle, you might get something like a Smidgen. Generations ago there were lots of them, living in a maze of tunnels beneath the human village of Dundoodle. But then something happened and they just … disappeared. Now Gafferty, her parents and her little brothers Gobkin and Grub are the only ones left, and the tunnels are forbidden territory. And then Gafferty finds an old map. A map that shows a place deep within the maze where Smidgen tribes can go to meet. Smidgen tribes! Gafferty knows that she has to try to find them. But the tunnels are dangerous. And soon Gafferty discovers she's not the only one looking for the lost tribes, and that three inches of Smidgen hold more power than she ever imagined. The first book in a funny, magical adventures series for 7+ readers who love Terry Pratchett, Max and the Millions and The Borrowers.
David O'Connell
About the author

David O'Connell

David O'Connell is a writer and illustrator from South London. He works mostly in children's books (particularly humorous picture books and young fiction), writing for other illustrators or illustrating for other writers! He likes stories about magic and monsters, especially if they're silly monsters, and loves making comics too. His favourite sweets are fizzy cola bottles.

Books by David O'Connell

Related articles

Live Book Event: Gabriel Bergmoser, Author of The Inheritance

News | Events & Festivals

29 July 2021

Live Book Event: Gabriel Bergmoser, Author of The Inheritance

    Podcast: James Phelps on His Research into the Australian Prison System

    Podcast

    29 July 2021

    Podcast: James Phelps on His Research into the Australian Prison System

      The 2021 Booker Prize Longlist Has Been Revealed

      News | Awards | Book Life

      29 July 2021

      The 2021 Booker Prize Longlist Has Been Revealed

        Live Book Event: Hannah Bent, Author of When Things Are Alive They Hum

        News | Events & Festivals

        27 July 2021

        Live Book Event: Hannah Bent, Author of When Things Are Alive They Hum

          Podcast: Shannah Kennedy on Allowing Ourselves to be Happy with Plan B

          Podcast

          26 July 2021

          Podcast: Shannah Kennedy on Allowing Ourselves to be Happy with Plan B

            Illustrate Your Own Comic Strip! Activity from Pizazz vs Perfecto by Sophy Henn

            News | Book Life

            26 July 2021

            Illustrate Your Own Comic Strip! Activity from Pizazz vs Perfecto by Sophy Henn

            A Warm Portrayal of Childhood Innocence: Teaching Notes for Rainfish by Andrew Paterson

            News | Book Life

            23 July 2021

            A Warm Portrayal of Childhood Innocence: Teaching Notes for Rainfish by Andrew Paterson

            Podcast: Campbell Mattinson on Using Writing to Break Down Barriers of Love and Loss

            Podcast

            22 July 2021

            Podcast: Campbell Mattinson on Using Writing to Break Down Barriers of Love and Loss

              Live Book Event: Karen Brooks, Author of The Good Wife of Bath

              News | Events & Festivals

              19 July 2021

              Live Book Event: Karen Brooks, Author of The Good Wife of Bath

                Podcast: Michael Mohammed Ahmad on Being Lebanese-Australian and Reclaiming Arab Humanity

                Podcast

                19 July 2021

                Podcast: Michael Mohammed Ahmad on Being Lebanese-Australian and Reclaiming Arab Humanity

                  COMMENTS

                  Leave a Reply

                  Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *